We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rail trip of Europe”
Review of Hostel Central

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostel Central
Ranked #47 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Munich
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Wonderfully placed hostel local to Munchen Station.
Very, very clean and friendly staff.
It would be worth saying the entrance is down an alleyway off the main street as we missed it the first time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

Positive:
1) Good location: 5 min to the Central Station (Hauptbahnhof) and 10 min to the City Center (Karlsplatz)
2) Clean room/bathroom and very good beds
3) Quiet room: ideal for someone who likes a good night of sleep!

Negative:
1) Don't have elevator but there are only 3 floors...
2) The information in the reservation e-mail are not clear: just catch the train in S8 line from the airport and get out at Hauptbahnhof without need to change trains!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

great value room for three people, that's in a central location. the rooms were clean. We only stayed one night but we got a good nights rest before leaving Munich. The only negative was the windows had no curtains but we had to up early!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Hostel Central is a great budget location to rest your head in Munich but don't expect a party atmosphere! As the name suggests it's about a two minute walk from the Hauptbahnfof station (from where you can get everywhere in Munich) and is surrounded by cheap places to eat. Despite the fair few numbers of strip clubs and casinos the area felt safe at all hours of the day.

We booked a triple room with shared bathroom and paid 22 euros each. In retrospect we could probably have got a cheap hotel room but Hostel Central really met our needs. The place was spotlessly clean and the beds were really comfortable. The shared bathroom didn't prove to be a problem as there really wasn't many people in the hostel when we visited. As a result the hostel was not noisy and you could get a good nights sleep. Free Internet was also a real nice touch.

On the negative side the locker in our room didn't lock. The staff were quite friendly however they couldn't provide us with an english map and had no idea where to go for a night out. They did warm up when we started to speak German to them though.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feldy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Sopilkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marinescomment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 385 in Munich
920 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#25 of 385 in Munich
877 reviews
0.0 mi away
Relexa Hotel Munich
Relexa Hotel Munich
#134 of 385 in Munich
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City
Ibis Muenchen City
#92 of 385 in Munich
1,887 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smart Stay Hostel Munich City
0.3 mi away
The 4YOU Hostel & Hotel Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Central

Address: Paul-Heyse-Str. 8, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Munich
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Central 2*
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing