We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic breakfast, courteous staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Munich City East
Ranked #46 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Vicenza, Veneto, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast, courteous staff”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

If you want to be walking distance from city center: this is not the place to stay. But, it is with and walking distance of the train station and the rooms and breakfast were impeccable. If you are passing through the city this is the place to stay. The staff were very friendly.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilmar0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    172
    33
    7
    6
See reviews for
183
108
14
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This hotel was one of the best on our tour. The airline lost our luggage and the hotel staff were very sympathetic and helpful in trying to track down our belongings.

The room itself was also very nice, very clean with nice fittings and accessories.

This hotel also had the best breakfast on our little tour.

The hotel is quite conveniently located and it's only a short train ride to marienplatz

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed here as part of planned trip to Oktoberfest. It was very reasonably priced (by Munich standards and the fact that it was during Oktoberfest).

It is located only a 8-10 minute walk from the Ostbahnhof station. The S-Bahn and U-Bahn lines were very convenient!

The lobby was warm and inviting. The staff was wonderful and truly seemed to enjoy working there.

The rooms were spacious enough with a surprisingly comfortable sleeper sofa. Bed linens were luxurious and bath linens were plush. The amenities (soap, shampoo, conditioner, etc.) were very nice.

Power outlets were plentiful and the free internet connection was relatively fast.

Room finishes were modern and furnishings were typical European --- that is to say, nicely appointed.

The room provided a good view of the main road, but the sound insulation was fantastic as I never heard any traffic noise.

The breakfast selection was awesome --- and very much appreciated after indulging in all that Oktoberfest has to offer!

If I had another occasion to stay in Munich again, I would definitely consider this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank texasjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

a good room with a practical kitchenette (a must if you have a baby), great staff, very kind manager. 3 stops to marienplatz with sbahn, and only 5 minutes and 10 euros with a taxi. excellent restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barisbezel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here during Oktoberfest to be a little bit away from the crazy party areas and be able to get decent sleep. The rooms facing the courtyard were very quiet and had nice large bathrooms. The breakfast had a huge spread that was a great start to the day. The location is a short walk from the munich east train station, with very frequent trains into the main part of the city across the river. We would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kupula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a very nice hotel with big clean rooms. The free breakfast is very good and they have free internet in the rooms, which I liked a lot.
There are some issues though. The hotel is a bit out of the way from pretty much everything in the city you want to see, including Oktoberfest. It's about a 10 minute walk to the subway though. The biggest thing that I didn't like though was the front dest. It is understaffed and several times I had to wait quite a while to speak with them. When I did talk to them, one of the employees was rather rude and didn't know hardly anything about how to do her job. She started making excuses about doing her job and tried to make me feel bad for trying to use a gift card to pay for the room. Her manager finally had to take over for her because she couldn't do anything. Finally, they put a hold of over $1000 on my credit card for over a week and my credit card got denied while I was on vacation because of this. Very irritating.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here last week for 4 days of Oktoberfest and Munich sight-seeing.

1.) Location: A short 10/15 minute walk from the Ostbanhoff which connects quite well to the S-bahn and U-bahn. Seemingly safe neighborhood. I did not try out any restaurants nearby but there were a few in immediate vicinity.

2) Room? The room was very spacious, modern, and up-to-date.

3) Amenities: The breakfast provided was the best of our European trip. All the local German options: excellent meats, breads, pretzels, sausages. Additional choices for the Brit or American with eggs, bacon, beans, etc.

4) Staff: A very friendly staff. My girlfriend was sick one morning and really needed some food. They were very accommodating for me to take a plate from the breakfast room up to her so she could recharge. It helped save the morning for us.

I would stay here again and look forward to it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Munich City East
Courtyard Munich City East
#123 of 383 in Munich
486 reviews
3.1 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#64 of 383 in Munich
1,186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Munich City Center
0.9 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#51 of 383 in Munich
2,546 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#79 of 383 in Munich
2,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Munich City East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Munich City East

Property: Residence Inn Munich City East
Address: Orleansstr. 81-83, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Munich City East 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Munich City East is located in the lively Munich Haidhausen district, just a 3-minute walk away from Munich Ostbahnhof and close to several shops, restaurants and bars. It takes only 7 minutes to Munich downtown, 10 minutes to the trade fair and 25 minutes to Munich Airport. Underground parking is available. The hotel offers 125 spacious and air-conditioned studios with fully equipped kitchen with stove, dishwasher and refrigerator, free Internet, complimentary continental breakfast and a generous living, dining and working area for a comfortable long stay in Munich. Residence Inn features a library and living room, a conference room for spontaneous meetings, a kid's corner, a business center, laundry room and a 24/7 Grab'n Go market in the lobby with snacks, frozen food and beverages. Residence Inn by Marriott is designed to help extended-stay business travelers to thrive on long stays - your home away from home in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Munich City East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing