We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Great Location”
Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Torbraeu
Ranked #11 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Great Location”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I was traveling with my 2 adult sons so we needed a room with 3 beds which very few hotels could accommodate. We were set up at Torbrau with a nice room with 2 comfortable beds and a fold out chair/single bed which was just as good as the beds. Though a little cramped, we had enough room for the 3 nights we were there. The location is likely the best in town, since it was a short walk to Marienplatz, Hofbrau Haus, the Residenz, and even not bad to the Englischer Garten.
The included breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of options at the buffet. You could also order from a menu although we did not feel the need. We needed parking for our car which was provided by a small lot on the adjacent side street - very convenient. The staff were all excellent and all spoke English well. I noticed that , if you speak German with an obvious American accent, most of the locals will reply politely in English, letting you know you can continue your conversation more easily. On a final note, the price was not cheap - $1100 for 3 nights for 3 adults in 1 room. I cannot say if this is typical for the area but be prepared to pay for the amenities of this fine hotel.

Room Tip: Hotel could accommodate 3 adults in one room comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papabuck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    290
    38
    15
    9
See reviews for
249
391
67
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southwest
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great location, great hotel, and excellent staff. We arrived from Paris at the main train station and had a short metro ride to the hotel, which is about a block away from the metro station. Our accommodations in Paris were not quite up to what we had expected and it was a welcome relief to come to this exceptionally clean hotel. I too will keep coming back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EpicuriousSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
1,327 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,721 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Over the past three years I have stayed at the Hotel Torbrau a total of seven times, and I'll keep coming back for a variety of reasons.

Location: The hotel is within a couple of blocks of Marienplatz and a number of significant attractions; too, there are a number of great restaurants within a short walk of the hotel. This hotel is hard to beat when it comes to location.

Service: All members of the staff are friendly and accommodating. And they go out of their way to be helpful, whether it's recommending a restaurant, providing advice on a tour, arranging transportation, or just handling some minor detail. Members of the staff are English speaking, and some have mastered other languages as well.

Rooms: Because I am traveling solo when I visit Munich, I get the single room, which more than adequately suits my needs. The rooms I have been assigned are clean, well appointed, and well serviced. The bathrooms are large. One thing I particularly like is the fact that each room has multiple electrical outlets, so I can charger my laptop, iPhone, and camera batteries all at the same time. Wifi comes with the room rate, and I have found it to be very good. If I ever take my wife, I book a larger room or a suite.

Food: Also coming with the room rate is the breakfast buffet, located on the first floor, which is excellent. In addition to the buffet, one can order from a menu, which is also part of the package. And on the ground floor is Schapeau, the hotel's restaurant, which offers a very nice selection of entrees. Too, this restaurant is a great place to go for dessert and coffee.

As long as I continue to visit Munich, I plan to make the Hotel Torbrau my home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CJTravelerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senoia, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Hotel Torbraeu is absolutely wonderful! It couldn't be better. We arrived about 9:30am after an overnight flight. I had previously requested early check-in so we could get a short nap before seeing the city. The room was ready as we had requested. It was very appreciated. The location of the hotel to Marienplatz, Viktualienmarkt and especially the S-Bahn Isartor station is top notch. The free breakfast included was an added bonus....and delicious too! We will stay at Hotel Torbraeu when we return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascais
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

After trying several hotels in Munich I finally found one to go back to.Great location for sightseeing and shopping,extremely helpful staff( when I left I forgot my hand bag in the taxi,I called the hotel and immediately they found my taxi and sent it back with my handbag),very good breakfast in a bright room with plenty of tables,we had a good dinner in their next door restaurant.It's worth paying a bit more for their more expensive rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CascaisMane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here on business in March 14. Booked by company so wasn't expecting much. What a surprise! Fantastic hotel and restaurant. Very friendly and helpful English speaking staff. Its on my list of hotels to return to.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimLineberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We spent 6 nights in this charming hotel. It is in a great location just a short walk from the central square and across the street from an underground train stop. Most importantly, they have a terrific staff. They were always welcoming and were great at helping us find our way through their city. The breakfast room is large, bright and has some terrace tables. Besides the normal German breakfast fare they are always willing to make you an omelet! We had two dinners in the hotel restaurant and both were great. On our last day my wife had a bicycle accident and when we got back to the hotel the staff just did everything they could to help us. As an example, when I started to push our two bikes back to the rental shop the porter ran out, took one of the bike and road with me back to the shop!

BTW I checked swimming pool but what I really meant was the river whic cityh is clean and nearby and used for swimming

Room Tip: We had a front room on the street which was lovely and well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 383 in Munich
1,937 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 383 in Munich
1,528 reviews
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#14 of 383 in Munich
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#13 of 383 in Munich
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
1.0 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 383 in Munich
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Property: Hotel Torbraeu
Address: Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#4 Family Hotel in Munich
#7 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing