We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, clean and excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
KING's HOTEL First Class
Ranked #34 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, clean and excellent value for money”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I wouldn't normally stay in a hotel of this sort, as I normally like modern hotels. But this hotel surprised me. The rooms were excellent value for money and the staff were incredibly friendly! It is just a short walk away from town and the Augustiner Keller beer garden is just around the corner. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemmagrdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    485
    104
    24
    15
See reviews for
152
478
60
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Everything about this hotel is excellent. The location is very close to the stations, bus, train,and underground and within walking distance of the centre of the city. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated,spotlessly clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet has everything fresh and in plentiful supply. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it to everyone. We could not fault it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellcgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We chose this hotel because of nearness to Old Town and other local attractions. The area was a little shabby and a few 'drinkers' in the local park which we walked through on several occasions. However this was never cause for concern.

The hotel was attractive, the staff very friendly and helpful, the breakfast, great in array of choices and very tasty.. breakfast staff very attentive and helpful

The room was roomy, air con worked very well, bathroom fit for purpose (strange that the 'shower door' on bath didn't extend to where the shower head was (small criticism only). Most importantly the bed was very comfortable. Free Wifi worked well.

I would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Good value for money and very helpful staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Our room was much larger than any other we have ever stayed in in Europe. Very nice furnishings and plenty of storage space for a multi-day stay. The hotel was VERY convenient to the main train station which made getting around the city extremely easy. The neighborhood was typical for location so close to the train station, but we felt safe overall. Considering the quality of the furnishings, size and location, I was pleasantly surprised by the reasonable cost of the room for a large city.

We purposely booked a "courtyard" room, which was actually a parking lot room, but it was quiet over all. This was a good thing as the air conditioning was not working during our stay, so we did open the window. The hotel staff also provided a fan within minutes of our reporting that the AC did not work.

My only complaint would be the cost of the breakfast. I misunderstood the person checking us in that I heard say that breakfast was "8 Euros" when in fact it was 18 Euros. The breakfast selection was HUGE and included scrambled eggs and bacon that I was craving after 10 days of bread/pretzels and cheese for breakfast. While 8 Euros was too good to be true for such a selection, $53 for breakfast was extreme. Buyer beware of the conversion rate.

There was a market right next door, so buying groceries for much cheaper breakfast, lunch, and still (non-carbonated) water was very convenient.

Overall Great Value.

Room Tip: Courtyard is a parking lot, but not very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woody Point, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Munich is a very pleasant city to visit, with wonderful buildings, galleries such as the Alte Pinakothek, and wonderful green spaces. King's First Class Hotel is well situated to access many of the attractions in the city. Its closeness to the central station is a real bonus. There was a problem with air conditioning on our second stay in the hotel, but staff were helpful in advising us of the progress of repairs, and in providing us with a fan to cool the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The room was good, wifi worked, bed comfy, air con worked and unlike previous review there was shampoo in my room. I ditch the coffee machine and add a kettle. The hotel is next to a grocery store handy for supplies.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was the buffet type and there was a good selection.

Location? Handy for the station and an easy walk into town. The area is a little down at heel but it was never threatening. The local down and outs just like to drink beer on the edge of the beer garden.

i'd stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

So glad this hotel is so close to the central train station! Very welcoming reception. A/C did work well, though it did not cool the rooms quickly. By the time we woke up, it was very cold in the room. Breakfast was very good and has many things for anybody's taste (waffles, eggs, bacon, fruit, meat, cereal, muesli, pastries, yogurt, cappuccino/tea/coffee, juices, water, etc.). Even though it's near some dodgy things (a gentleman's club, etc.), we felt safe the entire time, even walking around at night, which we did each night after many beers at random biergartens. Next door is a grocery for bottled water, etc. Two complaints: 1) the step-down out of the shower is big, so be careful--my husband almost slipped/fell twice!; and 2) the hotel doesn't provide conditioner--which is fine since I rarely use hotel-provided shampoo/conditioner, but this time I actually needed it--so bring your own!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMULawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
KING's HOTEL Center
KING's HOTEL Center
#51 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#39 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#7 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
0.4 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KING's HOTEL First Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KING's HOTEL First Class

Property: KING's HOTEL First Class
Address: Dachauer Str. 13, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Munich
#20 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#42 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#57 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — KING's HOTEL First Class 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KING's HOTEL First Class uniquely combines the charm of Bavarian royal tradition with the luxury of modern facilities. This privately owned and operated boutique hotel in the center of Munich offers individual service with a personal touch. Here every detail has been thoughtfully designed, created and selected with a lot of love. You'll encounter the special atmosphere of the 4-star hotel as soon as you step into the stylish lobby with historic wood paneling, ornate framed paintings, and magnificent chandeliers. The special KING's HOTELs style is everywhere, whether in the lovingly furnished rooms and suites, the cozy fireplace lounge with internet corner, or in the inviting hotel bar. All of which promises to be a unique experience for your vacation in Munich. We warmly welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your KING's HOTEL First Class reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Hotel 1st Class
Kings Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing