We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Hotel Torbrau!!!”
Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Torbraeu
Ranked #9 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Definately recommend this Hotel. Great location, and the staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. They also found people to take us on private tours! The restraurant was excellent! We ate there several times, and again the service was superb!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dim19782013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

The S-bahn from the airport operates 24 hours and Isartor station is just round the corner from the hotel so extremely easy to get to. Then it's 5 or so mins walk to Marienplatz so an absolutely perfect location. Area feels totally safe. Hotel lovely - immaculately clean, staff friendly, breakfast great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JillyPEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We flew into Munich and the hotel arranged a car to pick us up. We were tired after a long flight. The driver was nice and we arrived at the hotel to nice service and a wonderful clean room. We enjoyed being close to the old city center and the resturant in the hotel had wonderful foo. We did go out to a few other resturants but never foud beter food or service than that at the hote. And the breakfast was fabulous. If we ever go back to Munich we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is reportedly one of the oldest hotel in the Munich's Old Town, dating back to XV/XVI century. It is a good 4* place, with all you can expect from such a place (no minibar in the room might be the only disadvantage, but there is a great bar downstairs).
The best thing about Torbrau is its location - 50 meters from the Isartor, which means majority of tourist attractions are within a walking distance. Additionally, the S-Bahn trains stop just 200 meters from the hotel entrance, thus you can get to/from the airport real fast (approximately 30-35 minutes). The staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. Definitely this place is worth staying.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheButterflyEffect75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Excellent location ( a short 10 min walk to Center, Marienplatz) and excellent value in this European hotel: daily rate is excellent with large and comfortable room and an oversized bathroom; immaculate and staff is VERY obliging. A wonderful breakfast buffet, too. The hotel staff arranged for a private car to pick us up at the airport (and did this via email from New York).
More, the staff had a car ready for us to take us to the Rail-Jet Train on the day of departure with our destination to Vienna. Just a great experience and HIGHLY suggeat travellers consider this hotel when stayin in Munich. And while visiting Munich, do NOT miss the Victualienmarkt, The Residenz Palace as well as the Haxnbbauer Restaurant (all is walking distance from Hotel).
The Torbrau Hotel and, indeed, Munich is a destination not to be missed!
More, at he Tourist Info Center just beneath the famous Gluckenspiel at Marinplatz Center, arrange for a guided tour to Dachau.........an unforgettable experience !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silverart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We spent three nights at the Torbrau. Very well located, very comfortable, excellent service in all respects. Highly recommended. ( seasoned travelers ). Walk to the great market and to all major attractions in the city center.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leek2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at hotel Torbrau for a short break and we had a really nice experience. Rooms are very confortable and quiet, staff kind and willing to help and location great (just 5 minute by walk from Munich main square!). Complementary mini bar, then, has been a nice and unexpected surprise.
I would surely recommend this structure to other travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiccoloU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 389 in Munich
2,061 reviews
1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 389 in Munich
1,765 reviews
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 389 in Munich
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 389 in Munich
1,605 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#3 of 389 in Munich
719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Address: Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#4 Family Hotel in Munich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £150 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing