We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel among thorns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
KING's HOTEL First Class
Ranked #30 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The hotel is not in the nicest street in Munich but is good once inside. The bedroom was comfortable with panelled ceiling and coffee machine. The breakfast was very good @ 17 Euros with waffles to order and good range of other hot and cold food. We had Dinner at a Vietnamese cafe (Lily's Bistro) down the street towards the Station. It is a modest place but the portions were generous and tasty with good beer.
The hotel is close to the city centre with Marienplatz abouit 15 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Room 221 is comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peglegManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

The hotel is about 3 minutes walk from the main station in Munich. The staff are terrific and the rooms are compact and high standard - the beds are so comfortable! It has all the things you need for a weekend away, including an ironing room. I would have no hesitation in staying again as the location, value and service were excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank euanpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We have just spent 6 nights in Kings Hotel First Class. Perfectly located for daytrips/excursions to Dachau, the Castle,Salsburg, etc as the hotel is only a 5 -minute walk to the Central train station where the excursions leave from (Radius Tours). ~We walked everywhere while in the city, so very convenient.

Staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient at all times, rooms comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast very good - good choice of hot and cold foods. Staff in the dining room were very friendly and courteous as were the two barmen on duty at night!!!!

Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Munich for a few days.
No complaints at all!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Lovely hotel, rooms not very big but very clean and comfortable. Staff very nice and helpful. Breakfast lovely, lots to choose from, hot and cold. Dinning room staff excellent. Hotel very central, easy to access the subway which is very easy to use. Would stay there again

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naoiseIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We chose King's Hotel for it's balance between price and location to the centre of old Munich. The cost was alright and it was only 10-15 minutes from Marketplatz. Good proximity to the train station. Not the best neighbourhood - no real restaurants or bakeries around, so you are forced to eat breakfast at the hotel. It was advertised everywhere but it wasn't until after we ate that we realized that it was €18,00 per person - a little steep for yogurt a croissant and a cup of tea! Also, the view out of our window to the street was looking out on a series of strip clubs, which wasn't wonderful. The room was clean though (but small), but comfortable, shower tiny, and location alright. The staff were kind and efficient and made it a pleasant stay. Wifi internet was a little pricey, and it kept cutting out and I had to log back in all the time (we were blogging from the road so this was important to us). So it isn't a terrible hotel by any stretch, but I think next time I am in Munich I will look to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: a room not overlooking the street/strip clubs would be nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lysmekah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STDI, Manager at KING's HOTEL First Class, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Dear guest,
thank you for staying in our KING´s HOTEL First Class and for sending the review. We are pleased that you are satisfied with our hotel and the service.
Concerning the breakfast price we would like to let you know that we offer two breakfast types: we offer a large American breakfast buffet for EUR 17,00 per person or we offer an early bird breakfast for EUR 6,50 per person with coffee, confiture, bread/croissant.
Concerning the view: we also offer rooms to our quiet courtyard, the KING´s club rooms, maybe you can try this category next time.
We hope to welcome you again and thank you again for choosing KING´s HOTEL First Class.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

While the neighborhood is, uh, less charming than other parts of Munich, the hotel itself was clean and located close enough to the Hauptbahnhof to make getting around Munich pretty easy.

The great staff make it even easier, not only friendly, they were particularly helpful, even printing out a schedule of trains going to Salzburg for me to help me plan my day. And they also speak English well.

The bar made a convenient and enjoyable spot to meet up with a friend of mine before going out to check out the various beer halls.

Room was good sized, enough plugs, comfortable bed, Nespresso machine.

All in all a nice place and a good value for the money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perducci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel in March and had a suite which included a living room, bathroom and bedroom. I booked this online through LastMinute.com and got the suite with breakfast for the same price as a standard room. The suite was lovely, lots of space, big wardrobe, big bed with a wooden canopy over. The beds were quite hard - which i welcomed. Sometimes in hotels the beds are a bit too soft! Decor is classic 'olde worlde' - oil paintings on the walls, heavy wooden furniture, wall lights and dark red/black carpet. The suite also included slippers, dressing gowns and a Nespresso Machine for coffee (no provision for tea). Breakfast was excellent - a choice of cereals, bacon, scrambled eggs, hot waffles, sausages, beans, assorted pastries, selection of meats and cheeses, and a range of different breads. There is a room called the 'relaxanum' which guests have access to - comprising a small sauna, heated seating and sun beds. We ventured in but were a bit disconcerted at finding two other guests wearing nothing but small towels. Our feedback to the hotel was that wearing bathing wear should be mandatory in the sauna!

On the whole a lovely elegent hotel.

However, there is a bit of a downside. Whilst the hotel itself is lovely the area that it is in is what I would describe as slightly 'dodgy'. By this i mean that there is a 'gentleman's' club over the road and quite a large group of drunk people seem to congregate nearby on a daily basis, drinking from early morning until late at night. Whilst we did not have any hassle from this group, who mostly seemed to keep to themselves, walking past them was a bit initimidating to begin with.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the building so there was a bit of noise from the trams that passed di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbie096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
KING's HOTEL Center
KING's HOTEL Center
#51 of 385 in Munich
1,165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#39 of 385 in Munich
1,238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#12 of 385 in Munich
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 385 in Munich
1,703 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#40 of 385 in Munich
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KING's HOTEL First Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KING's HOTEL First Class

Address: Dachauer Str. 13, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Munich
#19 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#42 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#57 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £83 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — KING's HOTEL First Class 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KING's HOTEL First Class uniquely combines the charm of Bavarian royal tradition with the luxury of modern facilities. This privately owned and operated boutique hotel in the center of Munich offers individual service with a personal touch. Here every detail has been thoughtfully designed, created and selected with a lot of love. You'll encounter the special atmosphere of the 4-star hotel as soon as you step into the stylish lobby with historic wood paneling, ornate framed paintings, and magnificent chandeliers. The special KING's HOTELs style is everywhere, whether in the lovingly furnished rooms and suites, the cozy fireplace lounge with internet corner, or in the inviting hotel bar. All of which promises to be a unique experience for your vacation in Munich. We warmly welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your KING's HOTEL First Class reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Hotel 1st Class
Kings Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing