We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen
Ranked #234 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Went there during oktoberfest the busiest time in munich. since we didn't find a triple room at a resonable price, we booked a double room with an extra bed. when we got there the girl at the reception told us that she would upgrade us to a suite with no extra charges. It was huge, a suite with 3 rooms, 2 bathrooms a kichinette. the breakfast was really good and diversified. the hotel is close to all the attractions. Having a church next to it was really nice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youssef C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three nights. The staff were wonderful - extremely helpful and welcoming. The room was nice and had a big deep bathtub - a rare luxury in Europe. It's about a 20 minute walk from the main Marienplatz but there are buses and subways close-by. There was no air conditioning so it got very very hot. The breakfast buffet was good but pretty standard. They have coffee, tea, pastries, and fruit available for free at all times. Overall, very nice place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlJess902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The hotel is located in a large square with very nice view on the church. It's near to the city center as well as to public transports. Our room was noisy as windows did not isolate enough from the street. Curtains did not make darkness in the room at all. The bed was comfortable. Floor carpeting and bathroom not very clean. The breakfast buffet was various and rich, with fresh food. The restaurant has a pleasant old fashioned style.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnaffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We have stayed at the hotel on previous occasions but due to our recent experience will absolutely not be going back again.

On the first leg of our holiday, my father had in an emergency suddenly been taken to hospital and we therefore had to cancel the 3 night stay we had booked. All other hotels we had booked on our trip were considerate and offered at least a partial refund of the cost due to the circumstances. However the Golden Leaf manager was incredibly rude and point-blank refused to discuss it, simply saying that it was tough luck with advance payments. The booking agency even offered to waive their fee and called the hotel to negotiate a small refund but was also told no. When I called to express my disappointment that repeat customers were treated in this way, I was told that the hotel received calls like this every day and could not be expected to react. I was also told that an attempt had been made to re-sell the rooms, although when I questioned the truthfulness of this, no argument was made.

If this is the way the hotel treats its existing customers, I dread to think how it is with first time visitors.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizLiz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden_Leaf_Hotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Lizliz100,

First of all we would like to apologize for all inconveniences which you have to suffer. We also thank you for sharing your experience.
We’ve discussed your complaint with the person responsible at the hotel and we’ve already send you a voucher with the 50% of total amount of your booking in our hotel.
Unfortunately you‘ve chosen our special not refundable rate, this offer cannot be changed or canceled, and in this case we cannot refund the whole amount.
We hope you will accept our apologies and give our hotel the opportunity to demonstrate our true capabilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Our stay couldn't have started worse: The staff incompetently "lost" our booking, though we've payed for it more than three months prior to our visit. Two members of the staff were digging heavily through their paper work, but no explanation to us about what was going on. 15 minutes later we were given a room.

If you travel by car, you should use their car park which is 9 Euros per night. Unfortunately the staff told us what place to occupy in the car park but our space was already used by somebody else which involved even more aggro.

Our room was perfectly pleasant, spaceous, supplied with a kettle, some tea, coffee and hot chocolate.

The attached restaurand and the beer garden are absolutely worth a visit. Food and drink are exceptionally good. We recommend not to book breakfast, since there is a very nice bakery in walking distance which serves enough food for half the price.

The hotel's location is very good.

Room Tip: The back of the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkfromGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Perfectly formed hotel within walking distance of the main drag and very close to the 'Deutches Museum' (The Science Museum). The room was facing the street but no problem as this seems to be a residential part of town. The staff were excellent, really helpful and very obliging at the moment of booking a taxi. A little gem is the restaurant attached to, but not part of, the hotel 'Schmausefalle'. It serves as an idyllic breakfast room with some the best scrambled eggs I've ever tasted and later, after pounding the streets, we had some excellent steaks there. The main draw-back was 'they' (the Hotel group) wanted to charge a fortune for wifi connection. The only two places on our 11 day tour that wanted to charge for wifi were in Munich.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This hotel is an excellent value and a rarity. It is located next to a brook that flows into the Isar River a half-mile away and is surrounded by many trees, so that it looks like the Alpine foothills. But it is only a five minute walk to the Deutsches Museum and a short stroll to the Munich City Hall and Ratskeller. The rooms are completely renovated and modern, but decorated with new handcrafted farmhouse style furniture. The restaurant is excellent, inexpensive and includes a large outdoor garden area. The hotel also has an indoor garage and is convenient if you have rented a car.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Max E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Mariahilf
Mariahilf
#245 of 385 in Munich
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum
1.1 mi away
Golden Leaf Parkhotel im Lehel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prinz
Hotel Prinz
#154 of 385 in Munich
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurbacher
Hotel Aurbacher
#259 of 385 in Munich
99 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brecherspitze Hotel
Brecherspitze Hotel
#277 of 385 in Munich
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen

Address: Mariahilfplatz 4, 81541 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £51 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restful night in the peaceful surroundings of the Golden Leaf Hotel Altmunchen in the city quarter Au, a cosy atmosphere and a sumptuous breakfast buffet which leaves nothing to be desired - a relaxing start to your day in Munich. The 3-star Golden Leaf Hotel Altmunchen is located in the centre of Munich, not far from the Isar and the Deutsches Museum, and is regarded as one of Munich's insider tips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Leaf Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing