We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect service, but rooms need an update”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Ranked #21 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Perfect service, but rooms need an update”
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I normally stay at the Mandarin Oriental, but they were not available for just a one-night stay during Octoberfest (even though we booked six months in advance), so we stayed here in late September for just one night. The location is ideal. The lobby is beautiful, if a little traditional for my tastes.
The service, from everyone in the hotel, was outstanding. The young woman at reception who checked us in could not have been nicer or more accommodating. Every time we called for a service (wake up call, room service), the response was "absolutely! Right away!" A very nice touch was a complimentary cup of coffee with the wake up call. I had never seen that before, and I found it very thoughtful. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I have ever experienced. {Gotta love giant pretzels for breakfast!} it was vast, and beautifully presented. Everything we ate was perfect and delicious.

My only complaint is that our room really needed an update. We stayed in room 121. It looked like the room had not seen a renovation since the 90's, although everything was spotless. The red and gold color scheme looked tired and dated, and more outlets were needed for all of our iGadgets.

Thanks to the impeccably trained staff, this is a wonderful hotel, and once they renovate all of the rooms, I would have a difficult time deciding where to stay next time in Munich.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolineBethesdaMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WebVierjahreszeiten, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Dear „carolineBethesdaMd“,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski for your recent stay and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!

We are very pleased to learn you enjoyed our service. Regarding our rooms we can share the news with you that the renovation of our rooms is already in progress. Therefore we hope that we are able to welcoming you back at the Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski and that you will not have a difficult time deciding where to stay next time in Munich.

Sincerely,
The Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,100
    386
    179
    80
    53
See reviews for
297
601
121
488
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Stayed here for one night on a business trip - had stayed there before when working for Bvlgari - great Luxury Hotel. It has the old world charm. I booked the room on my birthday - upon checking the receptionist noticed the DOB and was presented with a beautiful small gift - which was not expected - but very pleasantly surprised. If you want to treat yourself - give it a try you will enjoy it. Moreover Munich is a great place to be in as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piyush47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel and while the room was fine, for the price and what the rating was, I'm giving it a poor rating. The A/C didn't work well at all and they couldn't fix it. There were stains all over the carpet, the beds were not that comfortable and the shower was dirty. I've stayed at Hampton Inns that had nicer rooms and a fraction of the price.

The staff was friendly and the hotel was in an excellent location. I would book somewhere else if I ever go back to Munich.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecugringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WebVierjahreszeiten, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Dear “ecugringo”,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten and taking the time to comment on your stay with us.

We do regret that we did not meet your expectations entirely and understand your disappointment with our product, and would like to thank you for your constructive feedback. We appreciate receiving feedback from our guests, even if it is of a critical nature, as this is the only way we can truly assess our guests’ needs, and continuously improve the luxury service we aim to provide.

With regards to the overall condition of our guest rooms, we try to ensure that the finest materials are used in order to not only provide a remarkable hotel experience, but also to practice sustainable hospitality. A full refurbishing of the rooms, which will include a replacement of the carpets and upgrade of the A/C is already in progress.

We look forward to welcoming you back if your plans bring you to Munich and we do hope you will allow us the occasion to restore your confidence in our hotel.

Kind regards

The Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munich Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Excellent hotel located downtown Munich, only few steps from historical sites and pedestrian area, just 200 mtrs from the Opera House and even just in front of one of the best shopping area in Europe. Everything in here is simply the best, starting from the service and the rooms as well. I stayed in one of the rooms just refurbished (better to ask for that). If I can say something onlyt the gym is not at the same level but I can hardly reccomend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolobigtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Very conveniently located, 5-7 minutes walk to the Marien Platz. Not very welcoming though, the lobby is quite dark, room pretty small and bathroom very dated. OK for a one night stay, good value when booked through travel site. My strudel and coffee in the Lobby bar were both yummy. Overall not too bad.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RusLadyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Great hotel, great location, great service and welness area!
This hotel is centrally located in the luxury street in Munich. Close to most of the city sightseeing.
Expensive, but if you would spoil yourself, book it!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaymondOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Although location excellent and the front of house service exceptional and room very clean, once past the lobby the decor declines rapidly. The rooms are small and dismal, unfortunately our room looked out into a triangle with the backs of other rooms so not much natural light.. The very old-fashioned television took up a lot of space and the decor in the hall leading to the room and the room itself was more akin to a 3* or 4* hotel very disappointing. The mattresses were also quite hard and I was pleased it was just a one night's stay. I would have been extremely disappointed if I had paid full price for the room.

Room Tip: Although we got an excellent deal with lastminute.com - I can't help but feel that this reflecte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Palm-Tree-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WebVierjahreszeiten, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Dear “Palm-Tree-P”,

We would like to personally thank you for your review and your comments. We understand your disappointment with our product and the service provided to you, and would like to thank you for your constructive feedback. We appreciate receiving feedback from our guests, even if it is of a critical nature, as this is the only way we can truly assess our guests’ needs, and continuously improve the luxury service we aim to provide.

We hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munich

With best regards
The Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munich Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.2 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#13 of 382 in Munich
819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
#46 of 382 in Munich
1,196 reviews
0.4 mi away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#14 of 382 in Munich
732 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen

Property: Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
Address: Maximilianstrasse 17, 80539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Munich
#13 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#14 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#22 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vier Jahreszeiten is the first address for high quality level travelers, who esteem the combination of noble atmosphere together with the central location of a luxurious Grand Hotel. High standard traditional extravagance combined with present trends, turn your stay into a unique experience. The 303 rooms and suites combine the art of modern living with historical ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing