We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Monaco
Nearby Hotels
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Europaischer Hof(Munich)
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$564
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Platzl Hotel(Munich)
US$365
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,021
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$913
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$432
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$327
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
anna hotel(Munich)
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveller rating
194
217
61
31
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
217
61
31
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationrick stevesstreet noisefifth floorapartment buildingthe red light districtshared bathroomconvenient locationnoisy at nightlittle touchesbreakfast roomboiled eggsfive minute walkeach morningvisited munichwithin easy walking distancetwo blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 525 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Hotel Monaco -- good location and clean room and comfortable - good value
The owner was very friendly and helpful
Wifi in room was good
The area around the hotel was a little "seedy" but we did not feel unsafe

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coupleearly60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

They gave away our room, even though it was prepaid. This enabled them to make
double the income and caused us much inconvenience, as no room was available upon
our arrival. They would not even reimburse us for our room that was prepaid and sold to someone else.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
8  Thank JH260993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breakfastbuffet, Inhaber at Hotel Monaco, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much to take your time to write a review. We really appreciate this. Unfortunately we do not remember the situation you described. Would you like to contact us directly? (info@hotel-monaco.de).
In cases of too late cancellations we do our best to rebook the room again even to lower rates. Only if there was really no way to rebook we take the right to charge a cancellation fee as written in the reservation, which we think that our guests understand.

Your Hotel Monaco
Christine Sevdas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We found this place by accident and were very pleased with the owners and the location. The help was very helpful in helping us plan our short stay. The room was very clean and confortable. The location was perfect for our needs and the price was right for us.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and it was quiet and very confortable. I think they had rooms on the 4th floor. We chose a smaller room since we were there for 2 nights.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retiredhappy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at Hotel Monaco to enjoy a weekend in Munich at the Strong Beer Festival. Although, I admit, the location of the hotel was a bit worrisome, we never felt unsafe. Our room was clean with small 'I Love Lucy'-sized beds, and the bathroom was right outside of our door. I'm not a huge fan of shared bathrooms, but for the price and the accessibility to the train station, this was a good hotel choice. A big pro was the breakfast. We were satisfied with the buffet and great coffee. The female owner of the hotel was also quite nice as well. If you need lockers to secure your items - head to the train station!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mabalch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Hotel Monaco is a very good value for a stay in Munich. We experienced a few glitches which might not be big problems to other travellers, but I will comment on them.

Pros:
Very reasonable price; 2 blocks from train station; helpful staff; easy 10 minute walk to city center & tourist attractions; clean room/bathroom

Cons:
Construction zone outside on the street & drunk (?) people yelling on street at all hours made it hard to sleep. We found an electric fan in the closet, which provided white noise to tune out the street noise. Also, I never could get wifi in our room; had to hike up to the front desk area whenever I needed to check emails/text my husband. Also, I don't consider myself a towel snob, but those towels were like using sandpaper to dry off.

Just to reiterate a couple of things already mentioned in other reviews: there is a strip club & casino between the train station & the hotel. My daughter & I never felt unsafe while walking anywhere around the hotel--there's lots of foot traffic even after dark. Also, the hotel requires cash payment, even though they will take your credit card # to reserve your room.

One more comment about the breakfast provided: we only ate @ the hotel the first morning after arrival. The hotel charges 8 euro per person for breakfast, and we had coffee, a roll with cold cuts, and cereal. Definitely worth it after a late night arrival, but we were able to find tastier, less expensive alternatives after we had walked around the city a bit.

Room Tip: We were in room 403. Not sure if they have rooms that don't face Schillerstrasse, which was where all the construction/people noise was coming from during our visit.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews