We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place / excellent hospitality”
Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Torbraeu
Ranked #9 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights. Very friendly front desk folks.. excellent hospitality. . Safe parking, good wifi.. the front deak folks made reservations for a Christmas night dinner and took care of us.. definitely coming back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank WorldKites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

My husband and I visited Munich between Oktoberfest and Christmas Market. While the weather was chilly in November, the incredible hospitality of the hotel staff made our trip wonderful and memorable. From the moment you arrive, you feel welcome. The front deck team is knowledgable and is happy to help with directions and recommendations. You never feel like you are an inconvenience to them. The team at breakfast is top notch. The food is varied and fresh and the made to order eggs are a treat. Our favorite ritual of the day was our evening visit to Shapeau for a cocktail. The bar/restaurant is excellent and highly recommend. The food is beautifully prepared and the presentation is lovely. The staff is gracious and fun. We made fast friends and enjoyed unwinding there and sharing the events of our daily excursions with them. You cannot beat the location and access to shopping. We will happily return to this hotel when we visit Munich.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CousteauMunson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

A wonderful choice for Munich, especially at this time of year. Ignore an earlier review which states that this hotel does not match up to its promotional material, it actually exceeds it. Maybe that reviewer did not realise that Munich is one of the most expensive cities in Germany. Taking that into account it certainly delivers.
Location is perfect as has been said before. Our suite was lovely with treble aspect windows on 4th floor. Cosy sitting room (perfect for relaxing drinks before going out to dinner) & seperate bedroom. Inclusive mini-bar. So nice to be greeted with a glass of Gluhwein (or 2) by concierge each early evening on arrival back at the hotel.
Service could not be perfected. Andreas is the best concierge ever & his excellent & very personal service started before we even left home, fixing up our very demanding restaurant dinner reservations for us & then greeting us as personal contacts by name on arrival. This man is a legend & the Torbrau should be very proud of him.
Someone said the breakfast was average but I feel that is understating the case. The made to order omlettes were perfect & a very wide choice of fruits, cold meats & other continental selections. Plus Trocken! Why not? I will say if you are looking for stodge you won't find it here, thankfully. Again, great service.
I loved this hotel & can't wait to return next Xmas. A very special place with even more special staff. Thank you so very much Andreas & the whole staff at Torbrau.

Room Tip: Go for one of the top suites, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TabbyWabby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Definately recommend this Hotel. Great location, and the staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. They also found people to take us on private tours! The restraurant was excellent! We ate there several times, and again the service was superb!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dim19782013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The S-bahn from the airport operates 24 hours and Isartor station is just round the corner from the hotel so extremely easy to get to. Then it's 5 or so mins walk to Marienplatz so an absolutely perfect location. Area feels totally safe. Hotel lovely - immaculately clean, staff friendly, breakfast great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JillyPEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We flew into Munich and the hotel arranged a car to pick us up. We were tired after a long flight. The driver was nice and we arrived at the hotel to nice service and a wonderful clean room. We enjoyed being close to the old city center and the resturant in the hotel had wonderful foo. We did go out to a few other resturants but never foud beter food or service than that at the hote. And the breakfast was fabulous. If we ever go back to Munich we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is reportedly one of the oldest hotel in the Munich's Old Town, dating back to XV/XVI century. It is a good 4* place, with all you can expect from such a place (no minibar in the room might be the only disadvantage, but there is a great bar downstairs).
The best thing about Torbrau is its location - 50 meters from the Isartor, which means majority of tourist attractions are within a walking distance. Additionally, the S-Bahn trains stop just 200 meters from the hotel entrance, thus you can get to/from the airport real fast (approximately 30-35 minutes). The staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. Definitely this place is worth staying.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheButterflyEffect75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 387 in Munich
2,049 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 387 in Munich
1,735 reviews
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 387 in Munich
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 387 in Munich
1,597 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#95 of 387 in Munich
873 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#3 of 387 in Munich
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Address: Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#4 Family Hotel in Munich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £158 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing