We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute room in central location, would recommend”
Review of Hotel Monaco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Monaco
Ranked #197 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We really liked this hotel. We usually stay at big hotels but family had recommended this one so we stayed and were very pleasantly surprised.

The hotel rooms are in a building where the first floor is commercial use, and the hotel is on a couple of floors above, but once up on our floor you would never have known it.
The lady on the desk was very friendly and helpful and held bags before check in/after check out while we wandered around town.

The room was so cute! It was such a surprise when we opened the door! Such personality and character. It was very clean, everything we needed.

Location wise, it was a very short walk to the centre of town and the main train station.
There was also parking nearby in a carpark building for 15 Euro per day, I believe this is discounted by the hotel.

One tip would be.... we usually took the stairs up and down as we only had hand luggage, but if you had big luggage there is a very small lift so be careful of luggage sizes!

We would stay again if visiting Munich! Thanks for a great stay!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunny81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

Was really pleased overall with this place, location wise it's excellent being only a 5 min trott from the train station. The surrounding area is a little seedy but once you get to the 5th floor a welcoming homely atmosphere takes over. The breakfasts here are a must and clearly a lot of effort goes into them. The only downer here is the street noise which gets quite rowdy on a Saturday evening. Overall very good and I probably would return again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaFooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just a few minutes walk from the main train station, so very handy location. It is tucked away on the 5th floor and above some businesses, but once you get there, you will be totally delighted. The whole place has an air of home about it with many special touches. Don't eat breakfast any where else--this one was incredible. We chose it because of a Rick Steve's recommendation and as usual agreed with everything he said!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank piddypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A little deceiving from the outside as there is not much to look at besides the dirty streets but an great gem of a hotel. Good prices, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. They make a great breakfast which is included and the ladies that work there are very nice.
The location is good as it is quite central but there is a bit of nightlife at night so maybe not the best location for a family but it was excellent for a solo traveller to hear a bit of noise.
Overall, a great stay.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Demi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Hotel Monaco. When we first arrived, we had to go up several floors in a lift...with some trepidation we were greeted with lovely staff, an immaculately clean room and a pleasant surprise. although very humid, we were supplied with an electric fan.. ok no air con, but this was a good deal. We didn't do breakfast in the hotel and to be honest that was a mistake.

Hotel's location was about a 10 min walk from the main thoroughfare and 5 min walk from main train station.

All in all a very good deal and would return no probs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jocelyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I thought this hotel was perfect for our two night stay during Octoberfest. The rooms are spacious and decorated very nicely with many special touches like heart pillows and a teddy bear.

We ate the breakfast there both mornings and it was wonderful! So many jams, breads, boiled eggs kept warm in little bunny and sheep shaped holders, meats, cheeses, yogurt, juices and more. We would fill up a tasty breakfast before heading out each day.

The staff was great. You do have to leave your key there when you go in/out but that was not a problem and they have someone there 24/7 willing to help.

Great location too - near the train station, easy walk to Octoberfest and the Marienplatz.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dot15409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at Hotel Monaco during the week leading up to Oktoberfest. Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable, the desk staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was convenient as far as getting to the train station, Marienplatz, and Oktoberfest grounds.

Be aware that it can be a noisy part of the city, so if you're a very light sleeper you might have a little trouble, but I had no issues.

Room Tip: Our double bed was actually two twins pushed together (this is apparently common in Europe) so you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#142 of 385 in Munich
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#147 of 385 in Munich
334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#54 of 385 in Munich
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#42 of 385 in Munich
366 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#218 of 385 in Munich
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#35 of 385 in Munich
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco

Address: Schillerstr. 9, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £57 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monaco 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice family run hotel in the city center of Munich, close to the main train station, and free internet via W-Lan access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing