We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Ranked #5 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 30 April 2011

I recently stayed here for 3 nights with my wife and 12 week old son. The hotel is lovely, in a quiet area near the English Garden. This was perfect for us, as our goal for the weekend was to enjoy the weather and spend time in the parks. The hotel staff was wonderful, particularly with the baby, and they did everything to make our stay comfortable. The courtyard/garden is a wonderful place to have lunch, and it provided a great view from our room window. We had secured a deal through Expedia (buy two nights get the third free) and really feel like we received tremendous value for money. Only complaint is I would have liked to have had wireless internet in the room.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBSpooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    149
    24
    9
    8
See reviews for
133
310
39
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

My favorite hotel in Munich - it is petite - yes & and that is its charme. The service is distinguished and kind - the decor traditional yet comfortable and with a certain welcoming elegance.

They have a wonderful little courtyard which is perfect to have breakfast in the summer. A tiny fitness center with all one needs to get into gear in the morning. Even better - just go around the corner and jog into the Isar-Auen Park!

On piece of advice: It is not in the centre of the town you will rely on taxis to bring you into the middle of the town. But if you like me enjoy a calm evening and to be able after a busy day to walk within 3 min. next to the river Isar in a Park-like structure or visit the extraordinary Stuck-Museum next door - then this place will be a dream. Or if you are a tourist which enjoys elegance and taking a town by foot this location will serve you well -- start with the Stuck Museum pass the Friedensengel and go down Prinzregentensteet there you can choose - are you interested in Renaissance period - enter the National Museum, perhaps more modern-contempory art - visit the Haus der Kunst --- or rather old masters in this case - take a rest in the English Garden and make your way to the Alte Pinakothek...

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, CT
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Located close to, but not in the touristy heart of, Munich, this is a lovely, quiet retreat. With only 70 rooms, newly and luxuriously renovated, silent at night, populated by stylish-looking guests, it's one of the nicest options in town. Staff are young, polite, enthusiastic, and accommodating. The small breakfast room is classy and relaxing, with a full (very full) array of German breakfast choices. There's a cosy bar, and the fashionable restaurant/gourmet shop across the street, Kaffer, is a convenient alternative. Comfortable bed, great bathroom, large windows that open, everything first-class.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerfromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

After endlessly searching, my husband found this gem of a hotel amongst all the larger hotels in the area. We are experienced travelers from the states and have been to the finest hotels from Las Vegas to Monte Carlo.

This was our first time in Germany and know very little German. Upon arrival we were greeted with a smile and check-in was a simple process. There were no communication barriers. We reserved 3 rooms and had requested a crib (for our 2 year old) in the non smoking room (1st 2 floors). We were the only one in the hotel at the time with a child. They made us feel right at home.

Our luggage made it to our rooms immediately and the crib was set up and ready to go. The crib was the perfect size and had clean sheets, a baby pillow, comforter and a brand new stuff animal. Our daughter is a very picky eater and has a food allergy (eggs). They fulfilled every request of ours when it came to any toddler needs!

Negative thoughts:
There is only 1. It was impossible to get a staff member on the phone, no matter what department we were trying to reach. What made it worse, was that we were in a hurry and needed to request an iron. They of course suggested their ironing service, but we needed it back immediately. They did deliver the ironing board in a timely manner once they answered the phone!

Location:
Just a 5 minutes walk to the gardens, 5 minute cab ride or 15 minute walk to the city center and 15 minute taxi ride to BMW Welt. Across the street is a pharmacy, a fresh frruit and vegetable stand and a restaurant/grocery store called Kafar. We highly recommend the restaurant. DIVINE!

Views/decor:
The building itself is shared/attached to an apartment building. This forms a cul-du-sac. Not to worry. Its stylish and gives you a feel that you live amongst the locals. It looks very uniform and clean. I didn't find any clothes lines with underwear drying in the wind!
Outside your window you will see the cozy garden full of hydrangeas (this is July) benches, small water features. Everyone has this view. The restaurant outside is beautiful, cozy and with excelent service. You also have the option to sit inside in the white dining area (tables, chairs, walls, candles, all white). Elegant and romantic. There is also a small bar inside. Full bar.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paltsev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2009

What I like most about the Palace is the quiet yet central location and the fact that it's a small hotel with only 70 rooms. The atmosphere is therefore one of peaceful elegance, style and refinement. The public areas are small but 'perfectly formed'. The bar is cosy with a good selection of drinks and very helpful staff and breakfast in the morning is excellent. I stayed in a single room and couldn't fault it. The décor with all the white and pastel colours and antique fittings made it into a pleasant place to be in, a welcome change from those bulk furnished hotel bedrooms and more into the style of a stately home than a hotel. If I were to be hyper-critical I could only point towards two minor areas of improvement. The first is the TV, which lacks English channels. The second is that for an establishment of this level a greater choice of toiletries should be provided. But these are really very minor areas of improvement. The clientèle, as pointed out by other reviewers, is predominantly business or wealthy OAPs: wonderful if you need a relaxing and calming atmosphere in refined surroundings, but not if you are seeking a vibrant and thrilling environment.

  • Liked — The atmosphere and decor
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank impavidus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2008

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. The location is convenient, the staff were very good and the food was perfectly adequate. There are outside terraces on various storeys which are quite attractive.
The criticism is that it was 30 degress in Munich at the time and there was no aircon in the bedrooms. It was really hot at night and opening the windows let all in all the noise from the street. So all in all, it was a really bad night's sleep. Pack your ear plugs.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — noisy rooms, which were too hot in the summer
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank corylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad and Tobago
Level 6 Contributor
1,151 reviews
241 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 635 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2008

I travel for business and pleasure alike alot in Germany as i am based in London but deal with German clients most of the time.
I have checked out lots of hotels in Munich and am very surprised that this Hotel does not score much higher!

Consider this:
1.) this is the Hotel where the opera stars in Munich stay, 'cause the owner - family Kuffler - are big fans and sponsors of the opera house. Roland Villarzon stayed there recently.
2.) its staff is very friendly, know their clients/guests by name and try their best to help. they also radiate the Bavarian charme i love so much.
2a) its actually a very good meeting place if you want to discuss confidential money matters / business deals and completely understate your purpose as the hotel is not really known internationally (like Bayerische hof, etc)
3.) the owner / general manager is visible all the time - something i miss in other places.
4.) the breakfast place is cosy and small, but you can sit outside in the garden or in the bar area. its a very personal service, they prepare individually what you want
5.) its quite central to the key financial institutions in Munich.

Critic is accepted, if you address the lack of AirCon; but if you get a room to the court, its so nice and fresh to open the window.
However, if the heat is up, like August - i do prefer to stay at another place...

  • Liked — its charme is very personal and beats the big hotels
  • Disliked — in summer, there is no AirCon...
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FOL-1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
1,517 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
1,965 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
2.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#11 of 382 in Munich
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Muenchen Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muenchen Palace

Property: Hotel Muenchen Palace
Address: Trogerstrasse 21, 81675 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Muenchen Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munchen Palace is a hotel in Munich's Bogenhausen quarter. Located on the banks of the Isar River, not far from the beautiful Englischer Garten, the hotel stands between the Friedensengel Monument and the Prinzregententheater. The city centre's shops and sights are just a 15-minute walk away. There are underground and bus stops nearby and the hotel has a private garage.The hotel roof terrace and garden are city-central spots of seclusion. Guests can soak up the sun whilst enjoying breakfast, lunch or dinner in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Muenchen Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing