We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely helpful and personable staff.”
Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Torbraeu
Ranked #8 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

The Hotel Torbrau was perfect for our recent stay in Munich. The staff was very personable and helpful, going beyond the call of duty. The location was excellent as well. It is a few blocks from the center of everything and there is a subway right outside the door.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Obgassoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,097)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here in May 2013 and loved every minute of every day here in Munich so much so that we want to return and of cause stay at the wonderful hotel.
The reception staff went that extra meter / yard to help us with our travel via train (even purchase the train tickets from them) to getting directions to various places.
Fancy salmon for breakfast or a glass of champagne, well the choice is there and the selection of meats, cheese, fruit, breads will tempt you every day.
We cannot thank The Hotel Torbrau for the spacious room, the staff from reception, barman and woman to the house cleaners, all were very pleasant friendly and helpful.
Cheers Torbrau and we look for to staying with you again...

Andy & gail

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndySwampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Hotel Torbrau. We had a very good experience. The hotel staff was very helpful and attentive, for example the built-in hair dryer was not working properly, and they repaired it right away. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job as well, i.e., remembering that we liked extra towels (not having to ask each day for extras was nice!). The location was also very convenient to the sites in Munich. The hotel wifi was good, but not excellent. At times the signal was a little weak in our room. We will stay here on our next visit to Munich without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon_n_Court
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, allocated by our tour organiser. Very pleased with their choice. Rooms tasteful and excellent air con - needed as temp in the 35plus! The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful and spoke excellent English. It's a VERY short walk to the town centre. Also only a minute from Isator station which is on the central axis of underground stations. A short stagger to the Hofbrau beer garden! Breakfast excellent too. A very good choice for a Munich hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CityBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My elderly mother and I stayed 4 nights at the hotel. The staff really made the place. They couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Nothing seemed too much trouble. The buffet breakfast was good and the two meals we had in the Schapeau restaurant were lovely. We took advantage of the Happy Hour cocktails after a hard day's sightseeing. The location is excellent for the Altstadt and the S Bahn is about 100 yards away (line to the airport). All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got one on the side facing an inner courtyard, which was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

2nd time staying at Hotel Torbrau. 3 nights, 3 rooms. two doubles and one single. Air conditioned. Same perfect treatment from staff. Clean rooms, but small. Great breakfast. The front desk was most helpful recommended modes of transportation and places to go. Trusted his advice and he was spot on. It is a little expensive, but the location to things within walking distance (Hofbrahaus, Paulaner am Tal, Hofgarten, Englisher Garten, Marienplatz, The Residence, shopping) and trams and subway are worth it. See you in two years!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimGREU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here for 4 night on the Munich leg of our vacation. There were 4 of us so we had two rooms on the same floor. When we checked in our rooms they had planned for us (side by side with adjoining door) were not yet ready so we said we would take 2 rooms on the same floor. The disappointment was that the view out the window was of the parking lot. I went back to the front desk and asked if we waited for our other rooms if we would get a room with a view. The lady at the counter was quite snippy with me. We made our reservations 6 months in advance so I would have preferred a better room. My advice would be to email the hotel after reservation and request a courtyard view, which was quite lovely-and no, we never got it!
The Torbrau is a beautiful old hotel nicely located at the edge of Old Town. It is within walking
distance to many tourist sights, bars and restaurants.
The hotel is old so the elevator is quite tiny and slow. I don't mind taking the stars, but if you have any ambulatory difficulties that could be a nuisance waiting for that elevator.
The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms were modern, the staff (other than the snippy woman whom I didn't see there again) were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was included in our room charge. It was nothing extraordinary and got boring by morning 4 but it was adequate to get you started on your day.
The price of the hotel was good for what you got. We enjoyed our stay at Torbrau and would recommend. The Mandarin is more centrally located, but the price there is higher.
The

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, the parking lot isn't very interesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjmmff625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 390 in Munich
2,080 reviews
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 390 in Munich
870 reviews
1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 390 in Munich
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 390 in Munich
1,635 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#4 of 390 in Munich
736 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Address: Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £139 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing