We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Ranked #58 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I was arriving in the morning and leaving in the late evening to catch a plane and have called the hotel beforehand asking whether they could book a room for day-use. They said they were unable to do so and told me to show up in the morning and that's what I did. Unfortunately they only had two tiny rooms available and so I got the premium one, which was still super tiny and noisy. Obviously they had other rooms or they could have switched me, but the receptionist just couldn't be bothered.

The room was so so, the shower door was broken so there was a flood all over the bathroom after taking the shower. WiFi doesn't work, so they'll give you this small device at the reception, which you plug into LAN to make an access point. Breakfast was ok, nothing special.

I requested a wake-up call and it never came, I saw some other comments around here that this is the standard modus operandi for this hotel - just beware.

I'd definitely stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here in early March 2014. Location is great, near train station and very easy to walk to the city center. Rooms were clean.

However, I was very disappointed in the hotel clerks and customer service. First, we called the front desk about the wi-fi which was not working in our room. The clerk was not very helpful at all in trying to fix the problem and just recommended trying to connect another day.

The biggest issue however was the wake up call service. On the night before our international flight, we requested a wake up call around 4-430 AM. No wake up call came, but fortunately we woke up in time to catch the train to the airport and make our flight. As we were leaving, I asked the clerk why we did not receive a wake up call. He looked in his ledger, confirmed that we had requested one, but instead of apologizing just shrugged his shoulders and said 'oh well.' Extremely poor customer service and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mitrarnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Great location directly across from the Munich Hofbahnhof which makes it easy to get anywhere in Munich or day trips to other cities. Easy 15 minute walk to old town. The reception area, breakfest room, as well as our room was clean and well maintained. We had a standard double room, simple and efficient, and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was complete with great variety and breakfast staff was attentive for coffee and tea as well as keeping the serving tables well stocked. Check-in and Check-out was efficient and staff was very helpful in providing information about area, sites to see, and dining recommendations. Additionally the front desk has a stock day single and group public transportation tickets that you can purchase at no up charge from what you will pay at the stations. Good value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms adjacent to the court don't have the street noise and have better WIFI access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This was a pleasant surprise - a great value hotel in the shadow of the train station. Reception was clean and efficient, rooms were likewise. The included breakfast was extensive and a genuine bargain. The elevator service was prompt, prices were accurately quoted and charged - so many hotels in the area are far more expensive and less convenient. Next time we are in Munich, this will be where we stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamanoCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here in November 2013 for 3 nights. The hotel is right across from the main train station, which was very handy. I had a single room which overlooked the side street. There was a little noise at night but I think that is to be expected right in the centre of the city.

The room was immaculately clean, it was a good size and had everything I needed. I decided not to have the breakfast as I thought it to be a little expensive compared to just grabbing a coffee and pastry outside. I got a pretty decent rate by booking directly with the hotel around a month in advance - something like £60 per night.

No hesitations in reccommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZippySara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Very convenient location just across from the main train station-easy to get to anywhere in Munich; just a short walk to Marienplatz; the rooms are comfortable, the breakfast has plenty to choose from; staff is pleasant & helpful; would definitely recommend this hotel to anyonw looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in the centre of town;

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunflower01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have travelled extensively this year from Turkey through Europe via Romania, Austria, Germany, France and Italy. Our reviews are based on these experiences in terms of facilities, locations and cost etc.
We previously stayed in Munich in January of this year, and paid exhorbitant prices, for poor quality, which has influenced this review.
The hotel is excellent for the train station, that comes with the same old caveats about the area. For us, in terms of location, it was a real +++.
Check in was friendly and informative. We asked for a non smoking room overlooking the courtyard, due to previous reviews, and were given room 435. The foyer to the hotel is pleasant, but the corridors, lifts etc are dated and dark, and there seems to be a lot of security notices around including residents show your key to the reception on entering, beware of pickpockets etc. For this reason, I have marked it a 3 not a 4.
The room was large and clean but very dated, in terms of the furniture etc. There was no kettle but there was a fridge, with minibar. There was a bath, which was good, but the porcelain sink was badly cracked. The TV was terrible, it was like an old fashioned square portable TV on a movable stand, it was tiny and the picture quality was Rubbish. Surprisingly, the hotel offer pay TV too - although, who would pay for such a terrible picture, I don't know.
Towels were strange, 2 provided of different sizes, and quite thin.
Breakfast was very busy, and to be fair to the hotel, they provided a forecast outside the lifts, projecting which times would be busiest for breakfast. The selection was the best we had encountered, as basic hot food was included, scrambled egg, bacon and strange sausage. The hotel residents let the breakfast down, not the hotel - there was a plethora of ignorance and rudeness displayed by the guests - akin to feeding time at the zoo, in some instances. However, the hotel serving staff were excellent, and cleared plates etc quickly and patiently.
We were told by reception, there was no Wi-fi but hubby managed to actually sign in, so again, hotel marked down for this, as wi-fi, should be standard now, in our opinion.
Overall, I would return to this hotel and I would recommend, especially if location to the train station, is of importance to you.
Cost = 194 E for 2 nights

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 390 in Munich
1,805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#30 of 390 in Munich
951 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#33 of 390 in Munich
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 390 in Munich
1,204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.2 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#40 of 390 in Munich
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europaischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europaischer Hof

Address: Bayerstr. 31, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#71 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £72 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Europaischer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Hotel Europaeischer Hof has an outstanding Munich location, opposite the München Hauptbahnhof Central Train Station and a five-minute walk from the entrance to the Munich Old Town at Karlsplatz/Stachus. This family-run hotel offers non-smoking accommodation with free highspeed Wi-Fi and the option of underground parking for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, MyHotelShop, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Europaischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europaischer Hof Munich
Europaischer Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing