We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Hotel Monaco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monaco
Ranked #172 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, is small hotel, but the room has a good space.

The breakfast is very good and not expensive. There are a lot of cheese, bread and juices.

Is close the downtown, you can walk and close the central station.

Perfect for family.

Enjoy Munich





Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank RatoSeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Monaco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here at the end of our trip around Germany and we needed to be close to the train station. This is just a few blocks from the train station, which is ideal for getting to the airport. The street has a few strip clubs and casinos, but we didn't really care. It didn't cause problems or bring a rowdy crowd. Actually, we were there during the World Cup Final and every inch of Munich was loud. So I can't speak to the noise level of this particular street. Our stay was definitely unique. Our room was pretty spacious, which was a nice change from some of our other rooms. The room also came with a nice large portable fan. They serve breakfast for an additional cost, but we didn't have it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Courtney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank GSC913
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay. The management goes all out to make the hotel cheerful and pleasant. It was warm when we were there in June. Our room overlooked Adolf-Kolping Strasse and with windows open at night we heard the typical kind of shouting and loud talk that you would expect from young guys on a weekend in a neighborhood that has a few bars. Not a big problem, but it's part of the scene.

Before the trip I tried to find information about free or cheap parking options in Munich. One suggestion was to park in a residential neighborhood such as near Hackerbrucke, on the north side, just south of Circus Krone, north of the bridge. I wasted about an hour looking in this area. I could see there was some form of parking regulation in effect that involved clock-face cards on dashboards. Rather than risk getting a ticket I parked in a public garage back on Adolf-Kolping Strasse about a block from the hotel. It was 20 euros per 24 hours.

The hotel is about two blocks from the train station and the subway. We mostly used the subway to go to and from the city center. Next time I’ll make more of an effort to get information about the trams and buses because they may be quicker and easier than the subway when you consider the size of the train station and the distances you can walk just to get to the right platform.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GraniteAmble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Found hotel through Rick Steves' travel book. It was just as he stated. Great location a couple hundred yards from the central train station. Very convenient as we rode the train in from the airport, rode the train to Dachau, rented a car at the train station, and left Munich by train. Bank and ATM is also at the train station. Hotel is an easy walk to Marienplatz. Rick Steves said this part of town is seedy, which is a fair description, but we never felt unsafe and came home late in the evening. It is a working class neighborhood with many businesses and families with kids were out in the early evening. The entire area is has many hotels and tour operations leave from outside the train station so the area is also filled with tourists. Everyone at the hotel was very nice and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel is on the 5th floor of a building, so don't let the initial entrance fool you as it looks more like an office building. Once you arrive at the floor the hotel is on you will find a very nicely decorated and superbly maintained hotel! The breakfast for 9 Euros was excellent and had enough variety to definitely make it worth the price. There is a small elevator when you come in the main entrance that is easy to miss. The door looks like a regular door, it is on the left around the first corner. Booked direct with hotel through e-mail, which worked out great. They have a great website that is very representative as to what the hotel looks like and the services provided. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Could not tell a difference between room locations.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RunOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We checked into the Hotel Monaco yesterday for two nites. You come in a small door at street level among Indian and Dubai takeaways. You go in, get an elevator to the 5th floor and, there you are, in Bavaria with all kinds of German sayings, angels and lace. We just had breakfast and it is among the best we've had at any of the B&Bs during the past two weeks. We had offered to us:
Coffee, tea, juices
Numerous cold meats
Cheeses
Salads
Fruits
Breads
Cereals
Pastries
And a chocolate torte

We aren't fond of Munich (your basic European capital) but when we come here next, this is where we will stay.

Room Tip: Noise level is average for a city. Germany is playing in the world up right now so I suspect it'...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

If you can handle the overload of cherub decoration, the Hotel Monaco is very friendly and convenient. Just an easy one block walk south from the train station .

Helpful and accommodating staff. Was able to leave several large suitcases while we road bicycles to Vienna. Morgen essen (breakfast) was very substantial. Rooms comfortable, maybe a little noisy at times.

Somewhat pricy but it is central Munich!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#132 of 385 in Munich
619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#148 of 385 in Munich
329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#52 of 385 in Munich
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#42 of 385 in Munich
346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#218 of 385 in Munich
240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#122 of 385 in Munich
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco

Address: Schillerstr. 9, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £62 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monaco 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice family run hotel in the city center of Munich, close to the main train station, and free internet via W-Lan access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing