We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oktoberfest lodging”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #235 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Oktoberfest lodging”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Recently a group of us stayed here for a few nights to visit Oktoberfest. In terms of location for walking to Oktoberfest it's great. The rooms are obviously more expensive at this time but it is manageable depending on you budget. The walk to the grounds is a 5-10 minute trip. The surrounding area doesn't seem suitable for children because of the strip clubs and casinos but if you don't mind the scenery the location doesn't feel sketchy; at no time did anyone in our group ever feel uncomfortable. The rooms are a decent size with a little bathroom with an enclosed shower. The beds are not too bad either. The hotel has air conditioning and you don't hear the street noise from below. The best part is the complimentary breakfast. The only bad part was that the mini fridge hadn't been checked between guests and the beer bottles had been opened and drained and there was something dried on the bottles and the inside of the fridge. But the staff was good about getting it quickly taken care of. Overall, I would consider staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nixin0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    77
    56
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
61
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

You are paying for location and that's about it.

The staff are friendly and it is very conveniently located to central Munich.

The breakfast is good but the rooms are not very noise proof. The hot water ran out for us at various stages in our stay.

Room sizes are tiny and there is no ventilation for the amount of money you had to pay for the hotel you might as well stay further away in a more conventional 4 star hotel.

Think twice before staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WakyRaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Excellent location, just steps away from the Munich Hauptbahnhof. Easy access to the city and surrounding areas. Adequate room with free wifi. Staff also helpful & friendly. Overall a good place for a short stay in Munich. Downside: Furniture looks quite old and needs some refreshment. Sound of AC a bit loud.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred_Yuanxin_Zhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Everything was average there. Cleanliness of the room, cheap products at breakfast and lack of pastry at all, strange smell at the corridors. We couldn't open the window at night because of hookah smell. One of the mattresses had a hollow at the middle. No ventilator in the toilet and shower. The benefit of this hotel is location only.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alona-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Comfy beds and nice rooms. Good breakfast buffet. Friendly staff (not all speak English very well, so knowing a few German words might be helpful).
Near the central train station and 5 minutes from Karlsplatz on a fairly quiet side street. There's a couple of strip clubs nearby - doesn't bother me, but others might not feel comfortable walking past them to and from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dirr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We just left City Hotel today, after a few days. Stayed in 2rooms for our family of 4. Clean rooms, good breakfast options, excellent location as described by others. On the first day, found our air conditioner was broken- and we're moved immediately. Service by Richard was impeccable: helpful, pleasant, accommodating, interested.
The only negative was that we had plumbing problems consistently: constantly loudly leaking toilet, as well as water temperature widely fluctuating in the shower. Seems plumbing hardware is a problem. Staff is helpful, though and apologetic.
Would stay again, especially since air conditioning here was a life saver during this week. Please fix/ replace plumbing.

Room Tip: Choose inside room! Noisy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medmom2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We discovered this Hotel thanks to Trip Advisor reviews. Due its excellent location , we got the maximum in our 7 days stay in Munich. Besides being so close to the Main Train Station it is also located 5 minutes walk to the departure point of excursions and Hop-on - Hop-off buses.Helpful and kind staff. Clean and spacious room with confortable longer beds. Fine assorted breakfast served on a nice and clean room. Free internet. It is a superior 3 Star Hotel compared to others with same rate. We would definetly come here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#206 of 382 in Munich
236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#160 of 382 in Munich
260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
#166 of 382 in Munich
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#48 of 382 in Munich
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stachus
Hotel Stachus
#161 of 382 in Munich
461 reviews
0.0 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#117 of 382 in Munich
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Schillerstr. 3a, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing