We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for a Munich visit !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Torbraeu
Ranked #11 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a Munich visit !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I am adding my "thumbs up" to the others who have enjoyed hotel Torbrau in Munich ! Historic, very attractive, not too big, charming decor with a lovely recently updated contemporary room (with snazzy red leather chair and loveseat !) We had traditional down quilts on our queen size bed, and , of course, wifi. The lovely breakfast room and generous European style breakfast buffet was a nice surprise, and included in our rate. Not inexpensive, but also quite reasonable price, especially for expensive ( for us) Munich. The staff is lovely, and the lobby was decorated with wonderful "wood chip shingle" Christmas trees and a gingerbread house for the holiday season.

The location is just a block or so away from Marienplatz in the old center of Munich ; perfect for strolling and visiting the Chriskindlemart there. And near many other attractions and restaurants. The hotel has a nice restaurant of their own next door, but we did not dine there . This will be our "go to" hotel in Munich from now on !

Room Tip: Our room was a 4th floor room in front, but we did not notice a noise problem, and we did not see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    282
    36
    15
    9
See reviews for
242
377
64
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights. Very friendly front desk folks.. excellent hospitality. . Safe parking, good wifi.. the front deak folks made reservations for a Christmas night dinner and took care of us.. definitely coming back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WorldKites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

My husband and I visited Munich between Oktoberfest and Christmas Market. While the weather was chilly in November, the incredible hospitality of the hotel staff made our trip wonderful and memorable. From the moment you arrive, you feel welcome. The front deck team is knowledgable and is happy to help with directions and recommendations. You never feel like you are an inconvenience to them. The team at breakfast is top notch. The food is varied and fresh and the made to order eggs are a treat. Our favorite ritual of the day was our evening visit to Shapeau for a cocktail. The bar/restaurant is excellent and highly recommend. The food is beautifully prepared and the presentation is lovely. The staff is gracious and fun. We made fast friends and enjoyed unwinding there and sharing the events of our daily excursions with them. You cannot beat the location and access to shopping. We will happily return to this hotel when we visit Munich.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CousteauMunson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

A wonderful choice for Munich, especially at this time of year. Ignore an earlier review which states that this hotel does not match up to its promotional material, it actually exceeds it. Maybe that reviewer did not realise that Munich is one of the most expensive cities in Germany. Taking that into account it certainly delivers.
Location is perfect as has been said before. Our suite was lovely with treble aspect windows on 4th floor. Cosy sitting room (perfect for relaxing drinks before going out to dinner) & seperate bedroom. Inclusive mini-bar. So nice to be greeted with a glass of Gluhwein (or 2) by concierge each early evening on arrival back at the hotel.
Service could not be perfected. Andreas is the best concierge ever & his excellent & very personal service started before we even left home, fixing up our very demanding restaurant dinner reservations for us & then greeting us as personal contacts by name on arrival. This man is a legend & the Torbrau should be very proud of him.
Someone said the breakfast was average but I feel that is understating the case. The made to order omlettes were perfect & a very wide choice of fruits, cold meats & other continental selections. Plus Trocken! Why not? I will say if you are looking for stodge you won't find it here, thankfully. Again, great service.
I loved this hotel & can't wait to return next Xmas. A very special place with even more special staff. Thank you so very much Andreas & the whole staff at Torbrau.

Room Tip: Go for one of the top suites, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TabbyWabby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Definately recommend this Hotel. Great location, and the staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. They also found people to take us on private tours! The restraurant was excellent! We ate there several times, and again the service was superb!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dim19782013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Location was the best thing about Hotel Torbrau as it was within the central city zone, and about 5 mins walk from Marianplatz. The S-bahn station at Isartor (one of three old city gates) is literally across the road, and the nearest U-bahn station is in marianplaatz. We
stayed in a number of rooms for a family visit to the Christmas markets and while the hotel doesn't quite match it's own promotional material, we found that it delivered well on comfort and friendliness of staff. We didn't use the dining facilities apart from breakfast, and while this was ok, it wasn't exactly memorable fare - particularly the cooked breakfast which was a pale imitation of what would be standard fare in more northerly
climes. Overall we were satisfied and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

The S-bahn from the airport operates 24 hours and Isartor station is just round the corner from the hotel so extremely easy to get to. Then it's 5 or so mins walk to Marienplatz so an absolutely perfect location. Area feels totally safe. Hotel lovely - immaculately clean, staff friendly, breakfast great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JillyPEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.3 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#13 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#15 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Property: Hotel Torbraeu
Address: Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#4 Family Hotel in Munich
#7 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing