We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable value; a bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel Am Olympiapark
Ranked #233 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Reasonable value; a bit dated”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stayed here for just one night. It wasn't a good start as I arrived at 11 PM and was tired to be find nobody at reception and a sign saying "be back soon". There was another customer in front of me already waiting. After 10 minutes or so someone finally appeared. They did not apologise for keeping me waiting.

The room decor seems circa 1978. The bed was very small and up against the wall. But overall the room was a good size. Free wifi worked well. Beer and water provided in the fridge was great. Breakfast was OK. Location was quiet and is near the U-Bahn.

It seems more setup for long term stay than a "proper" hotel. But it is reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    104
    51
    25
    17
See reviews for
25
75
32
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Hotel rooms are small and outdated in a strange kind of way. The location is rather odd as well, but in a sleepy corner of Munich. The U-Bahn is however fairly close, about a 5 minute walk to Gern station. The free breakfast was appreciated and good quality. I probably wouldn't return to this location unless the savings were substantial or the rooms were updated. Everything was average in my books.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthernCDNTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed a single night, paid almost 100 Euros - and walked into a very smelly room, although the window was already open (in December!). I had to keep the window open allnight, it would still smell. The carpet had many spots, big and small. Although spacious, this kind of room wouldn't even pass as a very simple motel room in the US. I should have read some german reviews before booking because of a reasonable location, it's a sadly known issue since at least a year..
The breakfast room was made out of 3-4 normal rooms - it's tiny and very crowded in the morning. The breakfast itself was very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex_and_Kathrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Brisbane
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

It's okay, older in style, and a bit odd with a hotel at the front and apartments across the open courtyard which involves stairs, open area in the rain and wind, and more stairs. Small apartment with limited kitchenette cutlery and crockery etc (ask for more from reception), steep stairs up to the bedroom annexe, but a comfortable room overall. Definitely shop at the little supermarket next door for breakfast (and evening) food - much cheaper than eating breakfast in-house. Dinner at the restaurant attached to this hotel is good value for money. Nice walk to the train station and quick visit to Munich centre. Nice suburban area and feels very safe.

Room Tip: Ask for the hotel rooms if that is what you booked for. The apartments are handy if you wish to coo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamandrobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Have stayed here twice and enjoyed both times. Rooms are clean and well serviced but can be a bit hot. Wish I had known about the free beer!. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Loved the breakfasts. Location is convenient - short walk to Gern U Bahn and quick trip to Munich centre.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

i have spent here a long weekend at beginning of October 2013, the goal of the visit for my husband was Octoberfest) and for me the museums of Munich. so the location is just wonderful, it is 5 min walk to Metro and 5 min walk to tram station. so you van reach the Hauprbahnhof in 10 with tram.it is very quite area, the tengellmann supermarket is just at the entrance to the hotel, very comfortbale. the breakfast is very good and tasty, they even have fresh orange juice and Prosecco, what is not bad for one 3 * hotel! our room was situated on the last floor, the room has everything you can only need inclusive the refrigirator, mini-kitchen, kettle and all facilities. the room is very clean and big but a little bit all fashioned. the stuff was very helpful and nice, we got the presents-souvenirs for our sons) i would definitly recommend thiis hotel for longer stays with children

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryzhik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I travelled to Munich for the last weekend of the Oktoberfest with 5 work colleagues. We booked late January, but even by then, the choice of hotels is limited, and this was one of the only ones that came within the budget we'd set, and that wasn't miles out of town. My primary concern was that we'd only been able to book doubles and not twins, however, like most German and Austrian hotels that I've stayed in before, two of the beds consisted of a queen-sized divan with 2 separate single mattresses and bedding on each half. The other room, and biggest of the 3 that we'd booked between the 6 of us, although having a double mattress, had a separate living area - and even a balcony - so you could choose to sleep on the sofa if sharing with a colleague was an issue. Although all of the rooms had a kitchenette, only the big room had any equipment with which to cook. Shame really, as there is a superb little supermarket located right next to the hotel. So don't make the mistake that we did of buying eggs and bacon BEFORE checking if you've got anything to cook it with, let alone eat it with! At least we were able to take these to our colleague's room to cook them there. There is a breakfast room, but the charge is €14 per person.

The hotel itself is in a quiet leafy suburb, conveniently located just 5 mins walk from Gern U-Bahn station, which is only 4 stops on U1 from Hauptbahnhof. When you get off the train, there are two exits - look for the signs on the platform pointing towards Klugstraße, go up the escalator (it can go both ways!), then up the steps to your right (the second escalator to your left takes you to the wrong side of the street). At the top of the steps, turn right into Klugstraße, and it's about a 5-minute walk to the hotel, which is on the corner of Paschstraße.

The rooms were immaculately clean, and had decent TVs (for a hotel) which even let you change the language to english on a few of the channels. The reception staff were very helpful in explaining how to do this. Our room rate included free movies and even free beer in the fridge every day! There is a sauna and small fitness centre in the basement - you just need to give the hotel staff 45 minutes notice if you wish to use the sauna, as it needs to heat up. I liked the complimentary coffee in the lobby - it was good coffee and a nice touch.

The only down side that my colleagues could think of was the lack of a bar in the hotel. As a group of 6, it would've been nice to nice to have somewhere to meet socially within the hotel itself, rather than just waiting in the lobby and heading off into town. There is however a restaurant next door, but we didn't get the chance to try it while we were there, as the one night we wanted to use it (Monday), it was geschlossen!

All in all, a very good hotel, easy to get to and friendly hotel staff who all spoke english.

Room Tip: Some reviewers have said that the lack of aircon made rooms stuffy in summer. This wasn't an iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenbear73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.7 mi away
Adagio Access Munchen City Olympiapark
0.6 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City Olympiapark
1.4 mi away
Arthotel ANA im Olympiapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Nymphenburg
0.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Munchen am Olympiapark
1.1 mi away
Motel One Munchen Olympia Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel Am Olympiapark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Am Olympiapark

Property: Derag Livinghotel Am Olympiapark
Address: Paschstr. 46, 80637 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Derag Livinghotel Am Olympiapark 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Am Olympiapark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derag Livnghotel Karl Theodor Hotel Munich
Derag Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing