We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Surprise Breakfast Bonus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Munich City East
Ranked #126 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Orange, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A Surprise Breakfast Bonus”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The Courtyard Munich City East is located about 10 minutes from the city center, but has a very convenient location. Located only minutes from the Ostbahnhof it is an easy walk to the hotel. After exiting the station, make a left and the main road will take you there in minutes. If loaded with luggage, you can also hop on the #19 tram which almost drops you off directly in front of the hotel.

There is also a small super market across the street from the train station, so you can load up on supplies such as water and snacks.

The hotel has a somewhat strange set up, as it is directly linked with Marriott Residence Inn next door. You can access both hotels from the lobby, or even on each floor of the hotel.

As you enter the hotel, the front desk is slightly to the left. Check-in was quick and my Ritz Carlton Platinum status was quickly recognized. To my surprise, I was also informed that as a Platinum member I could also have breakfast in the restaurant. Courtyard typically doesn’t provide breakfast for guests no matter what their elite status may be.



I was upgraded to a Superior Room, which is somewhat large by European standards. It is not cramped by any means as there is ample room to maneuver around the room. I redeemed a free night certificate for the room thanks to one of the frequent promotions Marriott runs almost every quarter in which a free night certificate is awarded for every 2 stays. The certificates are typically for Category 1-4, or 1-5 hotels. For some reason, rates were very high during my stay. I stayed after Oktoberfest, but rates were ~€450 per night.

As you enter the room, the bathroom is to the right.

There is a single sink with ample counter space.

There is a shower with no tub. Water pressure and temperature were excellent.

There is a small desk with not much work space. If on a business trip and a large work space is needed, this might be a bit of a challenge.

The coffee maker is located on the desk.

There is a small sitting area with chair.

The bed is a bit firm, but comfortable enough to get a good night’s sleep.

Breakfast is served in the restaurant next door at the Residence Inn but can be accessed without leaving the Courtyard property.

The buffet is expansive with hot items including scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, roasted tomatoes, oatmeal and beans.

Cold options include bread, pastries, bagels, fruit, yogurt, cereal, smoked salmon and meats, salad and a wide array of juices to choose from.

The Residence Inn section of the hotel does have a washer and dryer for use. You need to buy tokens from the front desk. It costs €4 for the washer and dryer. The dryer is not very efficient, and if you open the door during the cycle you would need to put in another token. It would probably take 2 drying cycles to dry your clothes though.

Although not in the city center, the hotel is very convenient to get to and a little bit closer to the airport. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheMysteryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    206
    92
    22
    17
See reviews for
76
149
24
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in Sept 2013.
I did enjoy this hotel as it was the last week in Europe and i was missing a North American feel :)
Wi-Fi only works in the lobby which kind of sucked but seems to be the standard.
Before booking, I had looked over many reviews and a common complaint was that there was no restaurants nearby and all amenities were miles away. We walked for maybe 30 secs and saw the first restaurant. Walked around the corner...another. A pub down the street. A pizza place, a steak house....the best Indian food i have ever tasted down the road! Also...the train station had markets, bagels, Turkish food, fresh fruit ect.
So....there is food! Don't waste your money on the overpriced lounge (which is also fine...but pricey 15 euro for a clubhouse)
My room was clean, the bathroom was large. I personally liked the location and after 5 nights found the city of Munich very easy to navigate.
Great Place!

Lastly...the best part of this hotel was the price:) I got if off of Priceline for $50 a night!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atfox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend with my Girlfriend.
Hotel was conveniently located by the main station giving direct link to the airport and city centre.
The hotel was very clean and modern, the room extremely spacious and comfortable with everything we needed for our stay.
Breakfast was buffet style and was always good and plentiful whatever time you came down.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Nice, clean, conveniently located American-style hotel in east Munich, very close to the Munich East train station which has local and long distance trains. The Max restaurant in the hotel is quite good and there are other good restaurant choices nearby. However, do not buy the in-room wireless internet! My colleague and I both purchased it and it was unbelievably slow. I did a speed test and it was operating at 87 kbs!!! That's barely faster than old-style dial up, and they want EU12.50 per day for the priviledge of sitting there and watching nothing happen on a screen.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was the perfect spot to stay in Munich -- 2 minute walk to the East station which will take you downtown in 5 minutes. The nice part is, at the end of the day you are away from all the hustle and bustle.

The rooms are very modern and quite large. The TV actually has English stations which is a huge plus! WiFi is free in the lobbys and they have nice couches to sit on while you use it. Staff is friendly and accommodating -- you can tell they know their city and are happy to help you in any way possible.

Breakfast was the best of our 7-city trip -- both hot and cold items. More food than you can imagine. If we return to Munich, this would definitely be our go-to hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gapgrl4496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for one night using my husband's Marriott points redemption. It was a nice, modern hotel that is not far from Munich East Train Station.

I like this train station because it is a shorter ride to MUC airport. We were also able to use the public transportation for our sight seeing in Munich that day.

Wifi is free because my husband is a Gold member for Marriott. Otherwise I think it will cost 25EURO extra. However, we found the internet connection to be incredibly slow in Germany. If we had to pay the extra $$ for this slow connection, I think we would like it even less.

My husband and I actually found time to work out in their fitness room which was quite nice. We had a good night stay here and I had no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jls3721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was my first time staying at hotel. Overall the service was very good. The rooms were clean but average. It was nice being close to the train station. The surrounding neighborhood didn't offer much and wish there was a little more going on. The S8 train from the airport was easy and the hotel was five blocks away.

I would consider staying again but just wish it was a little closer to downtown and more activities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snj1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Munich City East
0.1 mi away
Motel One Muenchen City-Ost
0.3 mi away
Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Munich City Center
0.4 mi away
angelo by Vienna House Munich Leuchtenbergring
0.7 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#78 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Munich City East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Munich City East

Property: Courtyard Munich City East
Address: Orleansstr. 83, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Munich City East 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfortable conference and international hotel chain Courtyard by Marriott Munich City East is located in the lively Munich Haidhausen district, just a 3-minute walk from Ostbahnhof. It takes 7 minutes to get to Munich city center, 10 minutes to the trade fair and 25 minutes to the airport. Underground parking is available. Whether you are traveling to Munich on business or for leisure, the hotel offers the perfect accommodation with 227 spacious and comfortable hotel rooms and suites and free Essential Internet. The business center is at your disposal and the 24/7 Grab'n Go Market offers a variety of food and beverages. The gym is fully-equipped with free weights and modern cardio machines. 573 square meters of event space provide 6 modular meeting rooms with the latest event technology for successful meetings and seminars in Munich. The BISTRO offers freshly made international and regional classics as well as delicious snacks&drinks and invites guests to meet and linger throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Munich City East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing