We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #233 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We discovered this Hotel thanks to Trip Advisor reviews. Due its excellent location , we got the maximum in our 7 days stay in Munich. Besides being so close to the Main Train Station it is also located 5 minutes walk to the departure point of excursions and Hop-on - Hop-off buses.Helpful and kind staff. Clean and spacious room with confortable longer beds. Fine assorted breakfast served on a nice and clean room. Free internet. It is a superior 3 Star Hotel compared to others with same rate. We would definetly come here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    75
    55
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
60
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located within a few hundred yards of Munich's main train station. The hotel is on a side street and reasonably quiet despite being in the very heart of town. The room was immaculate, the beds were comfortable, and the included full breakfast was delicious. Overall, this is a great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie_From_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed here for three nights in April 2013. The location is excellent, being only a 5 minute walk from the central train station which is perfect for arrival/deparate to and from the airport or by train, or daytrips such as in our case we also went to Salzburg by train. Most of the main tourist attractions in central Munich are also within easy walking distance, and those that are not (for example, Nyphemburg palace, Dachau) are easily accessible by public transit. The only very minor complaint some people may have on the location is that there is a strip club close by on the same street but this was easily ignored for me.

Our room was very clean and comfortable. One of the nice surprise I found in our room was air conditioning, which in my experience with european hotels is not very common. For me this was a big plus since you can keep the window closed for a nice quiet night's sleep, particularly since the Schillingstrasse would be fairly noisy at night. The staff were very helpful and friendly and all spoke english. The breakfast was good quality with a decent selection of hot and cold items and drinks. I found the value for dollar to be excellent considering the package of great location, good breakfast and clean/comfortable rooms. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbhyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel is highly recommended with a very strategic location. The service is satisfactory, the room comfortable to rest, ..... Special Richard, thank you for all your attention and your ministry efforts. One time when we got back to Munich, one that certainly is an option to stay at the Capital Hotel, which has been very helpful to us during our trip in Germany. A highly recommended accommodation facilities to be visited.

Helpful?
1 Thank We H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Noja, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

The hotel is located next to theMain Train Station which is very helpful when planning a day trip to Salzburg,...or somewhere else.
It takes you only 8-10 minutes on foot to Theresienwiese "Oktoberfest", so do not take any U-Bahn or buses, just go on foot.

The breakfast was fresh, full of juices, many coffee, cerels, different types of bread,.... great.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meitar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

good location, clean rooms. poor service. we were chareged for 2 nights breakfast included' but we got only 1 breakfast. we informed at check in that we will leave very early in the morning (05:30), and at reception said no problem. it is not so "early" and we can have some coffe.
When we checked out, they said that it is too early to have breakfast or coffe. For the price we payed, we had more expectation. We travell to munich every year, and have better experience with other hotels in the same area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batia_pomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

This hotel is situated only 2 blocks from the main rail station and in the middle of many eateries etc. The "action" is all within easy walking distance.
Breakfast being a choice buffet included a good selection of both hot and cold dishes. Service in both the breakfast room and in the main hotel was very good. All staff spoke good English and were friendly and helpful.
Room was a good size and the Aircon provided for a quiet nights sleep without having to open the windows.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#167 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#222 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
#156 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#48 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.0 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#120 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#63 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Schillerstr. 3a, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing