We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a cookie cutter, yet Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Munich City East
Ranked #40 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Carmel, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a cookie cutter, yet Marriott”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

If you care about quality bedding, value good breakfast and like new fixtures in freshly done bathroom this is your choice. Those who is pleased to hear English as expected form of communication after whole day of German dominated surroundings will find this place relaxing.
It is a nice hotel, although it is better than just an hotel. Rooms are offering a kichenette with fridge, so you can do your own meals if you are into it. In other words, this hotel should be a higher shade of 4-star.
A few things to complain. Sauna is new, but it does not have a rest area. I am not talking about a massage bed, the chaires are absent and even room is not afforded.
Location is not central, Ostbahnhof is not across the street, at least half a mile walking required. I suggest to purchase a 3-day ticket for train/tram/bus for those who do not use taxi as a primary form of transportation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 94now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    172
    33
    7
    6
See reviews for
183
108
14
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
105 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I was in transit in Munich for one night and was looking for a comfortable hotel under 200 Euros. I chose the Residence Inn. It is about a 15 ride from Hauptbahnhof (Central Station) and located adjacent to the Courtyard by Marriott. Note that if you have a car the main traffic circle of the hotel is probably some 20 meters from the entrance of the hotel, which as I arrived late was confusing to me.

Rooms were clean, comfortable, and are accurately pictured on this website and others so I will not give a lengthy description of furnishings. I will note that beds are comfortable, coffee and tea making facilities functioned well, internet signal was of average quality. Water pressure in the bathrooms was comfortable.

I arrived with heavy cases so I was disappointed not to have porter service available or offered to me. The hotel was quiet and staff generally friendly and helpful.

At nearly 200 Euros per night the hotel is certainly not cheap but comparing to other 4 star offerings in Munich I was pleased with the quality of room and service I received.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twainandwhitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
413 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed here as we wanted one room plus a sofa bed and hence the Residence rather than the Courtyard. This hotel ended up being perfect. Just a few hundred meteres down the road was the metro and three stops away from the centra which is fabulous to walk around.
The beds were very confortable but typical for a Marriott.
Whaty surprised us the most was the choice and quality at Breakfast. Something we experience at the normal Marriott and this was on par. Frankly a much better value/location that the main Marriott for visiting the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PFTraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayhan_Kilit-GM, Manager at Residence Inn Munich City East, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We would be pleased to welcome you again at the Residence Inn Munich.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This hotel have really good locations. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Rooms are big enough and very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is tasty.
Next time in Munchen i probably will stay at this place again.
"Danke" to the hotel management.

Room Tip: its a apartment hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoweAis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayhan_Kilit-GM, Manager at Residence Inn Munich City East, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihr Gästekommentar. Wir freuen uns, dass es Ihnen in unserem Haus gefallen hat. Herzliche Grüße aus München
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The Residence Inn by Marriott is located 2 blocks from an S-bahn station. Within 3 stops, you are in the heart of Munich, Marienplatz. Samuel at the front desk is extremely helpful in answering questions about the area as well as providing excellent customer service. The restaurant (Cafe Max) is expensive, but this is Munich and it was during the December holiday, so no surprise there. Note: while the front desk has excellent currency conversion rates, they are only allowed to change out $100/room into euros. Our room was clean, comfortable, and quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uchitel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayhan_Kilit-GM, Manager at Residence Inn Munich City East, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for staying at our hotel. We do appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with our team. We would be pleased about welcoming you again at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Residence Inn is a studio apartment with hotel facilities. It is a spacious room with a small kitchenette (comes with full kitchen facility - dish washer, refridgerator, complete utensils). The room looks new with very classy furnishing. It comes with ironing board and iron in the room, a queen size bed and a sofa bed. The room is big enough for 4 persons. The breakfast is great with lots of variety. It is definitely a home while being away from home.

Definitely a good choice if traveling as a family. It is spacious enough to feel like staying in a studio apartment.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjolynn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayhan_Kilit-GM, Manager at Residence Inn Munich City East, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear guests,Tthank your for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in one of our spacious and comfortable Residence Inn guest rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I was surprise that there was a Residence Inn in eastern Munich. It is a little difficult to reach the location if you're not familiar with the roads. But it is within walking distance of local trains/subway/bus routes. The room was clean and comfortable. The lighting was uniquely different to turn on. The amenities are great value (breakfast, internet, exercise facility).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayhan_Kilit-GM, Manager at Residence Inn Munich City East, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Thank you for you comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We are Europe´s first Residence Inn beside alongside a Courtyard by Marriott. In the spacious rooms especially long-time traveler feel at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Munich City East
Courtyard Munich City East
#124 of 383 in Munich
483 reviews
3.1 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#65 of 383 in Munich
1,186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Munich City Center
0.9 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#50 of 383 in Munich
2,542 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#80 of 383 in Munich
2,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Munich City East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Munich City East

Property: Residence Inn Munich City East
Address: Orleansstr. 81-83, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Munich City East 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Munich City East is located in the lively Munich Haidhausen district, just a 3-minute walk away from Munich Ostbahnhof and close to several shops, restaurants and bars. It takes only 7 minutes to Munich downtown, 10 minutes to the trade fair and 25 minutes to Munich Airport. Underground parking is available. The hotel offers 125 spacious and air-conditioned studios with fully equipped kitchen with stove, dishwasher and refrigerator, free Internet, complimentary continental breakfast and a generous living, dining and working area for a comfortable long stay in Munich. Residence Inn features a library and living room, a conference room for spontaneous meetings, a kid's corner, a business center, laundry room and a 24/7 Grab'n Go market in the lobby with snacks, frozen food and beverages. Residence Inn by Marriott is designed to help extended-stay business travelers to thrive on long stays - your home away from home in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Munich City East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing