We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything a true hotel should be” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Muenchen Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Ranked #6 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Everything a true hotel should be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

In my view the best place to explore Munich and yet stay away from the overcrowded old city center. It is just the size to be cosy and intimate, appointed enough to be comfortable and enthusing, rooms are just the size, fabulous breakfast, excellent staff. There wasn't a single thing to disappoint or wish for more. Everyone was at our disposal at all times.
The location is very quiet, close to the magnificent English garden in the exclusive borough of Bogenhausen, the seat of aristocracy of Munich, to ensure a dignified stay which is impossible if you stay in the Hauptbahnhof area. Overall, a seamless experience.

Room Tip: Opt for a garden view room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxdedikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    149
    24
    9
    8
See reviews for
125
302
36
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Another great hotel, good service from lovely staff ( where English was no issue), the room (superior garden room) was beautifully decorated in muted shades a d quality linen. The room was quiet and had a little balcony overlooking trees in a quiet side of the hotel. Breakfast was served in a small dinning room with lots of variety. The hotel is a little way from the main city rail station, but within walking distance from everything else (if you like walking, around 20 mins)
There was a great gourmet deli across the road for any picnic items or extra drinks. Highly recommended....

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBrownsAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed at the hotel 4 nites in july of 2012.The moment I walked into the lobby I knew it was
going to be a great experience.The lobby was stunning and beautiful.This is a 5 star hotel and it
shows.The staff greated us in German,we dont speak it,not a problem,everyone at the hotel was
fluent in English which makes things alot easier for us.The staff goes out of thier way to make you
feel comfotable.They are very eager to help you with anything.The hotel property is great,nice
garden in the back of the hotel that is immaculate.Had some cocktails out there.Great terraces
on the roof,where you can take some some sun.They have an awsome bar and restaurant,we had lunch there 3 times and had dinner twice.Rocket salad w/ veal meatballs,Liver dumpling soup
Wiener Schnitzel,linguini with prawns.These were our favorite dishes.The bar lounge area is really nice.Bartenders and dining room staff were great.Hotel staff all were sensational.We were leaving early from the hotel to get to the airport,so we had requested a wake up call at 4Am and coffee to be delivered at our room at 415.sure enough all went well.I highly recommend this hotel
you need to stay there at least once.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lance658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Definitely a bit more $ but worth every Euro spent here. By far the best hotel we stayed at in Munich/Bavaria. Great gym facilities (for Europe - very rare) extraordinarily helpful and friendly staff at the front. Gorgeous hotel - a bit outside of town but in a very nice area. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear TM,

Thank you for taking the time to share your xperience at the hotel with the tripadvisor community. We are delighted that you enjoyed the gym, sauna and steambath, this has just been opened after an extensive renovation and now features state of the art technogym equipment.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Personal regards,
Salika Glattkowski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Comfortable hotel in a nice and quiet neighborhood with a helpful staff. The hotel has a lovely garden and is in close walking distance (5 minutes) to a beautiful park. A goumet market is also located across the street. A nearby metro station allows for convenient travel.

If you are looking for a comfortable, relaxing place to base your travels and plan to use public transport this is a great choice. Since the hotel is located just outside of the main tourist sites, it may not be ideal if you plan to walk everwhere. Sites are walkable - but it's a longer walk (15-20 minutes) to the town center.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBLoves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear BBloves2Travel,

Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the München Palace. We are situated in Bogenhausen close to the English Garden and the Angel of Peace monument. Should you be back in Summer during the warmer season, do ask for our complimentary bicycles to explore the city.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Personal regards,
Salika Glattkowski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel in April while there for the construction equipment conference. Work business and I was on my own.

The hotel is well situated and in a nice tree lined alley which is not noisy. Staff were very accommodating and friendly at all times.

The Resturant was open for all meals and we ate there a lot as we had meetings in the hotel. Not that inspired and ran out of wine on the wine list. Service was good thought at all times. The resturant was not busy at all and had no "vibe" at all. Fairly usual for a hotel resturant, but this was especially small.

My main gripe about the hotel is that is was really small. The entrance is minute and everyone squashes in. Not a problem for a middle of the road hotel but a bit off putting for an expensive 5 star hotel. The gym was very small with one treadmill and cycle and minimal weight equipment. My room (booked as a single) was a three quarter bed. Adequate, but I would have expected better for such a fancy hotel. Bear this in mind when booking.

Overall the staff very nice indeed and hotel well positioned. I liked the hotel,but do not think it was good value for money and thus the loss of a star. Some great restaurants in the vacinity.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Richard N,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with the tripadvisor community, this is much appreciated.


We are a privately owned boutique hotel and a member of Preferred Boutique.
WIth 74 rooms and suites, we offer our guests individual decorated rooms, varing in size and location, and seasonal prices, starting from a single room with approx 26sqm to our suites up to 150 sqm with private sauna and steinway piano over 2 floors. You had visted us during a high season, with the BAUMA fair, where the city is very full.

The Family Kufflers, the owners, also own and run the 'Seehaus im Englischen Garten', Spatenhaus an der Oper', 'Mangostin Asia Restaurants', 'Haxnbauer im Scholastikhaus', Oktoberfest Weinzelt', 'T2 Gastronomie' and 'Kuffler California Kitchen', do try one of the other restaurants the next time in Munich.

We hope to welcome you back soon, maybe on a 'leisure' occasion for you to be able to explore the beautiful city of Munich.

Personal regards,
Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel. It is out of the hustle and bustle of the historical old town but close enough to walk in or pay €9 for a taxi. The staff are excellent. Professional and efficient and yet have the friendliness you would associate more with a small family business. The rooms are modern and well serviced. A free small minibar. Breakfast is expensive (especially if you don't want too much) so we went to the excellent Kafer restaurant across the road. You can eat dinner in the bar, garden or restaurant - all had great individual ambience. Recommend that you pay a little more for the delux room which gives you a little more space. Close to the English Garden which is so beautiful and an experience in itself. The hotel has free bikes to take there or around the city. Happy to recommend.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyandCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Andy and Cathy,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing your experience with us.
Yes, our garden is a pearl and very unique to the city, we are delighted that you enjoyed this experience.

We hope to welcome you back very soon,

kind regards,
Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
1.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#9 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
1.0 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Muenchen Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muenchen Palace

Property: Hotel Muenchen Palace
Address: Trogerstrasse 21, 81675 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Muenchen Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munchen Palace is a hotel in Munich's Bogenhausen quarter. Located on the banks of the Isar River, not far from the beautiful Englischer Garten, the hotel stands between the Friedensengel Monument and the Prinzregententheater. The city centre's shops and sights are just a 15-minute walk away. There are underground and bus stops nearby and the hotel has a private garage.The hotel roof terrace and garden are city-central spots of seclusion. Guests can soak up the sun whilst enjoying breakfast, lunch or dinner in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Muenchen Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing