We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At this price you can do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen
Ranked #247 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“At this price you can do better”
Reviewed 6 December 2008

Its a bit out of the center but close to a bus stop.

The staff were really OK.

However the rooms on the front side of the Hotel are on a main road and quite noisy. Our room was on the front side and above a neon sign outside wchich advertizes the hotel and flashed all the time. Eventualy we got a room on the other side which was better.

The hotel advertized itself as providing Tea and Coffee gratis but don't count on it. The machine is on the entry floor, the cups are small, and it is a struggle to get a cup up into your room without spilling any. The cups get dirty and arn't replaced.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank GoldstarSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden_Leaf_Hotels, Golden Leaf Hotels & Residences at Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen, responded to this review, 7 January 2010
We are sorry for the inconvenience you had. Please be assured that we took your statement to improve our service.
The hotel is situated at the Mariahilfplatz near the river Isar and the German Museum.
We provide coffee, tea and fruits for free in the lobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    63
    48
    13
    9
See reviews for
26
56
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PERTH
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2008

nice, clean room & bathroom. small. friendly service. 2 minute walk to train station. 20 minutes to city on train. hotel is in an area with no resturants or atmosphere, quite out of the way, but good none the less

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SIGRIDLUKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2007

We stayed here in September for one night. We had a very comfortable room, even with complimentary mouthwash and deodorant in the bathroom, and a bag of sweets on the bed. Nice!

The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was a 10-15 minutes walk from the nearest u-bahn station and about a 30 minute stroll to centre of Munich, so it was slightly out of town. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigelhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 September 2005

I planned a trip to the Oktoberfest for myself and wife for September this year. It resulted in a group of 17 friends travelling with us. I decided to stay at this hotel as it was good value for money. After reading some negative reviews, I was a bit concerned. We found the negative remarks were totally unfounded. This hotel had everything you needed. The beds were the softest I have ever slept in. The complimentary breakfast was enough to keep you going all day. The service and hospitality were second to none. The Bus service was 50 meters from the front door, and very easy to understand. I will be staying here again. Great Hotel, Great stay.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 January 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Altmunchen for 3 nights in January 2005. We were a bit concerned after having read an adverse review on trip advisor. However, we really enjoyed our stay. While it's true that it's not close by a subway station, there's a bus stop 50 metres from the hotel and buses leave for the city centre every 6 minutes or so. Travel time to the city centre is 5 - 10 mins. The room was fairly small (we found that to be the case throughout our travels in Europe) but the bedroom and bathroom were clean and well appointed. Would recommend that you ask for a room not facing the main street as I imagine those rooms could get noisy. Our room faced the courtyard and we had no problem with traffic noise. There is a restaurant downstairs, we dined there one evening and really enjoyed the food. Noise from the restaurant was never a problem even though we were there over the weekend. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Room rate was 68 Euro and we thought that was good value. Breakfast was nice, but at 22 Euro for 2 people seemed quite expensive when seen against the room rate. Watch out for the cost of bottled water from the minibar - $A7 for 500ml. Overall not sure how the Altmunchen compares with other Munich hotels but we would definitely use it again.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 September 2004

Where to start!!

The hotel does not have air conditioning, and is located on a very busy and noisy street, which does not really stop through the night, making getting a restful night of sleep difficult. The room themselves are well appointed. The TV only shows CNN in English, all the other channels are German exclusively.

I checked in on a Saturday. They were having a social gathering (big party) in the restaurant just below the rooms that same night. The music played (at disco levels) until 2 AM. There is no overnight staff at the front desk... so no one to complain to at 2 in the morning.

When I complained the day after, I was told that they advised us the night before and that they would not do anything. The "advisory" came in the form of a letter written in German only and a cheap bottle of wine as a compensation for a sleeplessness night. Half of the hotel customers where from outside Germany and therefore could not read the letter as well. Even if I could have read the letter, what were my options!

My room was pre-booked, and pre-paid. When I requested to leave one day early and provided advance notice, the manager denied and refused to credit me for the one day.

Other items:
•Breakfast is dismal, there where not enough of the good food (cold cuts, cheese, etc, but a lot of the cheap stuff; bread and jam) for all customers.
•Tables where set-up with clean plate dishes over the crumbs and coffee stains left from previous customers.
•The phone in my room could not dial international call, and I had to rely on my mobile phone and pay extra charges.
•The “central location” of the hotel as claimed on the web site is 1 to 1.5 km from the closest subway stations. Which is about as far as you can get from a subway station in big European cities.

The price/quality ration is just not proportionate. For the price I was charged (180 Euros/night), this is no where close to what I was expecting or should have received.

I travel extensively in Europe and around the world mostly for business but also for pleasure and I have never taken the time to comment about a positive or negative experience before this experience. I actually tend to be very tolerant about things! I am just taken back by this on.

This is by far the worst treatment I have ever received from a hotel, in terms of quality, and service.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 April 2004

Very clean. Polite and helpful staff. Nice beds, small-ish rooms.
Excellent small beirgarden attached serving great food and delightful breakfast. Not a luxury hotel but certainly a great value for good basic accomodations. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Mariahilf
Mariahilf
#260 of 383 in Munich
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prinz
Hotel Prinz
#159 of 383 in Munich
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurbacher
Hotel Aurbacher
#269 of 383 in Munich
94 reviews
1.1 mi away
Golden Leaf Parkhotel im Lehel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Preysing
Hotel Preysing
#192 of 383 in Munich
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen

Property: Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen
Address: Mariahilfplatz 4, 81541 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restful night in the peaceful surroundings of the Golden Leaf Hotel Altmunchen in the city quarter Au, a cosy atmosphere and a sumptuous breakfast buffet which leaves nothing to be desired - a relaxing start to your day in Munich. The 3-star Golden Leaf Hotel Altmunchen is located in the centre of Munich, not far from the Isar and the Deutsches Museum, and is regarded as one of Munich's insider tips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Leaf Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing