We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elengance & Silence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Ranked #4 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2011

My favorite hotel in Munich - it is petite - yes & and that is its charme. The service is distinguished and kind - the decor traditional yet comfortable and with a certain welcoming elegance.

They have a wonderful little courtyard which is perfect to have breakfast in the summer. A tiny fitness center with all one needs to get into gear in the morning. Even better - just go around the corner and jog into the Isar-Auen Park!

On piece of advice: It is not in the centre of the town you will rely on taxis to bring you into the middle of the town. But if you like me enjoy a calm evening and to be able after a busy day to walk within 3 min. next to the river Isar in a Park-like structure or visit the extraordinary Stuck-Museum next door - then this place will be a dream. Or if you are a tourist which enjoys elegance and taking a town by foot this location will serve you well -- start with the Stuck Museum pass the Friedensengel and go down Prinzregentensteet there you can choose - are you interested in Renaissance period - enter the National Museum, perhaps more modern-contempory art - visit the Haus der Kunst --- or rather old masters in this case - take a rest in the English Garden and make your way to the Alte Pinakothek...

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Muenchen Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2010

Located close to, but not in the touristy heart of, Munich, this is a lovely, quiet retreat. With only 70 rooms, newly and luxuriously renovated, silent at night, populated by stylish-looking guests, it's one of the nicest options in town. Staff are young, polite, enthusiastic, and accommodating. The small breakfast room is classy and relaxing, with a full (very full) array of German breakfast choices. There's a cosy bar, and the fashionable restaurant/gourmet shop across the street, Kaffer, is a convenient alternative. Comfortable bed, great bathroom, large windows that open, everything first-class.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerfromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

After endlessly searching, my husband found this gem of a hotel amongst all the larger hotels in the area. We are experienced travelers from the states and have been to the finest hotels from Las Vegas to Monte Carlo.

This was our first time in Germany and know very little German. Upon arrival we were greeted with a smile and check-in was a simple process. There were no communication barriers. We reserved 3 rooms and had requested a crib (for our 2 year old) in the non smoking room (1st 2 floors). We were the only one in the hotel at the time with a child. They made us feel right at home.

Our luggage made it to our rooms immediately and the crib was set up and ready to go. The crib was the perfect size and had clean sheets, a baby pillow, comforter and a brand new stuff animal. Our daughter is a very picky eater and has a food allergy (eggs). They fulfilled every request of ours when it came to any toddler needs!

Negative thoughts:
There is only 1. It was impossible to get a staff member on the phone, no matter what department we were trying to reach. What made it worse, was that we were in a hurry and needed to request an iron. They of course suggested their ironing service, but we needed it back immediately. They did deliver the ironing board in a timely manner once they answered the phone!

Location:
Just a 5 minutes walk to the gardens, 5 minute cab ride or 15 minute walk to the city center and 15 minute taxi ride to BMW Welt. Across the street is a pharmacy, a fresh frruit and vegetable stand and a restaurant/grocery store called Kafar. We highly recommend the restaurant. DIVINE!

Views/decor:
The building itself is shared/attached to an apartment building. This forms a cul-du-sac. Not to worry. Its stylish and gives you a feel that you live amongst the locals. It looks very uniform and clean. I didn't find any clothes lines with underwear drying in the wind!
Outside your window you will see the cozy garden full of hydrangeas (this is July) benches, small water features. Everyone has this view. The restaurant outside is beautiful, cozy and with excelent service. You also have the option to sit inside in the white dining area (tables, chairs, walls, candles, all white). Elegant and romantic. There is also a small bar inside. Full bar.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paltsev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

What I like most about the Palace is the quiet yet central location and the fact that it's a small hotel with only 70 rooms. The atmosphere is therefore one of peaceful elegance, style and refinement. The public areas are small but 'perfectly formed'. The bar is cosy with a good selection of drinks and very helpful staff and breakfast in the morning is excellent. I stayed in a single room and couldn't fault it. The décor with all the white and pastel colours and antique fittings made it into a pleasant place to be in, a welcome change from those bulk furnished hotel bedrooms and more into the style of a stately home than a hotel. If I were to be hyper-critical I could only point towards two minor areas of improvement. The first is the TV, which lacks English channels. The second is that for an establishment of this level a greater choice of toiletries should be provided. But these are really very minor areas of improvement. The clientèle, as pointed out by other reviewers, is predominantly business or wealthy OAPs: wonderful if you need a relaxing and calming atmosphere in refined surroundings, but not if you are seeking a vibrant and thrilling environment.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank impavidus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2008

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. The location is convenient, the staff were very good and the food was perfectly adequate. There are outside terraces on various storeys which are quite attractive.
The criticism is that it was 30 degress in Munich at the time and there was no aircon in the bedrooms. It was really hot at night and opening the windows let all in all the noise from the street. So all in all, it was a really bad night's sleep. Pack your ear plugs.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank corylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2008

I travel for business and pleasure alike alot in Germany as i am based in London but deal with German clients most of the time.
I have checked out lots of hotels in Munich and am very surprised that this Hotel does not score much higher!

Consider this:
1.) this is the Hotel where the opera stars in Munich stay, 'cause the owner - family Kuffler - are big fans and sponsors of the opera house. Roland Villarzon stayed there recently.
2.) its staff is very friendly, know their clients/guests by name and try their best to help. they also radiate the Bavarian charme i love so much.
2a) its actually a very good meeting place if you want to discuss confidential money matters / business deals and completely understate your purpose as the hotel is not really known internationally (like Bayerische hof, etc)
3.) the owner / general manager is visible all the time - something i miss in other places.
4.) the breakfast place is cosy and small, but you can sit outside in the garden or in the bar area. its a very personal service, they prepare individually what you want
5.) its quite central to the key financial institutions in Munich.

Critic is accepted, if you address the lack of AirCon; but if you get a room to the court, its so nice and fresh to open the window.
However, if the heat is up, like August - i do prefer to stay at another place...

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FOL-1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2006

We stayed at the hotel in June 2006 as we had 4 tickets to the opening game of the World Cup, and stayed for 3 nights having booked 2 rooms over a year in advance (one for my myself and my wife and the other for my dad and my 6 year old son). The hotel is very clean and I disagree with the other review that the carpet is dirty! Everything is spotless. The staff were extremely friendly to us, check in was very efficient. Our rooms were big as were the bathrooms, lots of wardrobe space, which is unusual these days! We gave breakfast a miss as the breakfast room looked a tad too formal and instead we went across the street to Kafer, which is the finest food shop in Munich, and have international newspapers too. We sat out in their open-air restaurant and had a truly amazing breakfast. This shop is worth an hour just exploring it’s many rooms full of amazing food. The hotel is a short bus ride into town and the busses really do stick the timetable so take a note of the times in advance and you can perfectly time walking over to the bus stop.
The courtyard to the rear of the hotel was very quiet and the food there was excellent, as was the beer! One great tip is to go to the public outdoor swimming pool which is pretty much a water park - it's only 2 minutes from the hotel and 4 euros to get in, it's very modern and fantastically clean. There are several pool, one for laps, one large area for toddlers, a climbing wall, a lazy river and a couple of excellent slides for the more adventurous plus several diving boards. It was great seeing families arrive for the day with large picnics to sit on the well-manicured lawns with the children enjoying all the water fun. We used the busses, trams and underground while in Munich and you can get a day ticket to cover everything for only a few euros. Taxi from the centre of town was only 5 euros, which took about 4 or 5 minutes.
All in all a great small hotel in an interesting area of Munich, not too far out of town.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,558 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.0 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 385 in Munich
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
1.9 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,662 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#8 of 385 in Munich
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Muenchen Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muenchen Palace

Address: Trogerstrasse 21, 81675 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £167 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Muenchen Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munchen Palace is a hotel in Munich's Bogenhausen quarter. Located on the banks of the Isar River, not far from the beautiful Englischer Garten, the hotel stands between the Friedensengel Monument and the Prinzregententheater. The city centre's shops and sights are just a 15-minute walk away. There are underground and bus stops nearby and the hotel has a private garage.The hotel roof terrace and garden are city-central spots of seclusion. Guests can soak up the sun whilst enjoying breakfast, lunch or dinner in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Muenchen Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing