We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
Nearby Hotels
US$794
US$742
Mandarin Oriental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Platzl Hotel(Munich)
US$395
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$121
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel an der Oper(Munich)
US$198
US$173
Hotel Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$316
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$206
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$260
US$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Novotel Munich Airport(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$92
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Uhland(Munich)
US$160
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$142
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
201
196
61
32
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
196
61
32
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbottles of beergreat locationfood marketstove topsmall kitchenettenice hotelfree bottlerecommend this hotelextra pillowsdirectly across the streetcentral locationwonderful staymarien platzstaff was very friendly and helpfulthree nightsdefinitely stay here againcoffee machine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 518 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here to visit Oktoberfest and was pleasantly surprised. Ended up booking it because everything else was full, and we did pay a huge sum due to the fest, but it worked out very well for us. Room had a kitchenette and we were provided with 2 bottled waters and 2 huge bottles of Lowenbrau each day at no charge. Breakfast was generous and included, as was all day coffee, orange juice and flavored water at the lounge. Unlike other reviewers I had no trouble with the sleep number matress and slept well there. It is in a busy city so go expecting busy city noise, I was able to leave my window open and slept with no problems. Right next to the wonderful Viktualenmarkt, and Marienplatz, walking distance to Hofbrauhaus and all of central Munich. It met all of our needs.

Room Tip: I only give it terrible on value due to the issue of price gouging in all of Munich during Oktoberfest.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Maybe this year for the Wiesn? :)

Sincerely,

Julia Scholz
Ass. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel has nice rooms, great location, nice breakfast and great staff. Even the major construction work taking place in the back yard wasn't a problem. However, the aircon in the room cannot be set lower than 20 degrees and the inflatable matresses just didn't work for us. We had the impression that we were lying on the top of a hill and were on the verge of rolling off. Last small point was that the keycard didn't work so we had to use a key which was not easy to turn in the lock.The free beers and water was a bonus, but it would have been nice if the staff had remembered to fill up the fridge every day so we could have benefitted from this feature of the hotel. But overall a positive experience and we would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigAlex55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We spent four days in Munich, and really liked the location of this hotel: a quick walk from the train station, Rathaus, Viktualienmarkt, and much more. Throw a stone, and you will hit a Biergarten. The room was small, but very well set up; there was even a tiny kitchen, hidden behind a panel, complete with sink, microwave, electric kettle, and a small counter space. There is a work station (desk) and we even had two bean bag chairs to relax in.

The bed was typical European-style, with a twist: It was a "sleep number" type bed, with each side having a control. I really wanted to like it, but I actually hated it! I found it mushy and lumpy, with a weird sort of squishy feel to it...and could not find a setting that worked for me. Too soft, it felt lumpy, and too hard it felt lumpy. No win situation. By the time we left, my neck and back were so sore, I was ready to sleep on the floor :(

The buffet breakfast was good, if not very varied from day to day. Pastries, yogurt, fruit, cereals, eggs, juice, coffee...all the usual suspects present & accounted for, lol!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but I might think twice about staying there again because of the bed. If you are a "bulletproof" sleeper, go for it! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,

wow, thanks for you feedback!

Hope to see you soon

Kind regards

Julia Scholz
Ass. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

One of the best hotels we've ever stayed! The room, the staff,the location, the breakfast ,the bed were excellent
Coffee and tea were availiable 24/7, complimentary water and beer were really nice surprise
Feel sorry for the other guests who had to suffer because of the building works, but it's not a hotel's fault
We definitely will be back there

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mal2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for this great feedback.
We are more than happy that you had such a wonderful stay.
I hope you visit us again in the Hotel Campo dei Fiori.

Kind regards

Julia Scholz
Ass. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This hotel is centrally located and you have to get a room at the FRONT of the hotel if you go or do not stay there unless you can sleep though building works!! There is a whacking great construction site behind the hotel with cranes, and noise from 6.00 am on weekdays (not sure what time on Saturday but it was certainly going strong when we checked in late morning and did not stop until 5.00pm). It does however stop on Sundays, but that was when families of Arabs seemed to congregate all in the room next to us and make lots of noise until the wee small hours! - I eventually had to go and bang on the window via the fire escape (which would cut your feet to shreds in the event of a fire, or try to bang on a next door rooms window!) - which gave the women a shock but did the trick .....

We changed rooms to the front and had a VERY NICE TIME and a well located hotel but as I say choose your room with care!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gawain_the_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews