We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but all too short a stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Ranked #5 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great, but all too short a stay”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed at the Palace en-route back to England following a few weeks in Austria.

The Palace is a haven of tranquility and elegance in the beautiful city of Munich. We booked three rooms just a few days before following a late decision to overnight in Munich before going home. The staff were really helpful and managed to fit us in despite being nearly fully booked.

The hotel itself is situated just off Princeregentstrasse one of the main thoroughfares in and out of Munich and provided us with a great base to explore the city.

The rooms were very elegantly decorated, very clean, free wifi and free mini-bar.

My only slight grouch was breakfast was pretty pricey at €28/head - expensive when there are six of us but aside from that I would heartily recommend the Palace and definitely plan to stay there again when we go to Munich for a longer trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copperbeechy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    149
    24
    9
    8
See reviews for
133
310
39
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clarendon Hills
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Recently stayed 4 nights at this lovely hotel. Staff was extremely pleasant and accommodating. When we checked in, they walked us to our room, reviewed the amenities, gave us a tour of the hotel, spa area, etc. They use actual keys, so you have to use the key to lock your door upon entering and when you are in your room and leaving your room. Our room was on the 3rd floor and overlooked the lovely courtyard with its beautiful landscaping. Room was very spacious. Complimentary beverages, apples were a very nice touch. Generously sized wardrobe, we did call for extra hangers which they immediately brought. Bath was spacious and had nice touches. Hardwood floors in the room. Nice bedding, pillows.
Location in a quiet neighborhood, we did walk to the Englisch Garden, about a 15-20 minute walk. We ate breakfast in the restaurant several mornings, and had one meal there.
I would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the courtyard area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fern60514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was our first stay at this property and we very much appreciated the genuinely solicitous service which so often seems lacking in continental Europe. On arrival, we were surprised to find that we had been upgraded to a junior suite where a bottle of Kuffler white wine was waiting in an ice bucket and loads of fruit. All staff were extremely courteous and warm and we were looked after extremely well. We didn't quite understand what we had done to deserve this excellent treatment, so we assume that this just part of the hotel's SOP. An accidental, last minute choice which, for once, turned out to be a lucky one.

Room Tip: For those who like to have a balcony, these are available in some rooms facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiandYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed for 3 nights (2 rooms to accommodate the family). Great hotel. Comfortable, stylish and very clean. Terrific service - accommodated a change to our reservation when we showed up a day early. Cozy bar - perfect place for a late night drink. Small workout room but it had great equipment. Highly recommend and would stay again.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite has a upstairs/downstairs with a spiral staircase. Perfect for families who ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaKlebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed here for a week this June, best decision I could take: great room, great breakfast, great location (5 minutes from the center by bike-and their bikes are also very well kept). When I left, the doorman even told the taxi driver" Be careful, drive safely, they are our guests!"People who work here seem to enjoy what they are doing: management deserves and extra compliment, they must know a thing or two about getting the best out of its employees.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronaldo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauna,Wa.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I felt that we had good value for this boutique hotel. The neighborhood is very posh and out of the city noise, yet it nearly borders the English garden and a subway station is three blocks away. Our room was large by European standards as was the bathroom, the furnishings are very restrained, linens are soft, beds are comfortable, very tasteful over all. The staff were helpful without being over present. We enjoy walking and getting to odeonplatz was easy(downhill) and beautiful. We ate in the terrace twice, both times because of fatigue ( arrival from Croatia and post dachau) and it was very good and both the terrace and the bar are pretty and very inviting. The minibar is free which is a nice perk.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suehoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

In my view the best place to explore Munich and yet stay away from the overcrowded old city center. It is just the size to be cosy and intimate, appointed enough to be comfortable and enthusing, rooms are just the size, fabulous breakfast, excellent staff. There wasn't a single thing to disappoint or wish for more. Everyone was at our disposal at all times.
The location is very quiet, close to the magnificent English garden in the exclusive borough of Bogenhausen, the seat of aristocracy of Munich, to ensure a dignified stay which is impossible if you stay in the Hauptbahnhof area. Overall, a seamless experience.

Room Tip: Opt for a garden view room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxdedikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
1,517 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
1,965 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
2.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#11 of 382 in Munich
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Muenchen Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muenchen Palace

Property: Hotel Muenchen Palace
Address: Trogerstrasse 21, 81675 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Muenchen Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munchen Palace is a hotel in Munich's Bogenhausen quarter. Located on the banks of the Isar River, not far from the beautiful Englischer Garten, the hotel stands between the Friedensengel Monument and the Prinzregententheater. The city centre's shops and sights are just a 15-minute walk away. There are underground and bus stops nearby and the hotel has a private garage.The hotel roof terrace and garden are city-central spots of seclusion. Guests can soak up the sun whilst enjoying breakfast, lunch or dinner in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Muenchen Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing