We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Hotel Demas City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Demas City
Ranked #162 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

About 10 minutes walk to train station. The area is a little riot, we will not stay the street at night.

Although its not a big hotel, it's really nice for value. Room is clean and well- designed, friendly service, and breakfast is good. Quiet at night.

The restaurants near the hotel, "Istanbul" and "Pipasa" are good choice in Munich.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Doriskk1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

For a business trip I stayed in this hotel for two nights. The hotel is perfectly located in the center of Munich, close to the HauptBahnhof (central station), but also nearly two other U/S-Bahn stops. For a few days this hotel probably served your needs, however for a longer period....the bathroom is too small (and in my room the sink was blocked), the bed is good and the chips and water provided in the room is very cheap (2 euros).
The breakfast is continental style (nothing special, but also not bad).
The service could be a bit better....probably they are understaffed (since I had to wait 5 minutes before someone appeared for the check-in).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlowTrippery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed here with friends during a recent trip to Munich. The hotel is small, clean, and in a good location. A few minutes walk, you can get around to the station and other areas very quickly. The rooms have comfortable beds but we didn't eat breakfast as they serve only continental breakfast. The Wi-Fi was free and always available which was wonderful. what was so unfortunate is that they don't have a fridge in the rooms neither do they have ice in the hotel, so you can never have a cold drink. Bummer!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProudlyNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed here recently whilst on a business trip to Munich:
- rooms are a reasonable size (not huge, but not too small) and VERY clean
- Bed was comfortable
- Bathroom was okay, although when sitting on the toilet your legs would end up under the sink!
- Comes across as a budget hotel, but no real issues with this
- Breakfast was okay, reasonable selection.

This hotel is based in what appears to be the red light area of Munich! It felt quite safe at night, but it's not the place you want to take your kids around after dark. Saying that, it's also a short walk to the main railway station therefore the actual location is very good.

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UKLondonTravellerN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel is near new with a nice foyer and overall was presented as very clean and offered a normal European breakfast. The bed and fittings were all in good condition and the bathroom was typical European nice modern and small.
I would recommend this hotel if you had planned a few day visit but would not if you were the for a week or longer. the reason is that the location of the hotel is not the best. It is right in the middle of a very questionable area. A bit scary really. Shopping centres are a brisk 15 minute walk. The negative I found at the Demas was the service and maybe I am not being fair about it but no-one wanted to be nice. every staff member apart from the young assistant in the kitchen would not smile and seemed not interested in helping.

Room Tip: 15 minute walk to city and shops, 5 minutes to main rail station, eat in the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

For my first trip to Munich I chose a hotel that was near the Railway station and this can sometimes be a risk - however not in this case. Located a 10 minute walk from the train station it is ideally located for access to the city center and the public transportation network. But despite what Conrad Hilton said about the three most important things about a hotel being location location and location, there is much more to the Demas. The hotel has the appearance of being recently refurbished and to a high standard. The rooms are simple and stylish and the bathrooms fitted with one of the best showers I've come across in ages. The rooms are fitted with double glazed windows which cuts out the street noise for the street facing rooms. The Breakfast room on the 5th floor is a bright sunny space and the staff more than helpful.
The one drawback is lack of any public space apart from a small reception area -but the rest of the hotel more than makes up for it.
The provision of free WI-FI in the rooms is a selling point for me - and if I am back in Munich I will be back at the Demas, if they have room as I imagine its a popular spot.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back will be quieter -but the double glazing means that its not that much of a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellerW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Small hotel, stylishly set out. Neat, clean rooms. Situated in the 'Turkish quarter' of Munich. It has a lap dance bar next door but you wouldn't know if it wasn't pointed out! Noisy at night but not much beyond chattering groups of people. A good base for exploring the city with Sendlinger Tor U bahn station a 10 min walk away and Karlsplatz station across the main road, 5 mins' walk away.
Hotel offers breakfast at €10 but we chose to eat out at local cafe's to sample more variety! 4 nights in a family room for 2 adults and 1 child (on a chair bed) cost €440. Cheap compared to alternatives we researched.

Room Tip: Front rooms have street noise - cars and chatter. Back rooms have chatter and bottles etc thrown int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BentPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#41 of 385 in Munich
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#150 of 385 in Munich
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel Munchen
H+ Hotel Munchen
#109 of 385 in Munich
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City Aparthotel Munich
City Aparthotel Munich
#207 of 385 in Munich
236 reviews
0.3 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City
0.1 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#147 of 385 in Munich
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Demas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Demas City

Address: Landwehrstr. 19, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £58 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Demas City 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Demas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing