We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice and clean hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Munich City East

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard Munich City East
Ranked #99 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
159 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“nice and clean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Ok hotel. Staff is nice even though the front desk doesn´t say hi when standing in.
Breakfast is a good basic breakfast, in the weekend there were difficulties to keep glasses etc available but in the weekdays everything was fine. A small fitness room with cardio equipment and free weights. 5min walk form ostbanhoff metro station.

Room Tip: there were not noice even on the side of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    200
    88
    22
    13
See reviews for
75
146
23
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Title says it all. Convenient for the Ostbahnfof so well connected. About 45 minutes on the train to the airport. A few places to eat around or take the train to the centre. Not that impressed with the area, fine during the day and evening when it is still busy with commuters; if I were a lone female I would maybe not be happy at 10PM.

Breakfast quite good for germany.

Rooms OK reasonable size and appointed however the whole building and the rooms are very hot. Windows only open a little and the aircon is just not good enough. I would stay again in winter but I would not consider when the outside is getting towards 20C.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aji1376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
280 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have stayed in this hotel twice in the past 2 years and found it to be very convenient and comfortable. The location is great with some nice neighborhood restaurant and easy access by tram to city center with 15 minutes. You can get a all day pass for the tram and S-barn for unlimited rides.

The hotel is relatively new with nice décor, nice bath and shower and good AC controls. It is well managed and well maintained. Underground parking is great and costs 20 euros a day, perhaps a little on the high side.

Free wifi is available in the lobby but gold member gets free in-room wifi.

We will definitely stay there again on the next trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhlchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our family of three, 2-adults, 1-teenager stayed here for four nights while vacationing in Munich. The location was great, just a couple hundred yards to the Ostbahnhof. The room, however was very small with not much space for luggage or clothes. We had to live out of our suitcases for lack of drawer space. Also, there were no 2-queen rooms available so our teenage son had to sleep on a rollaway. Not bad, except that it took up the very limited remaining space in the room.

Other than that, it was standard Courtyard and generally good. The hotel shares restaurant space with the Residence Inn next door. We did eat at the restaurant one night and had the buffet breakfast one morning. Both were adequate, but dinner service was slow.

The front desk was helpful and friendly and it was always easy to catch a taxi out front if we needed. I would come back here if staying with only 2 people, but for a family it would be better to stay at the Residence Inn next door.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyTimeShare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

A Conference in Munich, therefore booked this hotel for 3 nights. Very good location, walking distance from nearest Underground Metro. Hotel is beautiful with all amenities. Reached at 12 noon but no check-in (room was not ready), handed over my luggage to the reception and went for the meeting. Checked-in at evening hours, room is fantastic with the most comfortable bed and other facilities. No free Wi-fi (the bigger, the greedier). Very good bathroom and nice view outside the window. Only stayed in room for sleeping after the meeting. Breakfast is really good with many options and one can sit in the courtyard to enjoy the delicacies. Public transport is very near so one can go out anytime. Overall a nice hotel in the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imransiddiqui82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I were on holiday for 4 days and picked this courtyard because the one in city center was booked. Thank goodness we did! Located just outside, but a 5 minute walk to the rail station, for $10 US you could get a 2 person train ticket to take you anywhere in the city no restrictions for 24 hours. Not to mention the hotel is located in such a lovely neighborhood with traditional dining options, gardens and fountains. It was lovely to walk around and dive into the local culture.

The hotel itself just went through a renovation, and the rooms are a good size with all the basic amenities including wifi(for a price- free in lobby), flat screens and showers(no tub). After reading past reviews on TA prior to booking, I did request a room back facing which was in fact quiet and overlooked gardens instead of the busy street.

There is a nice restaurant, perfect for dinner and drinks. Much better food than expected- and the service was outstanding. They offer classic German fair as well as a few american favorites.

Take advantage of the front desk- they were nothing but helpful with dining recommendations, as well as day tours to Bavaria. We would absolutley stay here again.

Room Tip: Looking for quiet? Request a back facing room on an upper level. Also, there are several outstandin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cplamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collierville
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Courtyard proved to be a perfect place to stay coming from the USA by plane, renting a car and driving to the hotel. It was easy to locate, had ample parking (20 euros a day) and an easy three-stop subway ride to the city centre.

The room was well furnished and comfortable and while not large by US standards, it was by the typical European hotel rooms. The hotel had the usual Courtyard amenities, but also had a shared breakfast buffet with an adjoining Residence Inn.

The staff was friendly and accommodating. Internet for the two lobby computers worked well. The wireless in the rooms, however, was less satisfactory.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Munich City East
0.1 mi away
Motel One Muenchen City-Ost
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Munich City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim
0.4 mi away
angelo by Vienna House Munich Leuchtenbergring
3.1 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#67 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Munich City East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Munich City East

Property: Courtyard Munich City East
Address: Orleansstr. 83, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Munich City East 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfortable conference and international hotel chain Courtyard by Marriott Munich City East is located in the lively Munich Haidhausen district, just a 3-minute walk from Ostbahnhof. It takes 7 minutes to get to Munich city center, 10 minutes to the trade fair and 25 minutes to the airport. Underground parking is available. Whether you are traveling to Munich on business or for leisure, the hotel offers the perfect accommodation with 227 spacious and comfortable hotel rooms and suites and free Essential Internet. The business center is at your disposal and the 24/7 Grab'n Go Market offers a variety of food and beverages. The gym is fully-equipped with free weights and modern cardio machines. 573 square meters of event space provide 6 modular meeting rooms with the latest event technology for successful meetings and seminars in Munich. The BISTRO offers freshly made international and regional classics as well as delicious snacks&drinks and invites guests to meet and linger throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Munich City East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing