We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good All Round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Munich City East
Ranked #46 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
BLACK ISLE, SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good All Round”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just returned from a four night business stay. Friendly, helpful, knowledgeable front desk staff. Clean , bright, well maintained hotel with excellent studio rooms. Fast, reliable free WiFi. Safes in rooms ( not charged for ). Immaculate kitchen area in room. Immaculate bathrooms, great showers. Excellent breakfast with fantastic choice of fresh, well prepared, quality food. Five minutes walk from Ostbahnhof rail station giving fast, cheap and regular access to anywhere you care to go in the greater Munich area. Would not look anywhere else if returning to Munich in next few months as Residence does it all perfectly well.

Room Tip: Comfort studios offer best value between facilities and cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HHC022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    172
    33
    7
    6
See reviews for
183
108
14
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed here 4 nights and is great as to location. Train station only a few blocks & can literally walk to city center. Many great restaurants within walking distance.
Staff was extremely helpful.... Was able to exchange US dollars to Euro and a great breakfast included in the morning. Internet worked great for me and was free. Bar had happy hour specials every night....cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hangnitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
647 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 498 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Spent 3 nights here on Marriott points as a Platinum Premier member. We were in Munich for a BMW European Delivery and the location of this hotel was very good. The station is Ostbahnhof which is a secondary train station to Hauptbahnhof. You can get here on the U or S Bahns. When you arrive at Ostbahnhof, you take the main entrance exit and you turn right and the hotel is on the left about a 7 min walk.

We tried a great pizza place behind the hotel. It was always packed. Make a reservation if you can. The pasta and pizza are both very good. Food is fresh.

As for the room - it was very functional. We were on the 4th floor - room 4028. There was a sofa, a small kitchen. The bathroom had a stand up shower, no tub but we prefer showers.

Breakfast is included and it is buffet. The restaurant is shared with the Courtyard. There is a good spread - eggs, hash browns, different kinds of breads, ham, a nice coffee machine that makes great coffee, juice.

As a Platinum Premier member, I got a candy bar and a bottle of soda. For the amenity gift, I chose 2 bottles of water because there isn't a lounge and there isn't complimentary water. WIFI was complimentary. It was fast-no complaints there.

The bed was a little hard but I still got a good night's sleep.

I would definitely stay at this property again for its convenience and clean rooms.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PandaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
228 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Spent one night in the hotel in a business trip. Pleasant stay for a few hours overnight and reasonable breakfast.

One thing that really bothers me about many hotels is when they charge a lot for Internet access and the performance is terrible. It was practically useless

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank brozas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed on 12/21/2014. We went back to stay 12/23-25.
Close to subway stations and other public transportation. Several bars are nearby.
There are ample spaces besides adequate room for sofa bed. Comparing with other European hotels (usually very small room), we felt that it is similar size to hotels in US. Great breakfast (esp. Munich-style Bavarian sausage, freshly baked Bavarian breads).
Receptionists are very kind and accommodating. For example, Hanna Kugland is the kindest receptionist I ever met. She always greeted us with nice big smile. On the first night, we did not have any coin as we only have 100 bill. She personally went to a neighbor hotel to change our big bill to coins. She is awesome!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SantaKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emirate of Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
176 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here with our children over Xmas and the hotel came as advertised. The rooms are a good size and fully functional with a fridge, stove/hot burner, microwave, desk, sofa etc. We had inter-connecting rooms with our children so it worked out great. Staff is kind and very helpful for getting around and providing local advice. Large breakfast selection was included in the rate. The breakfast area shares off of both Marriott's which are adjacent to one another and if the seating area is full you can cross over to use the other room.

Free wifi throughout, and a 5 minute walk from the Ost Banhof Station which is only a few stops into central Munich and the main shopping area. The hotel can sell you a subway card if you need it.

The neighborhood behind the hotel has a lot of local restaurants and bars which make for a nice option, especially if you want to get away from the tourist scene.

The room rates and what you get make this a fantastic bargain in Munich. Highly recommended.

Tip: When you exit the train station on the right-hand corner there is a Lidl store which sells everything food-wise. We would buy water, beer, fruit and munchies to take back to the hotel to enjoy after a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DRNJ1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We read the reviews and decided to give this hotel a try. It was the 1st stop of our honeymoon, we stayed at Residence Inn City Ost in order to pickup our new car at BMW Welt. I used points/rewards for the stay. Simply put, we are very impressed. This is coming from a Hilton Diamond member.

- extremely clean and modern hotel with friendly and well trained staff
- mini suite is very useful. This hotel is perfect for week long stays.
- breakfast is top notch. I would even rate it a bit better than Hiltons. Although very similar.
- did I mention the entire hotel is very clean?

Negatives:
- This was the only hotel that did not recognize our honeymoon. I think a couple bar of chocolate would've made my wife extremely happy.
- 8 minutes walk to Ost station. Okay okay I am nitpicking here.

Seriously this hotel is extremely high on value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Munich City East
Courtyard Munich City East
#123 of 383 in Munich
485 reviews
3.1 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#64 of 383 in Munich
1,186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Munich City Center
0.9 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#51 of 383 in Munich
2,546 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#79 of 383 in Munich
2,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Munich City East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Munich City East

Property: Residence Inn Munich City East
Address: Orleansstr. 81-83, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Munich City East 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Munich City East is located in the lively Munich Haidhausen district, just a 3-minute walk away from Munich Ostbahnhof and close to several shops, restaurants and bars. It takes only 7 minutes to Munich downtown, 10 minutes to the trade fair and 25 minutes to Munich Airport. Underground parking is available. The hotel offers 125 spacious and air-conditioned studios with fully equipped kitchen with stove, dishwasher and refrigerator, free Internet, complimentary continental breakfast and a generous living, dining and working area for a comfortable long stay in Munich. Residence Inn features a library and living room, a conference room for spontaneous meetings, a kid's corner, a business center, laundry room and a 24/7 Grab'n Go market in the lobby with snacks, frozen food and beverages. Residence Inn by Marriott is designed to help extended-stay business travelers to thrive on long stays - your home away from home in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Munich City East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing