We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor facilities, good staff!”
Review of Hotel Regent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Regent
Ranked #295 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed in this Hotel for one night. The bed wasn’t great and the shower was terrible. Water leaking everywhere and not enough towels. The lift was very old and small and we had to pay for car parking. It wasn’t cheap either. The only positive thing about this Hotel was the staff, very friendly. Wouldn’t stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaniHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 204 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel is well located, when in Munich. Near downton, you can make a litle walk. Or, if we want, cross the street and go tothe central train station.
People in front desk is very nice. Same to the breakfeast or the bar inside the hotel.
In center city you have a lot to see. Go around in downtonwn, and the market, were you can eat what you want in so many different ways.
Don't forget the beer. It's wonderful. In any season the year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marco b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed in Munich in March with our adult son, and were in need of a triple room. We found on reasonably priced at Hotel Regent, and surprisingly it was the LARGEST room I have ever stayed in while in Europe. The room was clean and so was the spacious bathroom.
The hotel staff was excellent and very helpful. We arrived early but were able to leave our luggage and explore the city and grab some breakfast. The elevator is tiny, but it seemed to exactly where we needed it everytime we pushed the call button.
The location is also excellent! If you get the chance, check out the Shakespeare Bar next door. Angie, the owner, is super nice and the ambiente is fantasic.
Don't let the people scare you off because the TV didn't have any english channels. Are you in town to explore it or sit in the room and watch television? Also, people complaining about the noise: Munich is a large busy city! I wonder if they complain about noise in places like New York or Paris, too...
No A/C? Did you guys read the room descriprion before you booked? Read the details and ask questions next time. Common sense people!
Bottom line: this place was soo good and affordble that I didn't want to write a review. Sometimes, after too many good reviews are posted, the prices go up and the bargain hunters are left in the dust.

Room Tip: The triple is HUGE!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladybuc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Regent Hotel is located opposite the Main Rail Station of Munich. About 30 minutes drive from the airport. The breakfast has a large varieties to offer . Very delicious breakfast. The Hotel staff is very helpful and co-operative . They provided with lot of information regarding Munich and must see things. Just near the Hotel there are lot of agencies which take you for a 2 hour / 4 hour / full day Hop In - Hop Out sightseeing tour. The room was lovely and spacious and very clean. wi fi is complimentary .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDD7119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Four of us stayed in two twin rooms for 3 nights. We managed to get a very good price through a travel operator so I'm not sure how much we paid per night, but the rooms were clean and airy, the staff friendly and the breakfast everything you need. Plus the location is right between the main station and Augustiner beer garden.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Liam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I stayed at the Regent hotel for 4 days in march. The staff was very freindly and helpful with tours. They had a good selection for breakfast with scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, hard boiled eggs, assortment of cereals and coldcuts, yogurt, fruits, vegetables, rolls, etc.

It was very convenient to the station where you can access all the main means of transportation in the city, plus tour buses around the city, such as the hop on, hop off busses, the day trip busses going to places like the Neuschwanstein castle, Dachau, Salzburg, etc. This hotel is very close to the bus that goes to the airport, which is right outside the HBF station.

It's kind of confusing going into one of the many exits of the station when you are looking for let's say the S8 train which seems to be the prefered one going to the airport. You go in the station for which there are several entrances and you see signs for the different U lines, like U1, U2, U3 etc, but all you see is an "S" sign. You follow that "S" sign and eventually it will bring you to the S1, S2 etc lines.

The hotel is on the north side of the station. There are several hotels on the south side. On the south side there are many adult entertainment bars I guess you'd call them. Many of them are right next door to hotels. From what I hear, they are very tightly regulated inside and out as to what goes on. You wont be propositioned in the street and though it may look kind of seedy, it seems perfectly safe there, but there are no such places on the north side of the station where the Regent is, so though it's a typical train station local, it's a more pleasent location.

I did most of my dining in the historic section, but there is one nearby restaurant close to the hotel that I recommend and that is the Rechthaler hof.

The first picture I posted is a map of the station and hotel area that shows locations of some of the things I mentioned.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scruffydog777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and would definitely recommend it. The room was lovely and spacious and very clean. I stayed on the 6th floor with my room overlooking the side street and it was nice and quiet. The reception staff were lovely; I didn't use the restaurant or bar so can't comment on the service there.
The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the main Haubtbahnhof train station; there are 3 supermarkets opposite (an Aldi, a health food supermarket and a Rewe). There is a mini fridge in the room which was handy for storing some purchases.
The hotel is about a 15 - 20 minute walk from the main Marienplatz so is close enough to all facilities.
If I ever return to Munich I would happily stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CF1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Grand Central
Eurostars Grand Central
#45 of 391 in Munich
1,513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel
Vi Vadi Hotel
#116 of 391 in Munich
906 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#42 of 391 in Munich
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novum Hotel Muenchen Am Hauptbahnhof
0.1 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#38 of 391 in Munich
1,302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#55 of 391 in Munich
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regent

Address: Seidlstrasse 2, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £53 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Regent was recently refurbished in order to offer our guests the top comfort and quality. The free Wi-Fi service extends to all the rooms and the communal areas in the hotel. We have a large car park, a full-service bar with all kinds of cocktails and beers, and an outstanding breakfast featuring a wide range of products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Eurostars, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Munich
Regent Hotel Munich
Munich Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing