We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable, great service, location”
Review of Hotel Torbraeu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Torbraeu
Ranked #9 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The entire staff is very pleasant, helpful and friendly. The hotel is immaculate and the rooms comfy. The breakfast buffet is one of the best, truly excellent. The A/C is a bit wimpy but sufficient and normal by Euro standards. The parking next to the hotel is really convenient. You are 2 blocks to the Deutsches Museum, 2-3 blocks to the beer halls or MarienPlatz, near shopping if that is your thing and not much more to the Residence. Plus, there is an S and U Bahn subway just outside the hotel door. The hotel bills itself as 500 years old but don't be fooled, it is relatively new because it was damaged in the war. Nonetheless, it has a nice old family hotel feel to it. Very special.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

One night at this lovely, old hotel - and a medical emergency - was all that was needed to demonstrate the hotel's proactive approach to taking care of its guests and the competence of its staff. At a room rate of 305€ for the night ($410 US, $445 CDN) we expected a high level of service and amenities and the hotel delivered.

We worried we may be dealing with a detached retina the day of our departure and the wonderfully efficient and kind Ahmed located an eye specialist and set up an appointment for an immediate examination. Breakfast room staff, Imelda Kelli, was the soul of common sense and practical, compassionate assistance in arranging a breakfast tray. And must also mention receptionist, Lena, on the day of our check-in. She and Andreas were flexible in arranging a bit later check out for us as we had a mid-afternoon flight. A warm thank you to all of the staff.

The hotel has a refined, understated elegance and its location in the heart of the old city is perfect. Better yet, it is literally in front of the Isartor train station on the s-Bahn line. Airport transport tip: you can save considerable sums avoiding taxis to and from the airport (70-85€) and take the efficient, reliable train (10.40€ each or a same day pass for up to 5 family members for 21.30€). Buy your ticket in the airport following the green signs to the s-Bahn. Directions are in the language of your choice and easy to follow. Take the S8 train - it's 10-11 stops, no changing trains. It is 10 minutes shorter than the S1, which you can also take. Disembark at Isartor, emerge (sorry, but can't recall which exit to take - ask the hotel staff, to save you time and confusion) and the hotel sits right in front of you about 50 steps away. Fast, inexpensive, relaxing, and easy peasy.

Our room, 201, was a small junior suite with a separate sitting room with its own TV, coffee table and corner table and chair. Faced the quiet rear of the hotel. Conveniently located near the elevator (no noise there) and beside a small inside courtyard accessed only from this floor full of flowering trees, benches and umbrella, and ashtray - would benefit from a couple of side tables. 201 has 2 closets, superb lighting, ample outlets, bathrobes and slippers, and classical decor, trimmed with wood, moldings, brass fixtures. Minibar contents (water, juice, beer, peanuts, chocolate, Pringles) were surprisingly included in the price. And a nice little coffee and tea service was also present. Internet was decent speed and different passwords were required for each device. There was some hesitation as to when we could have passwords for 3 devices, so check if this is important to you. Finally, a large and one of the most beautifully decorated and appointed bathrooms we have seen, including bathroom scales, heated towell racks, marble vanity, double sinks, quality bath products and an environmentally sensitive and convenient squeeze bottle for the lovely scented shampoo and body wash. My attached photos do not even nearly do justice to the gorgeous bathroom.

Being an old building, the elevator was small (and starts on a landing about 6 steps up) and we heard the running of baths in a room above, but our sleep was restful on twin, pushed together, firm mattresses (I've become used to these differences, and even see value in separate beds and duvets - no being disturbed by a partner's movements) and the bedding was luxurious, the room quiet and dark. Older building also meant 9' ceilings and windows that opened wide in two directions.

Bright, open breakfast room with tables on a balcony facing the street. Good choice of fare and eggs cooked to order.

One niggle: the TV station selection. A myriad of languages and stations were available, but only BBC and CNN news for exclusively English speaking guests. We would have loved to see a bit more English programming, as we found in Istanbul and Berlin.

Wholeheartedly we recommend the Torbrau and would stay here again on a return trip to Munich.

Room Tip: Suite 201 was at the back, facing an apartment building - charming view and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Ingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for several days on our way to Scotland and then again on our way back from Scotland. We booked over the net and not having visited Munich before we weren't sure what to expect. We weren't disappointed in any way at all.The rooms weren't overly spacious, but there was plenty of room for our baggage and all the other bit and bobs that you tend to take away on holidays. The staff on the font desk were absolutely 1st class and everyone spoke perfect English - I wish I could speak German even half as good as they spoke English. I always felt that the staff on the front desk had time for us, even though it was obvious at times that they were busy. We were there for the World Cup final which we watched in our room, so you can imagine the lively discussion we had the next morning at the front desk. Breakfast was for me an extravaganza, of pastries, breads, cheeses, cold meats and so on. On both occasions that we were leaving to go to the airport, the staff on the front desk arranged the taxis for us and true to form the taxis arrived bang on time. The adjoining restaurant maintains a high standard in food and again we found the staff friendly and engaging and more than willing to spend the time to talk to you. The hotel is close to the old town centre, you walk out the door, turn right and about 2 minutes you're there.
We would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sydneyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We booked over the internet and we were not disappointed! The staff in the hotel, breakfast room and Restaurant Schapeau were outstanding! Nothing was too much trouble! The breakfast was brilliant- the meal we had in the hotel was delicious ! The hotel is handy for all of Munich City centre and has marvellous Italian and Croatian restaurants round the corner! From our room we happily went off to sleep to the beautiful bells of the City! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellisyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Munich was the first stop on a four city, 18 night vacation in Europe for my 18 year-old son and I (his Dad). The Hotel Torbraeu set a standard for service that was not matched for the rest of our trip.

We originally had a reservation at another Munich hotel when the dates of our trip changed. We lost our low rate at our first hotel and once the price differential narrowed significantly, we decided to stay at the Torbraeu - that was a great decision.

We had a great deal of interaction with the front desk staff, starting with our arrival without our luggage. Our bags did not make our flight to Munich. One bag showed up our second night, the other bag on our fourth night. The front desk staff was very helpful in assisting with finding a way for us to do laundry, buy clothes and track down our bags.

The staff we dealt with all spoke English and we had no communication issues. They helpfully made several phone calls to local businesses for us, serving as our de facto interpreters. This review will specifically mention three employees, but all we came in contact with were a joy to deal with.

Jacqueline checked us in and gave us a thorough overview of the hotel. The hotel uses actual keys and we were unable to solve how to unlock the door. Jacqueline came up and went through how to unlock the door and after some practice we had it figured out.

The room was small by American standards, but was very comfortable. We had a room with two twin beds. The room also had a desk chair as well as another chair, a bench area, a full length closet and a desk. We made ample use of the in room safe (which used a credit card to lock). The air conditioning worked well. We were pleased to see a lot of electrical outlets in the room. We never ran out of room to charge our phones, camera or Ipads.

The bathroom had adequate counter space. Two sets of toiletries were always in the room. Bath towels were luxurious, but no wash cloths. We had decent water pressure, nice hot water supply. The shower had a half wall made of glass. There was a wand showerhead with a bar that held it high enough for me (6-2).

The key and keychain were quite large. We left the key at the front desk each time we left the hotel, which led to a lot of interaction with the staff. In addition to Jacqueline, we found Andrea and Andreas to be extremely helpful and friendly. We had more conversations with the staff at The Torbraeu in five nights than we did in the 13 nights we spent in London, Bayeux and Paris.

The elevator was very small. We walked the steps most of the time as we had only one flight to climb. There was a nice sitting area on the ground floor - my son and I spent a few nights playing Quiddler (a card game) at night.

There were plenty of places to eat along Tal. The hotel's morning breakfast buffet was included in the room price. Breads, pastries, juices. Omelettes made to order. We sometimes slept a bit too long to be able to fully take advantage.

The free wi-fi required passwords for each of our devices, but worked very well.

I am not sure if our travels will bring us back to Munich. If it does, we will stay at the Torbraeu.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ysuindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Service : Fantastic 4,9
Room: (Business) Very very good 4,7
Breakfast: Good 4,5
The site is fabulous easy walking distance to Victualienmarkt, Marienstrasse, Opera, Hofbräuhouse and very many other things.

ad service: In the reception, breakfast and restaurant, absolutely top friendly and nice.
Room: Very good noise isolation, fantastic aircondition, ok size, nice bath
Breakfast: N Everything you need.
Restaurant: Good at all times, late at night 11.00 pm the managed to get us something to eat 2 evenings
Enare

Room Tip: business room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Torbrau upon arrival in Munich on our way to a Ryder-Walker hiking trip in the German Alps, on the recommendation of R-W. The hotel has a great location next to an underground station serving the rail lines connecting to the airport and other rail services. The hotel front desk graciously volunteered to store our extra luggage during the week of our hiking trip, and were more than helpful on recommendations for pleasant places for dinner. It was an easy walk to the market, to outdoor concerts, and to enough points of interest to keep us well-occupied during our day in Munich. Our room was of course clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank aikido4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#13 of 387 in Munich
2,050 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 387 in Munich
1,737 reviews
0.1 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 387 in Munich
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 387 in Munich
1,597 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#3 of 387 in Munich
712 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#100 of 387 in Munich
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torbraeu

Address: Tal 41, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#4 Family Hotel in Munich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#21 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £155 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torbraeu 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich's oldest hotel! The 4-star Hotel Torbräu welcomed its first guests in 1490, a fact which can be traced in official documents from the time. Today our guests can expect a modern, family-run establishment that offers an excellent setting: situated directly by the historic Isartor, right by the entrance to the Old Town and just a short walk away from Marienplatz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Torbraeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbrau Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing