We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME”

Museum Mensch und Natur
Ranked #90 of 312 things to do in Munich
Attraction details
Split, Splitsko-Dalmatinska, Croatia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

I'm 14 and I was there when I was 10. It was a great experience, fee is low, museum is awesome!!!!! It is interesting and it brings good memories and you actually learn a lot from it, I'd definitely reccomend it to anyone <3

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank dora4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    23
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Go here with kids only”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

I live in Munich. we go here at least once a year.

You visit Castle "Scloss" Nymphenburg and have Kids? After or before you finished looking at it go to the Museum Mensch und Natur.

It is in a side part of the Castle, only approx 100 Meters from the main entrance. Your Child or Children should be between 5 to 13/14

It takes about 1 to 3 houres, depending on how long you want to spend at the indivdual exhibitions. Here you can leant a lot about the earth

You will learn about the earths coming into existance with cristals, stones etc
You will see how the body functions
Which seed belongs to which tree or flower
Which animal is active at night,which eats what etc
Very educating

All of this is presented in riddles and games.

The place is quite alive and interactive. There are quite some audios and you can touch and experience things.

No kids? Go there if it is raining. Otherwise I would rather walk the garden of the castle.

There is a little restaurant in the ground floor. Not worth going though.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Familie_unterwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrboro, NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great museum... If you know German”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

This looked like a really interesting museum that would be great for kids. There were exhibits about geology, the history of the earth, evolution, and modern genetics. And they clearly went to great pains to make it a place where kids could learn things without getting bored without "dumbing down" the exhibits so much that adults wouldn't get anything out of it.

The one big problem when I visited was that all the signs and exhibits were in German. I have some knowledge of German, but I'm far from fluent, so I could only get the basic gist of most of the displays. This was unfortunate, because I'm sure it would have been an interesting museum if I had been able to understand the signs and displays. However, I'm forced to give it an average rating at the moment. I would recommend this museum to anyone with an interest in science museums and knowledge of German, but I would not recommend the museum to anyone who does not speak German.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank EDBair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Go see this it gives you a real feel of Bavarian history and culture, and culture and history is what Germany is about

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Aussiechef40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Yes ... Go there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My children were enthousiastic after the visit and this means a lot! Great museum about us, the humans, the environment, the nature and planet Earth. More english labelling is necessary to upgrade further the place. A must visit in Munich!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank August1968_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum Mensch und Natur also viewed

 

Been to Museum Mensch und Natur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing