We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, friendly staff, interesting location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Ranked #4 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2006

We stayed at the hotel in June 2006 as we had 4 tickets to the opening game of the World Cup, and stayed for 3 nights having booked 2 rooms over a year in advance (one for my myself and my wife and the other for my dad and my 6 year old son). The hotel is very clean and I disagree with the other review that the carpet is dirty! Everything is spotless. The staff were extremely friendly to us, check in was very efficient. Our rooms were big as were the bathrooms, lots of wardrobe space, which is unusual these days! We gave breakfast a miss as the breakfast room looked a tad too formal and instead we went across the street to Kafer, which is the finest food shop in Munich, and have international newspapers too. We sat out in their open-air restaurant and had a truly amazing breakfast. This shop is worth an hour just exploring it’s many rooms full of amazing food. The hotel is a short bus ride into town and the busses really do stick the timetable so take a note of the times in advance and you can perfectly time walking over to the bus stop.
The courtyard to the rear of the hotel was very quiet and the food there was excellent, as was the beer! One great tip is to go to the public outdoor swimming pool which is pretty much a water park - it's only 2 minutes from the hotel and 4 euros to get in, it's very modern and fantastically clean. There are several pool, one for laps, one large area for toddlers, a climbing wall, a lazy river and a couple of excellent slides for the more adventurous plus several diving boards. It was great seeing families arrive for the day with large picnics to sit on the well-manicured lawns with the children enjoying all the water fun. We used the busses, trams and underground while in Munich and you can get a day ticket to cover everything for only a few euros. Taxi from the centre of town was only 5 euros, which took about 4 or 5 minutes.
All in all a great small hotel in an interesting area of Munich, not too far out of town.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2006

Liked this place. Nice big room. Bed and shower good. Breakfast lovely but quite expensive.

Bit of a posh ambience about this place. Business men during the week and rich families as we got nearer the weekend.

Too far from city centre for most people to consider walking. There is a stop nearby from which you can get a traim straight into town (All the cliches about German public transport - efficient, timely, frequent - are true in my experience). Area surrounding hotel is very quiet.

Would stay there again

Stayed: January 2006
5  Thank Bo_Jonter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2006

nice rooms with ugly dirty carpets. bathroom o.k.. but booked with children. got a confirmation for two rooms with connectting doors, one doubel room and one single room. when we payed theya wanted not the price of 169 euro for both during the week but also 139 for the single. so we complained and showed our confirmation but the owner showed up and said no two children where in the single room and we need to pay twice 169 euro and was so unfriendly. we payed and i am still do pissed off but to lazy to go to court even though i have it written and he would loose. so please do not go. what a jerk the owner is and what a chuzpe to take the same price for the single room. i had even offered to make a deal and too meet inbetween the 169 euro and 300 something euro but no he was pissed.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank luxurykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2005

This "boutique" hotel is located about two miles from the "Old Quarter" of Munich. It is an easy cab ride or a very pleasant and safe walk.
The hotel is very comfortable; good rooms; nice little restaurant; very nice bar; and a great garden area with tables. The rooms are very clean and comfortable.
Apparently many European business people stay here but Americans shy away from the hotel because it does not have air conditioning. We were there in June of 2005 and simply opened the windows for air flow.
There is also a sun deck area that is very pleasant.
This is a great alternative to high priced "name" hotels and is quite a bit less expensive.
We highly recommend it.

3  Thank CACTUSPETEAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Man kann kein falsches Zimmer buchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Christoph1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMuenchenPalace, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer nach hinten sind ruhiger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 28Windy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMuenchenPalace, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Muenchen Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#3 of 390 in Munich
1,655 reviews
2 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
4.6 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 390 in Munich
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 390 in Munich
1,822 reviews
1 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 390 in Munich
2,094 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#26 of 390 in Munich
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Muenchen Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muenchen Palace

Address: Trogerstrasse 21, 81675 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £149 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Muenchen Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munchen Palace is a hotel in Munich's Bogenhausen quarter. Located on the banks of the Isar River, not far from the beautiful Englischer Garten, the hotel stands between the Friedensengel Monument and the Prinzregententheater. The city centre's shops and sights are just a 15-minute walk away. There are underground and bus stops nearby and the hotel has a private garage.The hotel roof terrace and garden are city-central spots of seclusion. Guests can soak up the sun whilst enjoying breakfast, lunch or dinner in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Muenchen Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing