We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location/Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Torbraeu
Ranked #14 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent Location/Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

On our trip to Munic, I debated quite a bit on where to stay. I looked a few places around the train station, but wasn't crazy about the area and I felt it wasn't an area that we wanted to be in for our first trip to Munich. I also looked at a couple of high end places, such as The Charles Hotel and was very close to booking the Hotel Admiral, until I got advice that the Torbraeu was in a better location and a better deal if I could afford it. It was pricey, but very much worth it. Breakfast was included, as well as free internet and when you book a suite the mini-bar is included, which was a bigger bonus than I thought it would be. But the best part was the location, it is right on top of the Isartor station stop and there are great places to eat everywhere. We were very pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TPXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    286
    38
    15
    9
See reviews for
244
385
64
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Spent 3 nights with our 17 yr son over NYE.
Location fabulous. A short walk up to main square.
Room a little small for having 3 adults in it, but then again it is Europe.
Breakfast is great start to the morning with variety for all nationalities.
Parking is on a side road , still charged 18euros but they have a secure rope behind all cars.
They served free mulled wine each evening so could sit in siting room and enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burleigh4220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

A “historical hotel” right in the heart of Old Munich. From the lobby up to the lift and to our attic room, the hotel speaks of history - the art deco, chandeliers, ceiling lamps including the door key. The hotel still uses door key which was so heavy that the concierge quip we ladies could use it for self-defense. Since the key is so heavy to carry around, we have to leave it at the front desk each time we go out. We really don’t mind because it added to the over-all charm of the place. We were lucky to get room 507, a huge attic room with a view. We could hear the bells ringing at 12 noon or 6 pm when we open our windows. The sound of the bells was perfect for the Christmas season. The room is well-kept, clean and the bathroom is obviously newly renovated. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast and afternoon refreshment at the hotel lobby. There is no in-room tea/coffee facility and one has to hang around the lounge for a cup of tea, a bit of a downside for a tea person like me. Otherwise, everything was fine. We would definitely recommend Hotel Torbrau for everyone who wish to visit Munich.

Room Tip: Ask for room 507. Its huge for 2 people and has a wonderful view of Old Munich.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
162 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

First of all, the positive aspects include a good location at the entrance to the old city makes all within walking distance especially to the nearby Marionplatz. Upon entering, the front desk are more than helpful. There is an older woman who checked us in and treated us like a family member daily. The Concierge is the star of the hotel having booked us at Michelin star restaurants with ease. Bless him. The breakfasts are excellent including all the usual fresh selections like breads, fruit, deli meats, cheese, pastries. In addition, they will make eggs to order.
On the challenging side, the rooms are not all renovated yet. We checked in and had an older room then left for a few days of touring other cities in Germany and returned to have a renovated room. Be sure you ask for a renovated room. Finally, the towels are in need of replacement. They are too thin for acceptability.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcoPro2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We had 3 rooms for 2 nights just after Christmas. The hotel staff was very helpful and fluent in English. The room was large and comfortable with a large bathroom. The breakfast buffet was extensive and included in the room rate. The hotel's location was perfect , 100 feet from the underground station for easy access everywhere, including the airport, and within walking distance of many sites. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I am adding my "thumbs up" to the others who have enjoyed hotel Torbrau in Munich ! Historic, very attractive, not too big, charming decor with a lovely recently updated contemporary room (with snazzy red leather chair and loveseat !) We had traditional down quilts on our queen size bed, and , of course, wifi. The lovely breakfast room and generous European style breakfast buffet was a nice surprise, and included in our rate. Not inexpensive, but also quite reasonable price, especially for expensive ( for us) Munich. The staff is lovely, and the lobby was decorated with wonderful "wood chip shingle" Christmas trees and a gingerbread house for the holiday season.

The location is just a block or so away from Marienplatz in the old center of Munich ; perfect for strolling and visiting the Chriskindlemart there. And near many other attractions and restaurants. The hotel has a nice restaurant of their own next door, but we did not dine there . This will be our "go to" hotel in Munich from now on !

Room Tip: Our room was a 4th floor room in front, but we did not notice a noise problem, and we did not see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights. Very friendly front desk folks.. excellent hospitality. . Safe parking, good wifi.. the front deak folks made reservations for a Christmas night dinner and took care of us.. definitely coming back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WorldKites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.3 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#16 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#12 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Property: Hotel Torbraeu
Address: Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#4 Family Hotel in Munich
#8 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing