We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”
Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Torbraeu
Ranked #8 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We were in Munich over New Year's and spent four nights here. Although not cheap, the location of this hotel cannot be beat and the front desk service was excellent. The breakfasts were wonderful and the wait staff remembered from day to day what we liked. Getting information and recommendations from the front desk was a real plus. Coming back after a long cold day of sightseeing and being welcomed with Gluwein and cookies was a nice plus also! We would not hesitate to stay here again!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyN21044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,053)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Torbraeu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

The hotel is located right in the heart of munich a few hundred metres from the Marienplatz. As a solo traveller, safe convenient location, near to restaurants is a must for me, and this one hit the mark. The hotel itself is pleasant, and the staff are nice. At first I thought my room was a bit spartan, but once I had put my stuff all over it that didn't seem to matter. But maybe a few coloured throw cushions would lift that first impression.
My small single room had no bath … so note to self to check that next time.
the window opened, which i like even when it is cold outside. room also scored on my other points of having convenient places to dry small items of clothing (heated towel rail), power points by the bead, and a hand towel big enough to wrap my wet hair in. Full length mirror, and place to hang coat outside of closet added bonuses.
The TV is a bit small … but i didn't really use it.
The breakfast room makes up for the plainness of the bed room. Very pretty, and one of the nicest breakfast spreads Ive had in all my travels. Top marks for the boiled eggs … thats a tough one to get right. And the offer of sparkling wine at breakfast … to decadent .. no idea why i didn't take it up.
While there are restaurants nearby, i think it might actually be a good idea to eat at the restaurant right under the hotel. i went to a traditional pub style restaurant across the road, and the food was very ordinary. i came back to the restaurant under the hotel and had delicious poppy seed cake and a wonderful dessert wine. I had also called in here in the afternoon, after a day walking around in the cold dry air, and had a delicious warming and comforting hot caipirinha .. who thought of that? wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulzE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

On our trip to Munic, I debated quite a bit on where to stay. I looked a few places around the train station, but wasn't crazy about the area and I felt it wasn't an area that we wanted to be in for our first trip to Munich. I also looked at a couple of high end places, such as The Charles Hotel and was very close to booking the Hotel Admiral, until I got advice that the Torbraeu was in a better location and a better deal if I could afford it. It was pricey, but very much worth it. Breakfast was included, as well as free internet and when you book a suite the mini-bar is included, which was a bigger bonus than I thought it would be. But the best part was the location, it is right on top of the Isartor station stop and there are great places to eat everywhere. We were very pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TPXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Spent 3 nights with our 17 yr son over NYE.
Location fabulous. A short walk up to main square.
Room a little small for having 3 adults in it, but then again it is Europe.
Breakfast is great start to the morning with variety for all nationalities.
Parking is on a side road , still charged 18euros but they have a secure rope behind all cars.
They served free mulled wine each evening so could sit in siting room and enjoy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burleigh4220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

A “historical hotel” right in the heart of Old Munich. From the lobby up to the lift and to our attic room, the hotel speaks of history - the art deco, chandeliers, ceiling lamps including the door key. The hotel still uses door key which was so heavy that the concierge quip we ladies could use it for self-defense. Since the key is so heavy to carry around, we have to leave it at the front desk each time we go out. We really don’t mind because it added to the over-all charm of the place. We were lucky to get room 507, a huge attic room with a view. We could hear the bells ringing at 12 noon or 6 pm when we open our windows. The sound of the bells was perfect for the Christmas season. The room is well-kept, clean and the bathroom is obviously newly renovated. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast and afternoon refreshment at the hotel lobby. There is no in-room tea/coffee facility and one has to hang around the lounge for a cup of tea, a bit of a downside for a tea person like me. Otherwise, everything was fine. We would definitely recommend Hotel Torbrau for everyone who wish to visit Munich.

Room Tip: Ask for room 507. Its huge for 2 people and has a wonderful view of Old Munich.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

First of all, the positive aspects include a good location at the entrance to the old city makes all within walking distance especially to the nearby Marionplatz. Upon entering, the front desk are more than helpful. There is an older woman who checked us in and treated us like a family member daily. The Concierge is the star of the hotel having booked us at Michelin star restaurants with ease. Bless him. The breakfasts are excellent including all the usual fresh selections like breads, fruit, deli meats, cheese, pastries. In addition, they will make eggs to order.
On the challenging side, the rooms are not all renovated yet. We checked in and had an older room then left for a few days of touring other cities in Germany and returned to have a renovated room. Be sure you ask for a renovated room. Finally, the towels are in need of replacement. They are too thin for acceptability.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcoPro2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We had 3 rooms for 2 nights just after Christmas. The hotel staff was very helpful and fluent in English. The room was large and comfortable with a large bathroom. The breakfast buffet was extensive and included in the room rate. The hotel's location was perfect , 100 feet from the underground station for easy access everywhere, including the airport, and within walking distance of many sites. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 385 in Munich
2,014 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,661 reviews
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.3 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
748 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Address: Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#4 Family Hotel in Munich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £161 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing