We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home... Almost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Ranked #5 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Home from home... Almost”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

A very nice old hotel with some rooms modernised (mine wasn't, but everything worked well) the bedroom itself wasn't huge but big enough for single occupancy & a bit tight for a couple but I'd stay here with my fiancé, nice garden if the sun is out, lovely sunken bar with a great barman, nice choice of beers and very very good food too.. Nice bar snacks too.
It's a 'home from home' I felt as the decoration wasn't very 'out of a box' it all looked very personal and the floral display in the front dining room was stunning during my stay in May 2014.. Very good breakfast choice too.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TigerandScruffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear TigerandScruffy,

Thank you for kind words, and are happy to hear that it was 'almost' Home from Home.
We strive to have our guest 'feel at home' and therefore strive to offer very personalized service with attention to detail, such as our floral decoration, all our rooms have an individual design and touch.

Hope to welcome you back very soon in the near future, how about coming over Christmas to visit the Christmas markets.

personal regards,
Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    149
    24
    9
    8
See reviews for
133
310
39
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solon, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed for four nights in May. The Facility is attractive and well maintained. Room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The desk staff was friendly and helpful answering questions and providing
suggestions for dinner. Location is quiet, but not central to old city or attractions. S bahn is not very close.
Breakfast was average for this caliber of hotel. Had breakfast one morning and service was just okay. The second morning the "service" was non existent and could not get served!! It was not crowded either. Food service area needs help. I suggest breakfast elsewhere when you consider the price is 26 Euro's.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymon7746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Raymon7746,

Thank you for your feedback during your last stay. We are delighted to read, that our staff was helpful and friendly.
We are a boutique individual Hotel, we strive to exceed our guests expectations and offer a very personalized service. We apologize for the inconvenience you had on your second morning, our wide selection of local homemade and international products, home baked breads on our breakfast buffet are carefully selected and daily prepared, all our egg dishes are prepared 'a la minute' and served at your table. The breakfast price includes fresh squeezed Juices and coffee specialties and exclusive teas.
We hope to welcome you back soon in the near future, to show you that we can offer you the expected service.

Kind regards,
Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed for four nights last June. Quiet and luxurious hotel, very comfortable beds a big plus, with very friendly and helpful staff. Meals at the garden cafe were a delight. The hotel is not in the old city, but is only a 5-10 minutes taxi ride from the center (or a 30 minute walk). Can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank se9834a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Se9834a,

Thank you for staying with us, we are counting the days to welcoming you back :-)
Do let me know should you have dates in mind - how about during Christmas to visit the famous Christmas Markets or Octoberfest - the orginal beer festival?

Looking forward to welcoming you back 'home' very soon,

Kind regards,
Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in a room with a balcony overlooking the garden (room 103). The room was nice, but nothing special for a hotel of this caliber except for the balcony and the garden view. Unfortunately the room was directly above the door to the kitchen and from about 11 am until late evening there was a constant smell of something frying in oil. On cold nights, we had the door to the balcony closed and used the A/C so it wasn't a problem. But on warm nights, when we wanted to have the windows open or sit on the balcony, the smell was sufficiently strong and unpleasant that we didn't do either. We commented on the problem twice. First time nothing seems to have been done. The second time, when the A/C broke and it was too warm in the room to sleep, we were moved to another room for the night.

The staff was uniformly very friendly and mostly helpful. The bar is very nice as is the courtyard and the server/bar tender there was exceptional.

The location is nice and quiet but out of the center of things. It takes about a 30 minute walk or 10 minute train ride to get to the heart of town. Taxis are easy to get and reasonably priced, so the location really isn't a problem.

There are two very good restaurants right around the corner from the hotel that we tried (and about 4 more nearby that we didn't get to) which helped make the location more attractive to us.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies overlooking the garden are great, but be sure to get one on one of the higher f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonOregonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear OregonOrgonian,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor and for staying at the HOTEL MUENCHEN PALACE . We do hope that you have received our separate email sent to you.

We do apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the 'Kitchen smell' as unfortunately the ventilation broke down, this we have had fixed immediately. Am happy to hear that you enjoyed the staff friendliness and felt taken care, this is important to us, especially if there is a problem that it is solved as soon as possible.

Hope to welcome you back soon in the near future and our apologies are excepted,

Kind regards,
Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We chose this hotel because of its location; conveniently near the centre of Munich but in a fairly quiet neighbourhood. The staff were helpful and friendly and our room, which overlooked the garden, was comfortable and very quiet at night even with the windows open.

We did not have breakfast in the hotel, preferring to go out and try different places. We ate in the bar on one evening and the food was very good.

We would stay at this hotel again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear James T,

Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel München Palace, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our services and the food in our bar. Our aim is to have our guest to become 'friends' and to be able to offer a home away from home.

We hope to welcome you back soon in the near future,

Kind regards,
Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I thought this hotel was really special. It felt like a really nice retreat away from touristy areas, but was an easy walk to museums, the English garden and central Munich. My room was also really beautiful--it felt like a perfect spacious Paris apartment. I was traveling for work so when I saw how pretty everything was, I was worried the hotel would be more setup for vacation than work, but the internet was very fast and the lamps were bright enough if you removed the shades (which were easy to take off).

Also one thing that really impressed me--they had fantastic food for room service. I got a garden salad with steak which was so fresh and felt so healthy compared to what you often get with German food. It was a really nice way to have access to healthy but really delicious food while working late.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 3rd floor facing the courtyard which got great light so I would recommend asking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14christinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Christina S,

Hope you had a safe trip back home to the sunny california. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on a leisure trip - do try our complimentary bycycles and order a picknick basket to enjoy in the English Garden.

Looking forward to seeing you back soon,

Kind regards,
Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Very tastefully decorated and ran hotel. Comfortable rooms, beds, very good breakfast, helpful staff. In a luxurious quiet part of town somewhat away from the downtown (not walking distance) WiFi is free and fast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indep_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salika_Glattkowski, Manager at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear indep_travel,

Thank you for staying with us during your last visit to Munich. We are glad that you enjoyed our Service, and the location of the Hotel, the peaceful and quietness Comes from the vicinity to the English Garden - did you get the chance to use one of our complimentary bycycles?

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,

Kind regards from Munich,
Salika Glattkowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
1,521 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 382 in Munich
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 382 in Munich
1,968 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
2.6 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#11 of 382 in Munich
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Muenchen Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muenchen Palace

Property: Hotel Muenchen Palace
Address: Trogerstrasse 21, 81675 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Muenchen Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munchen Palace is a hotel in Munich's Bogenhausen quarter. Located on the banks of the Isar River, not far from the beautiful Englischer Garten, the hotel stands between the Friedensengel Monument and the Prinzregententheater. The city centre's shops and sights are just a 15-minute walk away. There are underground and bus stops nearby and the hotel has a private garage.The hotel roof terrace and garden are city-central spots of seclusion. Guests can soak up the sun whilst enjoying breakfast, lunch or dinner in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Muenchen Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing