We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for touring inside and outside Munich”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Regent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Regent
Ranked #267 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Boston,USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location for touring inside and outside Munich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I stayed at the Regent hotel for 4 days in march. The staff was very freindly and helpful with tours. They had a good selection for breakfast with scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, hard boiled eggs, assortment of cereals and coldcuts, yogurt, fruits, vegetables, rolls, etc.

It was very convenient to the station where you can access all the main means of transportation in the city, plus tour buses around the city, such as the hop on, hop off busses, the day trip busses going to places like the Neuschwanstein castle, Dachau, Salzburg, etc. This hotel is very close to the bus that goes to the airport, which is right outside the HBF station.

It's kind of confusing going into one of the many exits of the station when you are looking for let's say the S8 train which seems to be the prefered one going to the airport. You go in the station for which there are several entrances and you see signs for the different U lines, like U1, U2, U3 etc, but all you see is an "S" sign. You follow that "S" sign and eventually it will bring you to the S1, S2 etc lines.

The hotel is on the north side of the station. There are several hotels on the south side. On the south side there are many adult entertainment bars I guess you'd call them. Many of them are right next door to hotels. From what I hear, they are very tightly regulated inside and out as to what goes on. You wont be propositioned in the street and though it may look kind of seedy, it seems perfectly safe there, but there are no such places on the north side of the station where the Regent is, so though it's a typical train station local, it's a more pleasent location.

I did most of my dining in the historic section, but there is one nearby restaurant close to the hotel that I recommend and that is the Rechthaler hof.

The first picture I posted is a map of the station and hotel area that shows locations of some of the things I mentioned.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scruffydog777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    317
    309
    149
    120
See reviews for
149
290
75
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and would definitely recommend it. The room was lovely and spacious and very clean. I stayed on the 6th floor with my room overlooking the side street and it was nice and quiet. The reception staff were lovely; I didn't use the restaurant or bar so can't comment on the service there.
The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the main Haubtbahnhof train station; there are 3 supermarkets opposite (an Aldi, a health food supermarket and a Rewe). There is a mini fridge in the room which was handy for storing some purchases.
The hotel is about a 15 - 20 minute walk from the main Marienplatz so is close enough to all facilities.
If I ever return to Munich I would happily stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Good recetipn service, wi fi is complimentary and location is excellent! It is my second time in this hotel but a few months ago it was more clean! Towels are old, bathroom is basic, no coffee maker ! Staff of reception is very helpful, friendly and professional

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank paolaimpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

It seems that this hotel saw better times a long time ago...a very long time ago...
Every single detail has gone bad...but if you are not too picky it has a good location and the breakfast is not too bad.
If you go there with very low expectations you may not be dissapointed...try to focus on price, location and breakfast and you may have a good time there...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CintiaAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

If you are travelling by train and just need a hotel to sleep and take a shower, this is a great option for you! If you like enjoying your room and the hotel, think twice before your booking.
This hotel is literally steps from the main train station (Muchen Hauptbahnhof) and the staff is well prepared to give you tons of advice about Munich and the cities nearby.
Breakfast is included and good. Nothing special, but a great selection of pastries, fruits, cold cuts, yogurts, teas, and cereals. The coffee is delicious - as everywhere in Europe! - and worth having in the bar after a busy day walking in the city. Internet is free and you just need to request your password when checking-in. Don't forget to leave your personal stuff in the locker at the reception, as there is no locker in the room.
Talking about the room, it was super tiny. Small bed, small bathroom, small everything. It was clean though. For a budget hotel, I recommend Regent; however, make sure you have plenty of activities during the day and don't stay in the room for too long.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinthia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
174 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

After a 10 hour flight, I had a 13 hour layover in Munich. The weather was snow flurries and bone chilling cold. I intended to spend the day in the Regus Businessworld lounge BUT IT'S CLOSED ON Sundays!!!! Whhaaaa????!!!! After 2 hours at the airport, I knew I had to find a day hotel but the hotel at the airport wanted $200 for a day rate or something else ridiculous. The sleep pods at the airport were all taken and the comfy chairs too.

In desperation, I went to the information desk and cringed when I saw the horrible exchange in front of me between the quintessential "ugly American" and the stoic German helpdesk employee. Oh joy. At that moment, I resigned myself to paying the extortion piece at the airport hotel. No no, said the very nice German gentleman. If you are willing to take a shuttle for 5 -10 minutes, I can get you a day rate for half that piece. He called. Made the arrangements and even haggled over the price.

While waiting for the shuttle I looked the place up on tripadvisor and was horrified by the Hotel Regent reviews. But I was so tired, I couldn't care less. I just need someplace to spend the remaining 10 hours until my 10pm flight. The shuttle was prompt, clean and professional. To my surprise, I ended up at a LOVELY hotel in a small village near the Munich airport. This Hotel Regent is NOT the Hotel Regent in Munich next to the airport that got terrible reviews. This Hotel Regent is WONDERFUL. The staff so accommodating. My room was up to date with sparkling clean ultra modern bathrooms and amenities. I loved the little town so much that I took a stroll midday. I ate at the hotel restaurant (even though it was not lunch time and they were closed they still made me a tea, salad and soup.) I loved everything about this hotel and the little town. Without a doubt, if I ever had a long layover in Munich, I will just arrange to stay the night at this little gem, relax, then fly refreshed.

In short, if you can get it - arrange for a day rate if you had a long layover at Munich airport
If you can't get a day rate - just push your flight to the next day and stay at this hotel.
This is the place for a long Munich layover.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked this hotel for our last night in Germany after our New Year's Eve celebrations before heading home to London. We picked it based on location, being right next to the Haupt Banhof. However, it quickly became apparent that location is just about all that this hotel has going for itself.

The welcome was 'warm' enough in that we were greeted with a smile and a hello. Once advance payment had been settled (I am not surprised now that it was advance payment...) we were roughly pointed in the direction of the uncomfortably small elevator without further assistance or instruction. We found our room at the end of the corridor and stepped back into the 70s (or so the décor will have you think) with the sleeping area straight ahead and a bathroom to the side.

The palatially sized bathroom was terribly appointed with a hairdryer hanging loosely from a hook right next to the immense double sink. There was mould between the tiles on all 4 walls and the door was swelling from water ingress - obviously not the right specification for wet areas. Towels were somewhat ragged on the edges, but at least not starched stiff.

The bedroom itself was again, very large but poorly appointed. No double bed - two singles pushed together with duvets too small for each and supermarket pillows (maybe from Aldi?). A tiny desk (at least there was free Wifi) with an uncomfortable chair, and a 1980s style tube television (surprised it was colour at least...) with a very poor selection of channels.

There were 2 bedside lights which only switched at the bedside. Further to that, there was a hallway light, and another switch which caused a loud electrical 'clack' sound under the bed, but didn't seem to switch anything? Bathroom lighting also lacked imagination.

While the hotel's location and size leaving it bursting at the seams with potential, it is clear that the current owners/operators don't appreciate what a gem they are sitting on. Slightly better selected fixtures, furniture and equipment, and some cosmetic upgrades would turn this hotel into an absolute treasure.

Room Tip: Didn't see any other rooms, but if ours was anything to go by - don't expect much. We had b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cressyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof
0.2 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amba
Hotel Amba
#313 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#38 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
#176 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel
Vi Vadi Hotel
#138 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regent

Property: Hotel Regent
Address: Seidlstr. 2, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Eurostars, Agoda, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Munich
Regent Hotel Munich
Munich Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing