We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for Family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Munich City East
Ranked #40 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel for Family”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I travelled with wife and 8 and 11 year old kids. I stayed here in a family room which had double and two single beds with kitchenette to cook own food.
I was the best deal I had during my Europe trip; Ofcourse the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj_Vandana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    172
    33
    7
    6
See reviews for
183
108
14
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Well, this is one of those hotels that you would not remember once leave it. The rooms are well appointed but is quite a stretch for more than 2 people, even though it was advertised as a room for 4. The wifi in the hotel did not work properly for most of the time. The staff were pleasant but not outstanding. The breakfast was probably the best feature. The location is quite good, about 5 min walk from a well connected subway station and within shouting distance of quite a few very nice restaurants. In summary not a bad place but don't expect anything out of the ordinary.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeSinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We only stayed here one night (well almost) we were travelling from Munich to Austria and thought a stay over would be good so we could see a bit of the city the next day. Our flight was delayed by half an hour and then the transfer from the airport was also late which meant that instead of getting to the hotel at 10pm it was after 11pm, which would have been ok if there had been a room ready for us. I had booked a family room, and then emailed to check that it was for 2 adults and 2 children but when we arrived we only one room for two adults, it then took until 12.30am to sort out a room so for a stay of 11 and half hours and two very tired kids, it can only be ok!

On the upside the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAMEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Very happy overall with our 4 night stay at the Residence Inn, Munich East.
The hotel is slightly out of the city centre but has excellent transport links so this is not an issue. It is located a short 5 to 10 minutes walk from Munchen Ostbahnhof train station. From there the S bahn trains run every few minutes and it is only 3 stops into the City Centre (Mariensplatz). Alternatively, the regular No19 tram passes the hotel and the stop is much closer. We tended to use this, and although slower, has the advantage of letting you see more whilst you are travelling.
We ate in the Hotel Restaurant one evening and we must say we were very disappointed. The only Menu was a ‘World Cup Special’ and the choice was dreadfully restricted. We both struggled to even find something to order. The restaurant was under staffed and service was not very professional. No gratuity given that night, not something we do very often.
Breakfast was included and overall is pretty decent. Self service with good spread of both hot and cold items on offer. Think they could sort out their cutlery a bit as it was always provided in a paper ‘Max’ branded paper bag with a knife and fork. Depending on what you chose, sometimes you may require a clean/ additional knife or fork but this was not easy to source (or really should have been provided anyway). If you need say an additional fork, it was really annoying to be provided with yet another set in a bag.
Reception staff very good, mainly Martin we dealt with and he was always most helpful. Our room was on the third floor and faced the rear of the hotel so was very quiet. Very nice, very much as shown in the photos. Handy to have the kitchen features included, especially the fridge and we did eat in on the last evening.
Restaurant issues aside, overall an excellent stay and we would recommend for a stay in Munich.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We are a family of 4, and it was our first time in Munich. We were underwhelmed by the city itself, but one of the good points that made our trip worthwhile was this hotel. We had 1 queen sized bed, 1 sofa bed, a nespresso machine, stove, ref, microwave and dishwasher. The room was spotless, and towels were changed daily and room cleaned regularly. There's a gym for the health freaks, and there are 2 nearby playgrounds for those traveling with children. The service was impeccable. Lastly, we all loved MAX restaurant not just for the breakfast but also for the happy hour and the dinner menu. Nitpicking, I'd say the "market" is quite a letdown because it does not sell anything other than sweeties.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caca123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I used to always stay at the Hilton Munich City Center which has recently become over crowded and charges 25 Euro for daily internet. I was referred to this hotel and was pleasantly surprised at the size and quality of the rooms as well as the free wifi that is offered for guests. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The shower pressure and temperature was awesome, which is not an easy thing to find in European hotels. The kitchen that's in the room is a great perk which is also extremely rare outside fo the US. This will be my new go to hotel for trips to Europe!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpartyGirl888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hotel is great except for the fact that the internet is consistently very very slow. If you depend on internet for you job I would seriously think twice about staying here. Otherwise this is a great hotel.

Room Tip: Any room is great except very poor internet service outside of hotel's own business center compu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irv L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Munich City East
Courtyard Munich City East
#122 of 383 in Munich
485 reviews
3.1 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#65 of 383 in Munich
1,186 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Munich City Center
0.9 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#51 of 383 in Munich
2,542 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#81 of 383 in Munich
2,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Munich City East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Munich City East

Property: Residence Inn Munich City East
Address: Orleansstr. 81-83, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Munich City East 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Munich City East is located in the lively Munich Haidhausen district, just a 3-minute walk away from Munich Ostbahnhof and close to several shops, restaurants and bars. It takes only 7 minutes to Munich downtown, 10 minutes to the trade fair and 25 minutes to Munich Airport. Underground parking is available. The hotel offers 125 spacious and air-conditioned studios with fully equipped kitchen with stove, dishwasher and refrigerator, free Internet, complimentary continental breakfast and a generous living, dining and working area for a comfortable long stay in Munich. Residence Inn features a library and living room, a conference room for spontaneous meetings, a kid's corner, a business center, laundry room and a 24/7 Grab'n Go market in the lobby with snacks, frozen food and beverages. Residence Inn by Marriott is designed to help extended-stay business travelers to thrive on long stays - your home away from home in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Munich City East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing