We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Residence Inn so it's like staying at an apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Munich City East
Ranked #37 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Fremont, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Residence Inn so it's like staying at an apartment”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed for 5 nights with 3 adults. I think it was a good choice especially for the price staying as long as we did. Since it is a residence Inn it has a kitchen, but the more important thing is for staying 5 nights or longer they only come to clean the rooms twice a week which you can schedule. So keep that in mind.

The breakfast was very good. I'm glad I chose this hotel for 5 nights and was able to experience the breakfast there. It would have been disastrous if the food wasn't good like some of the other hotels we stayed at on the trip. But no it was great with a lot of variety to choose from.

Room was smaller than what you see in the US but that is to be expected in Europe. With the sofabed down there was not much room to navigate around. It was a very modern looking room, out of an Ikea catalog so it was nice. Only weird thing was the hallway outside had a strange smell but the room itself was fine.

The staff at the front desk was very friendly when we had to ask questions. We did use the self serve laundry and yes it is expensive and you want to make sure you don't mess up and waste a 4 euro coin. I also had to park a car for 3 nights, and at 20euros its a alot. But it is an underground well lit secure parking lot which was great. WiFi was free but only three devices per room which took a bit of juggling for my family.

Location was great. We came from Venice and our Eurocity train stopped at the Munich Ostbahnhof train station which was a pleasant surprise. I was thinking I would have to go all the way to Munich Hauptbahnhof. The Ostbahnhof is about a 5-10min walk and we did this every day while in Munich. The station has food and markets around it so it's a perfect place to be if you have an extended stay in Munich.

I would definitely stay here again if traveling again to Munich

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stp80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    176
    34
    7
    6
See reviews for
188
108
14
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights with wife and 2 kids. Have stayed in a number of residence inns while travelling in the states so interesting to compare.
Pros
Excellent location near ostbanhof and easy to travel around munich.
Breakfast was superb - probably best we've had at a residence inn.
Staff were friendly and helpful
Beds were comfortable
Room was spotlessly clean.
Some nice restaurants and Bars nearby

Cons
Smaller rooms than North America but well appointed
Bar area in residence inn not used so you have to go next door to courtyard for a beer.
Very expensive laundry room - 4 euros per wash cycle and 4 euros per dry cycle. If you open the door to check the washing then it requires another 4 euros!
No kids menu in max restaurant.

All in all we had a great few days at the residence inn in munich and would thoroughly recommend.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank BrightonSeagullfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

No place to pull in, in front of the lobby "residence inn" to check in. Courtyard Inn comes right before the residence inn and they ask you to pull in there but since that is not intuitive, if you miss, you have to circle several blocks to return. Bad design. While checkout, you have to drag the cart all the way to the courtyard, unload and bring back.

Only QUEEN size beds in entire property. However, they do have sofa beds.

Although the hotel staff was friendly, they never pick up the phone if you call from the room. and when requested to email bill, they billed a scanned upside down copy of a subset of the bill.

Rooms themselves are alright and the breakfast was amazing. Rest, for one night stay it served the purpose for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1worldtraveller06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked a room but decided to upgrade to a suite. It was very big and spacious. Room staff was great. Very close to Ostbanhoff. Breakfast has a wide variety but it was very full. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We celebrated our Wedding Anniversary and they made it special.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eeyore707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Only 2 yrs old, this hotel is like a small apt with full service kitchenette, downstairs self laundry, and modern decor. Martin, the desk clerk was very helpful and it was clear he enjoyed his job. This is within 2 blocks of bus and train transit. Breakfast is very good and quite a varied selection. This was the perfect resting point for us after a week long river cruise. Just wished I had stayed few more days in Munich as there is so much to see

Room Tip: We overlooked the front street which was nice to watch the ped traffic but not a great view. Lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChixRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Quick walk to the metro. A full breakfast w/ everything you could want! The front desk clerk(Martin) was very polite, and gave us great advice on how to buy a metro ticket, and great local restaurants besides the Hofbrauhaus. He also gave us some tips for driving to Berchetsgaden.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stay here for one night.
good size room in Europe standard, great American style breakfast, good location to OST U station, about 35 mins ride to airport. good wifi. Outside the OST station on the left, there's outdoor beer/food marketplace which open until 9pm. Most shop close by 6pm I think, actually not much shop u can look around in this neighborhood. Will come back here next time, use it as base for touring Muchen.
the only downside is the bed bit softer than I get used to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuLu4472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Munich City East
Courtyard Munich City East
#119 of 382 in Munich
490 reviews
3.1 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#67 of 382 in Munich
1,199 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
0.7 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 382 in Munich
676 reviews
3.7 mi away
angelo by Vienna House Munich Westpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Munich City East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Munich City East

Property: Residence Inn Munich City East
Address: Orleansstr. 81-83, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Munich City East 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Munich City East is located in the lively Munich Haidhausen district, just a 3-minute walk away from Munich Ostbahnhof and close to several shops, restaurants and bars. It takes only 7 minutes to Munich downtown, 10 minutes to the trade fair and 25 minutes to Munich Airport. Underground parking is available. The hotel offers 125 spacious and air-conditioned studios with fully equipped kitchen with stove, dishwasher and refrigerator, free Internet, complimentary continental breakfast and a generous living, dining and working area for a comfortable long stay in Munich. Residence Inn features a library and living room, a conference room for spontaneous meetings, a kid's corner, a business center, laundry room and a 24/7 Grab'n Go market in the lobby with snacks, frozen food and beverages. Residence Inn by Marriott is designed to help extended-stay business travelers to thrive on long stays - your home away from home in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Munich City East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing