We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we thought”
Review of Germania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Germania Hotel
Ranked #157 of 383 Hotels in Munich
West Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not what we thought”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The staff at the front desk was very friendly, speaking in English with ease. Our rooms weren't ready when we arrived and we were able to store our luggage in a locked closet. It was in a perfect location to walk to Oktoberfest. Unfortunately, the rooms were a step up from a hostel. If you have a room near the lift, you will hear it all night. If you have a room with windows facing the street, you will hear drunken patrons entering/exiting the adjacent casinos throughout the night. The front desk quoted a travel companion of ours a certain price to use the phone to call the US to settle credit card fraud and upon check out said the remaining charges on the room were five times the amount quoted.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    245
    230
    58
    50
See reviews for
125
211
60
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Arrived at hotel at 7.30am from over night train from Paris. Easy to find - only a 5 minute walk from railway station.
Lovely lady at reception said check in was at 3 but that if I came back at 1 she would find a room for me. They also stored my luggage for me. I returned to the hotel at 2 and was immediately given a room

The room was quite large (larger than I expected) and the bed very comfortable. I was unwell while there and needed a doctor, once again the receptionist was very helpful.

I was traveling on my own and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to other solo travelers

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katydid57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The staff at reception are very friendly and were welcoming towards us.
However, you need to state on your booking that you want a non-smoking room if you want it! We were put into a smoking room and as neither of us smoke, it was a horrible smell for us. We asked for a transfer to a different room to which they replied they were fully booked. We said we would look at other hotels so they found us another room. It all seemed a bit dodgy though, as the first excuse was that the only non-smoking room they had left was not in the system as it had been renovated that day and they were going to check if it had a paint smell left in it. Then we were told the reason it didn't come up in the system was because of electrical work... Not consistent. We had read that the "lack of rooms" excuse had been used on others as well.

When we changed rooms, it was NOTHING like any of their advertising photos.
It was small and pokey with no room to put 2 suitcases.
It had no safe for belongings (and it felt unsafe to leave important belongings around in the room). It was summer and there was no air-conditioning or a fan and when the window was open, it was very loud.

I do have to say, though, that it was reasonably clean, although very dated and unattractive.
I would suggest it looks more like student accommodation than holiday accommodation.
I recommend if you want a nice place to stay and be comfortable in, look elsewhere.
However, it is good if you want extreme budget sleeping quarters and you are out and about all day, every day during your stay.

The difference between this 3 star (although I would debate the rating) and the 4 star hotel we moved to, was HUGE and the price, not much difference.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katmahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This hotel was very very basic so it depends on how much you pay for the room. It was a convenient city location, however I found the street to be quite unsavoury & felt uncomfortable walking around the immediate area due to the many sex shops around. We had our 16 year old daughter with us and didn't feel safe letting her walk out anywhere on her own. The breakfast was quite good and the beds were reasonably comfortable. It was cramped with 3 of us sharing a room, but that is pretty normal. There was no kettle or fridge in the room, however the reception staff were very helpful & gave us a jug of hot water a couple of times. I would not stay there again due to the immediate location it was in, however if that stuff doesn't bother you, then it's fine for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
Level Contributor
221 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My husband and myself stayed at this hotel for 3nights. It had everything we needed: it was cheap, had an included breakfast with a lot of variety, the location was absolutely superb, the room was clean and the service was very friendly and helpful. Considering it is within walking distance of the Old Town,as well as being close to the train station it is a great bargain.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacy020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

While this hotel is a cheap option in a central part of Munich City i would strongly advise people not to stay here. We were staying here for a weekend and an incident occurred with a member of staff which to be quite frank would question the trustworthiness of the staff employed in this hotel.
We made a complaint on the day of the incident and while the girl on the reception was very helpful and sincere we unfortunately were referred to the manager on duty the next morning who was of no help whatsoever. She listened to our complaint but was not prepared to follow-up on our concerns. That was seven days ago and we still haven't received the promised explanation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

You get what you pay for here, it's a cheaper option but that's exactly what you get, it's in a noisy street and if your window is open you'll get no sleep, bed comfort is poor, one a single pillow is provided for each occupant and they are very thin, when I asked for an additional pillow reception offered me a downer to put under it? The location is surrounded by many ethnic dinners so if you want a German experience you need to walk into town as all the local dining options are Mexican, pizza, kebabs, or fast food. On the plus side its a cheaper option, there is a car park you can use that is linked to the hotel, which the hotel offers a discount of 2 euro on you parking 15 euro each day, the staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Johann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#124 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
Hotelisssimo Haberstock
#163 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#62 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof
0.3 mi away
Hotel Daniel
Hotel Daniel
#193 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#143 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Germania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Germania Hotel

Property: Germania Hotel
Address: Schwanthalerstr. 28, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Germania Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Germania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Germania Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing