We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Torbraeu
Ranked #9 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My family and I stayed at the Hotel Torbau for one night before leaving Munich to return home. We'd already been in the city for a few days earlier in the week and were just returning from Salzburg for the night to catch our train the next day. Here are the highlights of our stay:

+ extremely friendly hotel staff at reception (warm greeting, took care of our luggage, made dinner reservations, basically did anything we asked)
+ reception went above and beyond--we were leaving too early to eat the hotel breakfast the next morning so they offered to pack us up a breakfast and it was delicious--sandwich, hard boiled egg, OJ, fruit cup, and a granola bar :-)
+ clean room with big closet
+ complimentary water bottles (a nice touch!)
+ the breakfast buffet was elaborate and delicious (super fresh fruit and a bit of a different selection from usual European breakfasts)
+ great shower pressure, water didn't get all over the floor
+ good location for visiting the old town as well as the Deutsche Museum, also within walking distance of good restaurants
+ staff at the hotel bar/restaurant were attentive and friendly

- beds need more than one pillow per person
- the room decor reminded me of the American TV show Full House--a little too early '90s, needs updating (but who really cares if it's clean, comfortable, and doesn't give you the heebie jeebies)
- not near the train station (maybe if you have a little suitcase you could walk, but it's not a 5 min trip)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PetiteLinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2011

This Hotel as amazing amazing location, so if you are going on a short trip this is the place to stay, the breakfast buffet was good, they make you fired, scrambled eggs on request, a lot of people don't see the sign, and they have amazing waffles be sure to take some. The receptionists are all very helpful and welcoming, and they put a fruit basket that is a great idea, they give us 2 complimentary bottles of water and they leave candy on your pillow which is a nice touch. The problem was in the parking, the site said that it has available parking, we parked one day and could not find a spot for the next 2 days, and had to drive around the whole area for an hour to find a spot, just know that on a weekend you won't find a spot because it is limited. Although we were a couple we could only find a room with twin beds and the beds were really small, I expected more in a 4 star Hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a couple check the beds !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mselim24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Classic city hotel with small rooms. Rooms have been redone and are clean and efficient but do lack some charm found in other hotels. Good location. Breakfast was fine but nothing to rave about. Fitness center serves to earn them the "yes we have one checkmark", but isn't a useful facility beyond the dreadmill.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NukeMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

This place has been great in every respect. The staff were friendly n let us in to our room after an early arrival. Our room was really spacious with plenty of room for the extra bed for our toddler. The hotel isn't modern but the furnishings are either new or nice. Bathrooms are new with quality fittings n clean, a big bonus. The location can't be faulted, just meters from the train for airport arrivals and an easy few minutes walk to all the main places to see like marienplatz n hofbrauhaus. Can't fault our time here.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrookeCav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The welcome we received at this hotel was as warm as the wonderful gluhwein they gave us on arrival! Incidentally, the gluhwein here is the best I have ever had (and I have tried a lot!) - I am definitely going to write and ask for the recipe.... The staff are very knowledgeable, efficient and friendly, the hotel beautifully clean and the breakfast a lovely start to the day, complete with sparking wine. The position of the hotel is unbeatable and parking on site a real bonus.

Room Tip: My only niggle is that we could clearly hear the people in the next room, in our case a noisy young...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsejf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

There's been a hotel on the site since 1490 but the present version of this family run hotel is very up to date. Gleaming clean, with what seemed to me more than average number of staff, well trained, friendly, helpful and obviously really proud of their hotel. It's in a fairly old building but well modernised it the main part of the hotel has been redecorated in post modern style and is full of quirky touches, like up the stairs are photographs or pictures of the hotel at various times in its history. There is also a funny little room with dummies dressed up and done out to represent the hotel in 1490, looks like someone enjoyed themselves putting that together and it gives an endearing homely touch and makes you remember this is a private business and not a faceless corporate chain.

We were very comfortable, excellent bathroom, with corner bath, good heating and lighting, plenty of wardrobe space, everything you could want really. The size of the room (smallish) is typical of a city centre hotel but was well designed with plenty of storage

The location is first rate, by a central tube stop with frequent trains to and from the airport directly. And, they will also sell you an airport train ticket from the hotel (at cost price) so you don't have to struggle with the infernal ticket machines at the station. Just an example of how helpful they try to be - if you can't manage the stairs at the station, someone will come and help you carry your bags, I was told.

We tried out their new cafe restaurant which has only just opened, they've got a talented designer to decorate it and it looks like the kind of place I'd be happy to take people for a business lunch, although when we visited in the evening it also had a good atmosphere. Food reasonably priced and very nice indeed. There is a salon with sofas and a collection of antique glass in a cupboard a comfortable place to sit.

The breakfast was excellent though in the middle of winter I wonder if they really neeeded to have the windows open ? (I didn't ask them to shut them, perhaps they would have done). Good buffet, good quality of everything. You walk out of the door and you're in the middle of everything.

I'm struggling to find anything negative to say about this hotel, frankly. It would definitely be my choice on returning to Munich.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reflectorgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Chose this hotel based mostly on its location - seems to be the nearest to all the central tourist attractions of Munich - Marienplatz with the Christmas Markets, the Residenz, Hofbrauhaus and many others. Lovely warm welcome from the friendly staff, who were charming and courteous throughout our stay, especially Loretta (?) on reception and Frau Kelly in the restaurant. We were offered complimentary gluhwein and lebkuchen each evening in the lobby which was a lovely touch. Breakfast was an outstanding example of a good continental breakfast buffet with the added extra of being able to order eggs however you chose. The free in-room wi-fi was very welcome - how come a small family run hotel like this can offer this service when huge chains like the Sheraton charge you for it and sometimes don't even have wi-fi in the rooms? My only tiny grouse, which did not detract at all from our stay, was the usual complaint about the small towels often found in European hotels, and the lack of tea-coffee making facilities in the room, but I am being extremely picky and overall we were delighted with the hotel. Nearly forgot - extremely comfortable beds!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tancred1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 389 in Munich
2,061 reviews
1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 389 in Munich
1,768 reviews
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 389 in Munich
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#3 of 389 in Munich
1,606 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#2 of 389 in Munich
721 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Address: Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £150 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing