We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and a great stay”
Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Torbraeu
Ranked #8 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our stay at Hotel Torbraeu earlier this April was wonderful. The hotel is located in middle of all the interesting sights. Everything is within walking distance. For anyone visiting Munich for the first time or second or third, this is the place to stay. Besides the location the hotel itself is wonderful. The rooms are a good size with great bathrooms. Our room, 203, was in a perfect spot. It was very quiet and location allowed us to leave the window open at night. The windows, by the way, are awesome!! Also, the breakfast was by far the best we had on our vacation. The hotel caters to all different taste buds. Yummy! Oh, and try to restaurant in the hotel. Great food and Great service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeDoRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,053)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Torbraeu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I were recently here for a 1 day stay -which turned into a week stay - due to a passport issue, that was quickly rectified with the Canadian Embassy, down the road from the hotel. Needless to say the hotel people were very kind, helpful and considerate. The staff in the restaurant were also accommodating and very friendly. We would definitely go back to this hotel next time we pass through Munich and would recommend this HOtel for anyone staying and visiting the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Booked this hotel after reading previous reviews on TripAdvisor - I wasn't disappointed! The location of the hotel was excellent - five minutes' walk from Marienplatz / Residenz / Viktualienmarkt / Hofbrauhaus and right beside an underground station. The hotel itself was very well presented and classy - our Twin room was a good size, with cable TV, safe and complimentary bottles of water and toffees every day. The bathroom was large and clean too. The hotel has a large, dedicated breakfast room which was very classy - buffet breakfast had a lot of choice with cereal, pastries, croissants, toast, fruit, cheeses and cold meats, and you can even have an omelette made to order. The staff were always extremely helpful and all spoke very good English. Some lovely touches made the difference - complimentary Lindt bunnies and eggs on Easter Sunday for example, or being offered free use of umbrellas when it was raining outside.

One tip - there's a small room between the first floor and ground floor which is made up to look like a scene from 1492, with characters in traditional dress etc - nice little find!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asrk89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Hotel is located very centrally close to the Isartor metro station that makes it easy to reach from the airport. The room was as expected, nice and clean, but pricey enough. Breakfast was a bit disappointing compared to our expectations; the selection of bread / hard rolls was not as good as it can be in Germany and the omelette made to order looked a bit grey and was not so exciting. A big plus was the helpful and attentive staff at the reception; they are really lifting the performance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We couldn't fault this hotel on anything. The decor in the public areas and rooms is immaculate. The buffet breakfast was one of the best I have had. Although we didn't eat in the restaurant we noticed it gets good reviews on TA. Service was excellent. Added to this the location is ideal for getting around. We didn't see many hotels in the immediate area so presumably to stay elsewhere would involve more walking. It's not often you find a hotel with everything going for it so if you're visiting Munich take advantage and stay at the Hotel Torbrau.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireDandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

After spending 4 great nights in Vienna and 3 better than great nights in Prague, we come here. At check in the staff was helpful and attentive. I believe that the person who gets all the accolades is the porter. He was wonderful both at arrival and when we left. The evening front desk staff wasn't like the day staff. We got incorrect information and at times seemed interested in helping other people than us. The room was just ok. It was very ultra modern. It didn't have a warm, cozy feeling. We just had left a little cottage room in Prague that was wonderful. No special touches to make us feel welcome like the other hotels we had stayed at. So we are thankful for everything that you did for us on our visit but we won't be returning. Location is great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This hotel is conveniently located to the City Centre and the Market. The rooms were clean, neat, and the beds were comfortable. I traveled to Munich with my wife and daughter on holiday. One evening my daughter was not feeling well and the staff went out of their way to bring her some hot tea, along with a peeled and finely chopped apple. Nice touch and much appreciated.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 385 in Munich
2,015 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,662 reviews
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.3 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
749 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Address: Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#4 Family Hotel in Munich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £161 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing