We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen
Ranked #236 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel.
Good points are that the rooms are clean and decent with good amenities. Staff are very accommodating and pleasant. We did not try the breakfast whilst we were here but there is breakfast available.
Bad points are that there is a bit of noise from the road if you stay at the front of the hotel and also that there is a restuarant/bar downstairs which they roll the metal barrels out from at night. I wore earplugs to enable me to get a decent nights sleep.
Hotel is slightly out of the way from the main centre too.
Overall a decent hotel for the price. Having travelled all over Germany I felt this place was one of the better places for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingSmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2009

Stayed a couple of days in this hotel. Attic room was very nice and well equipped - the lighting could be improved however.

Reception staff was friendly. House keeping was rather unattentive however. Cleanliness could be improved. Rooms facing the street get a little noisy in the morning.

Location is near "Deutsches Museum" and near to a bus stop but not to the underground. There are a couple of nice pubs and places to eat in the area.

Free parking is hard to find around. There's an hotel parking which you have to pay for.

Overall value for money is ok.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cocos_knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2008

Its a bit out of the center but close to a bus stop.

The staff were really OK.

However the rooms on the front side of the Hotel are on a main road and quite noisy. Our room was on the front side and above a neon sign outside wchich advertizes the hotel and flashed all the time. Eventualy we got a room on the other side which was better.

The hotel advertized itself as providing Tea and Coffee gratis but don't count on it. The machine is on the entry floor, the cups are small, and it is a struggle to get a cup up into your room without spilling any. The cups get dirty and arn't replaced.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank GoldstarSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden_Leaf_Hotels, Golden Leaf Hotels & Residences at Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2010

We are sorry for the inconvenience you had. Please be assured that we took your statement to improve our service.
The hotel is situated at the Mariahilfplatz near the river Isar and the German Museum.
We provide coffee, tea and fruits for free in the lobby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2008

nice, clean room & bathroom. small. friendly service. 2 minute walk to train station. 20 minutes to city on train. hotel is in an area with no resturants or atmosphere, quite out of the way, but good none the less

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SIGRIDLUKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2007

We stayed here in September for one night. We had a very comfortable room, even with complimentary mouthwash and deodorant in the bathroom, and a bag of sweets on the bed. Nice!

The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was a 10-15 minutes walk from the nearest u-bahn station and about a 30 minute stroll to centre of Munich, so it was slightly out of town. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NGLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Brisbane, Australia
15
Reviewed 26 September 2005

I planned a trip to the Oktoberfest for myself and wife for September this year. It resulted in a group of 17 friends travelling with us. I decided to stay at this hotel as it was good value for money. After reading some negative reviews, I was a bit concerned. We found the negative remarks were totally unfounded. This hotel had everything you needed. The beds were the softest I have ever slept in. The complimentary breakfast was enough to keep you going all day. The service and hospitality were second to none. The Bus service was 50 meters from the front door, and very easy to understand. I will be staying here again. Great Hotel, Great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
217
Reviewed 27 January 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Altmunchen for 3 nights in January 2005. We were a bit concerned after having read an adverse review on trip advisor. However, we really enjoyed our stay. While it's true that it's not close by a subway station, there's a bus stop 50 metres from the hotel and buses leave for the city centre every 6 minutes or so. Travel time to the city centre is 5 - 10 mins. The room was fairly small (we found that to be the case throughout our travels in Europe) but the bedroom and bathroom were clean and well appointed. Would recommend that you ask for a room not facing the main street as I imagine those rooms could get noisy. Our room faced the courtyard and we had no problem with traffic noise. There is a restaurant downstairs, we dined there one evening and really enjoyed the food. Noise from the restaurant was never a problem even though we were there over the weekend. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Room rate was 68 Euro and we thought that was good value. Breakfast was nice, but at 22 Euro for 2 people seemed quite expensive when seen against the room rate. Watch out for the cost of bottled water from the minibar - $A7 for 500ml. Overall not sure how the Altmunchen compares with other Munich hotels but we would definitely use it again.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.1 mi away
Golden Leaf Parkhotel im Lehel
0.2 mi away
Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurbacher
Hotel Aurbacher
#257 of 387 in Munich
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prinz
Hotel Prinz
#155 of 387 in Munich
121 reviews
0.9 mi away
Am Sendlinger Tor
Am Sendlinger Tor
#359 of 387 in Munich
379 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Westend
Hotel Westend
#286 of 387 in Munich
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen

Address: Mariahilfplatz 4, 81541 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £49 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restful night in the peaceful surroundings of the Golden Leaf Hotel Altmunchen in the city quarter Au, a cosy atmosphere and a sumptuous breakfast buffet which leaves nothing to be desired - a relaxing start to your day in Munich. The 3-star Golden Leaf Hotel Altmunchen is located in the centre of Munich, not far from the Isar and the Deutsches Museum, and is regarded as one of Munich's insider tips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Leaf Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing