We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip”
Review of Hotel Wallis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Wallis
Ranked #218 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at the Wallis Hotel in late September. We had a room in the back of the hotel so there was no noise. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel staff was very helpful. We were close to the train station and other transportation. The breakfast was good, a lot of choices.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Retired102011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    196
    81
    20
    20
See reviews for
109
139
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

we stayed here October 2013 for 3 nights. The hotel is pretty great. the beds are nice and big and comfortable, the staff was very helpful, and there was enough space for me and my husband who is 6'7. My only complaint would be the noise and the location on the street. we could hear a screaming child for hours one night, and we couldn't even tell if it was outside or in another room, that's how clear the sound was.

If you are going to Munich during the Oktoberfest time this room is a great location in terms of you can get to everywhere you want to go just by walking. It doesn't have the prettiest of views, but it will definitely get the job done!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daynabrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Very pleasant hotel - clean, comfortable, great location a short walk from the train station. The receptionist was really friendly and helpful.

It was a little noisy on the street below throughout the night - probably due to the fact that Oktoberfest was taking place when I was there.

My other gripe is that the room was incredibly expensive for a 3 star hotel. Possibly due to the fact that prices are inflated during the Oktoberfest season? On top of that wifi was not free.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugbitten03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

good location--3 blocks train station and 2 for busses. 4 blocks to Marienplatz.
some people caution about sex shop across street- not really a problem -typical large city thing. Mc Donalds is next door to hotel. The beds are, nice place is clean and front desk helpful. This is not the Ritzs, but nor are the prices. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the time. 6 late 50yrs.

Room Tip: go to open mkt at Marienplatz for food and drink good prices and lots of fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8084P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Came here for three night with seven friends for the Oktoberfest in Munich. We had two rooms with four beds in each. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are very very clean. Fantastic breakfast that included cheese, ham, cold meats etc also range of sweet pastry's. The bathrooms are not very large but very functional. This hotel located just 10 minute walk from the festival. Would reccomend this hotel to couples business people and families.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Yes, officially this a 3 star hotel and for the most part that is an accurate rating. The hotel is very unpreposing from the outside wedged between a McDonald's and a somewhat sleazy casino. In fact the taxi driver went right past it until I said we missed it. All you can see is a narrow doorway--if there was not a large sign on the upper part of the building you'd hardly know it was there.

But once inside the hotel in fact became quite nice. Reception was very pleasant, even charming and this was reinforced over the 7 days I spent here by all of the front desk personnel--particularly the night clerk who was wonderful. I was given a room facing the back courtyard--2 single beds pushed together as is usual in more modest European hotels, a desk with minibar that you could also put your own things in, large wardrobe and plenty of shelves for your clothes.

The bathroom is rather small, as is the room itself, but more than adequate for a single person. Couples might find it a bit cramped. Tub/shower combo, though it was rather narrow. Towels were on the thin side but did the job. One aspect I did not like was the soap and shampoo dispensors which had very basic product. I'd suggest bringing your own.

Pleasantly this room and I think all rooms facing the back had a small balcony with a chair so you could relieve any claustrophobia. It was very quiet.

Every review I read in advance praised the breakfast and they are right to do so. A dazzling array of dishes including breads, pastries, yogurt of many types, 4 kinds of juices, cereals, meats, cheeses, eggs, even a bottle of wine if you're inclined.. If you leave hungry it's your own fault. Regular coffee, expresso, capachino yours for the asking--and it's delivered quick. The room can get hectic and busy but there always seemed to be a seat and I never had to wait.

So from the outside you may be a bit put off, but once inside it turns out to be a very well run modest hotel for those on a budget. Thus the extra half star.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are very quiet and have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businesstraveler93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We spent 9 nights at Hotel Wallis in August 2012. the hotel is an easy walk from the railway station. The hold sits in a seedy looking area amid many topless bars however appearances aren't everything as we discovered. The area was in fact quiet and we never felt unsafe when Walking to and from the station - not even at night. The hotel room was of contemporary design and very comfortable, with a small balcony overlooking a parking area and other buildings.

The room was clean and serviced daily. The bathroom was small but more than adequate and as I use a bathroom as it was meant to be used, I don't see the necessity for a huge bathroom. It was only a 5min walk to the Marienplatz, and we frequently fed ourselves cheaply from the delicious and varied fresh food at the nearby markets. On a couple of occasions, when very tired from our wanderings, we took advantage of the McDonald's next door to the hotel. They not only provided the usual McDonald's quick service, but also the best tasting burgers I've had from any McDonald's anywhere! We thoroughly enjoyed the excellent breakfast supplied by the hotel and included in the room price.

You can't go past Hotel Wallis for comfort, convenience, location, friendly staff and excellent value, I would definitely stay there on my next trip to Munich.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet, no-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faye766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#45 of 383 in Munich
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Daniel
Hotel Daniel
#193 of 383 in Munich
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Aparthotel Munich
City Aparthotel Munich
#213 of 383 in Munich
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#48 of 383 in Munich
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#129 of 383 in Munich
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Demas City
Hotel Demas City
#160 of 383 in Munich
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wallis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wallis

Property: Hotel Wallis
Address: Schwanthalerstr. 8, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#83 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wallis 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3-Star-hotel directly in the center of Munich.54 Comfortable rooms individually furnished with bath/shower/WC,Sat-Flat-TV/radio, telephone, minibar, internet access (WIFI andhighspeed-access), double-glass windows (rooms to the street) orbalcony (rooms off the street).A very rich breakfast-buffet is included in our rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Wallis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wallis Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing