We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whery fancy italian restaurant with high tech ordering”
Review of La Baracca Munich - CLOSED

La Baracca Munich
Price range: US$9 - US$72
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Whery fancy italian restaurant with high tech ordering”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This restaurant is sophisticated and located in the very downtown of Munich, right where it used to be a Ferrari showrom, round about 2 years ago when i have visited Munich.
It's fancy inside and outside and it's my first time i oder everything on a tablet. I liked the fact that you can go with your card which you receive at the entrance and where all your food will be billed at the end, and had the chance to use the card for tasting different wines from all over Italy.The service it's fast and the food it's realy good and tasty. Nice atmosphere and nice people around. I liked the shrimps they were fresh and cleaned accordingly. The dessert was good but not excellent.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CristinaC294458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    51
    31
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big spacious venue with great food and service”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We had lunch here and from the Omar on the door,floor staff and manager everyone was so friendly, engaging and knowledgable. I will add photos next time, but just to say that the food was great and even though it is a big restaurant it is nicley sectioned so we had a feeling we were in nice small, cosy place. Until I went to toilet and realised how big it is.
Highly reccommended

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Muppetinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and tech in ordering”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The first thing you notice is that you are handed a computer card upon entry. Next you wonder what are those iPad-like things in the center of the table? Oh, they ARE iPads.

The card allows the diner to use any iPad to order food and drink by placing it on an icon on the table. The menu is flexible and on the tablet. Orders are small sized so you order until you are satisfied. Let me tell you the food is quite satisfying too!

I had the Pizza Marguerite, lasagne, a fine beer and some lemonade but the have many fine wines by the glass and plenty of nice looking salads and deserts.

All in all a very nice experience!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vidiot293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAMPSHIRE, UK
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent new concept idea for eating and drinking”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

La Baracca offers a different way to eat and drink, which many of us would not have experienced. We have been waiting to come over to Munich, excited at the prospect of enjoying a day or evening here. We were certainly not dissappointed...

The outside looks good, the inside looks very good! And so to eat & drink... when you arrive you are given a card which serves as your "running bill".
Each table has a couple of iPads. You place your card on the Ipad and start to order. Naturally, if it's your first visit, there are very good staff here who will explain what you do and what is available. Basically the iPad lists everything, food and drink and you can see the food too. Simply click to order and when it is ready it will arrive! This will be different to many people used to the traditional courses "system" and eating each course together. To overcome this, you can simply order 1 dish at a time, when you are ready. A lot of the food can be described as not just italian, but Mediterranen Tapas-style, with some great new tastes too. If you like wine, you have a great opportunity here to try various wines. I've never seen this before. From little tasters, to a glass.
The sun was shining and we sat outside. The atmosphere last weekend (Champions League Final on Saturday evening) was very good. The place was "buzzing" from mid-afternoon.
My wife and I enjoyed a wide selection of dishes, including a fantastic dessert.
We decided that this was the place to enjoy the Cup Final and returned in the evening...
I can only say that this is one of THE places to be in Munich, a hip, trendy restaurant.
We ordered a little food, and then drinks, when required. Just brilliant, click the button on the iPad and soon a beer arrives - no waiting to get the attention of waiting staff!
The restaurant was packed and the atmosphere electric all night. Hassa is an excellent Manager, always ensuring that his customers are happy - a difficult job when it is so busy.
Thank you Hassa for making us feel so welcome - we really enjoyed our visit.

To summarise, when you visit, be patient and try to understand the "new" concept. The food is similar to Tapas - quite small in portions, but then reasonable prices. You get to sample different foods, wines, and beers. We loved it. Hope they open in London in the near future!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DJCOTTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edessa, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“''Nicely decorated place, nice food, creative idea of serving''”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Pros:
• Creative idea of i-ordering (worth to experience at least once).
• Nice cuisine.
• Great pastries (Splendid Tiramisu and PannaCotta).
• Nicely decorated place.

Cons:
• A bit overpriced place.
• Small portions.
• All customers were dressed properly, but without a particular reason if I were to say!!! So be prepared. But even if you don’t, I wouldn’t consider it an issue.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Baracca Munich also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing