We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, close to city cnter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen
Ranked #244 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, close to city cnter”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Nice little hotel. Good breakfast, free coffee/tea in lobby. The famous city fair - across the street. Marienplatz- 5 stops by bus (10 min). or 25 mins. by step.
Reasonable to for the conferences at Novotel or Holiday Inn Center (both hotels- only 5 mins. by step), but Golden Leaf is at least twice cheaper (and better).
Easy to reach from the Airport (direct S-Bahn train line 8 to Rosenheimer Pl. - 25 mins. - and 10 mins by step after).
And a little bottle of vine and a big bottle of mineral water every day as a greetings!
Perhaps, the only trouble - U-bahn or S-bahn nearest stations is 10 mins. by step (Rosenheimer Pl.).
And a rooms faced to Lepolstr. are a little bit noisy from the road.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VadimBelousov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    63
    48
    13
    9
See reviews for
26
56
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We enjoyed our week at this hotel. It is a traditional style 3 star hotel with comfortable, clean rooms. The reception staff were friendly and efficient. We did not take the breakfast buffet as we we visiting family nearby and ate with them. The restaurant attached to the hotel is traditionally bavarian with excellent local cuisine complete with a beer garden. It is run separately from the hotel so you cannot charge meals or drinks to your hotel room, which is a minor issue.

Room Tip: A side or rear room is quieter as the bells from the nearby church may disturb you in the mornings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DBDDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We booked a tripple room for ourselves & our son. When we arrived there was a double bed only. The receptionist advised there would be an extra bed for our teenage son when we returned at the end of the day.
The bed was a fold out squashed right next to ours with no room in-between. Our son is almost 6ft tall so he was uncomfortable for the entire 4 nights.
The bed my husband and I had however was very comfortable even though he was squashed next to a wall.
The window in our room was directly in front of a light so it was very bright right through the night.
Our son discovered we were in the room right above reception so we scored with free wifi. We would have had to pay if this was not discovered.
The bathroom was clean and functional.
We had a hire car but no where to park it so we were lucky we had friends who could take it and park it at their home each night.
Overall It was a nice hotel. Not sure I'd stay again though.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The hotel is a 2 minute walk to the bus stop that takes you directly to city center. The ride in to Marienplatz only takes 10 minutes. It's about a 20 minute, leisurely walk in. It's about 2 blocks from the Isar. I have to say the location is awesome. The rooms are traditional. People were friendly. I thought is was great for the money. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms should be good. Had one on the main street with no sound issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborahhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The beds were extremely comfortable and we had a great view of a bell tower right across the street. It was only about a 20 minute walk to the Hofbrauhaus. The staff was helpful and nice. Good value. We did not partake in the buffet, but it looked good. It was nice having complimentary wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phxstroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Our trip to Munich landed at an extremely busy time for the city is seemed, I think due to a conference running the following week. We struggled to find anywhere less than £100 per night which looked half decent. I didn't have any expectations of the Golden Leaf but it was in fact very nice. Quite traditional decor-wise. The staff were nice enough in a 'German efficient way'. Room was clean, courtyard area was very nice and the area was pleasant. There were a couple of shops nearby, including a very nice bakery and a market across the road at the weekend, but nowhere really to eat out or have a drink in the evening. This didn't bother us in anyway as the centre is only 20 minutes walk away and buses are very frequent. If you are looking for a good value hotel and don't want to stay slap bang in the city centre, I would definitely recommend the Golden Leaf - very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I chose the hotel primarily for the value and then i was impressed by the hotel when i arrived. No issues with my reservation or check out, and the staff was helpful for any needs. It's a good looking property, clean and well maintained. I found the bed reasonably comfortable and good bathroom and shower pressure.
As Americans, it was nice to have a hotel that felt European and not a generic chain.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Mariahilf
Mariahilf
#259 of 383 in Munich
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prinz
Hotel Prinz
#160 of 383 in Munich
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurbacher
Hotel Aurbacher
#268 of 383 in Munich
94 reviews
1.1 mi away
Golden Leaf Parkhotel im Lehel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Preysing
Hotel Preysing
#193 of 383 in Munich
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen

Property: Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen
Address: Mariahilfplatz 4, 81541 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restful night in the peaceful surroundings of the Golden Leaf Hotel Altmunchen in the city quarter Au, a cosy atmosphere and a sumptuous breakfast buffet which leaves nothing to be desired - a relaxing start to your day in Munich. The 3-star Golden Leaf Hotel Altmunchen is located in the centre of Munich, not far from the Isar and the Deutsches Museum, and is regarded as one of Munich's insider tips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Leaf Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing