We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want free beer?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum
Ranked #119 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Want free beer?”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We just stayed in this hotel as a family (2 adult, 2 kids) and occupied two adjourning rooms. It's a 3 star hotel and as such, you can't expect luxury. However, there were a couple of features I liked about this hotel. For one, breakfast is available until 11am, which is great for people with jetlag, plus the breakfast is pretty good. The contents of the mini-bar (2 beers and 2 waters) are free and are refilled every day. Nice touch and doesn't really cost them much. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms look new and very clean. The gym isn't great but the wellness center (sauna and steam room, showers) was great! Looked brand new and very well kept.
Note: don't try to drive your Hummer down to the underground parking lot. Then again, don't drive your stupid Hummer anywhere in Europe.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobseT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments about our hotel. It is great to hear, that you enjoyed your stay. Fortunately you did not drive a Hummer, in fact, it could be difficult to park it. We would be glad to welcome you again some other day. Marc Moberz - Salesmanager des Derag Livinghotels Max Emanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    186
    71
    28
    20
See reviews for
21
107
51
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for about a week in July 2014. The rooms were very clean, modern, and quiet. They opened to a small private backyard (provided you stayed in the "1. Untergeschoss"). The hotel offers various additional facilities including an exercise room, and I used the latter on a regular basis. It was extremely well equipped, very clean, and modern. The hotel is quite centrally located. The next S-Bahn station is only about five minutes away, and it's only two stops to the centrally located Marienplatz where I was headed. The breakfast seemed a little overpriced at 14 Euros, but the quality was excellent. Free internet. Excellent Service.

Room Tip: Try the "1. Untergeschoss." Judging by the name, one would suspect this to be cellar, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCD32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derag_Livinghotels, Verkaufsleiter at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you very much for sharing the experiance of your stay with others. We are happy to hear, that you enjoyed it. Marc Moberz - Salesmanager des Derag Livinghotels Max Emanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrevieja
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Have just returned home after a very good week at this hotel, although the surprise happened before we even left home, three days prior our departure we had an E Mail giving us instructions on how to get there by S Bahn from the airport with maps and rout to take if walking,this was a most welcome first, on arrival reception so helpful in every way, gave us the key to the room to see if we liked it before moving in, the room had been recently refurbished and everything was new, could not fault it, upon asking if we could have extra pillows and a fan they arrived in record time. Unable to comment on the food in the Hotel as we didn't dine there, but when asking where we might purchase fruit and yogurt we were directed just a few steps away to a small Mini market which had everything. As many previous people have said its so convenient to all transport and restaurants one could not ask for anything more. We are most certainly returning.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spanishjohn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you very much for your friendly comment. We are really happy to hear, that you liked your stay and that you will return some other time. This is the best compliment we can get. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have stayed in this hotel for four months, its located right next to city centre, just 2 stops away from Marienplatz and this hotel is very close to Train and tram stations. The staffs are very friendly and the service is very good. The room & toilet are very clean.

you can reach the reception at any time (24X7) if you need any help/information, they are very kind :-)

The disadvantage is "Poor internet connection"

Overall , " you will be satisfied for what you pay to Derag"

Room Tip: Choose a room with Balcony, out view is good for sitting and relax !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JourneyofThiyagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derag_Livinghotels, Verkaufsleiter at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your nice comment. We are glad to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our good position to public transport is a point, why many of our guests choose the Max Emanuel. Marc Moberz - Sales Manager des Derag Livinghotels Max Emanuel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have stayed in this hotel for more than a month. First point to mention is this hotel location, it is 20 minutes walk from the city center. The nearby train station (Rosenheimarplatz) is 5 minutes walk. This is a no frill business hotel which consists of various types of service apartments. I have stayed in a street view room but due to the pretty quiet street the room was no noisy at all. The room is pretty large and has a separate kitchen area. The kitchen is very well equipped and if needed extra utensils are provided. The bathroom is pretty standard with enough lighting and with a big mirror. The bed is a bit small (at least I felt that). The service quality of Max Emanuel is really efficient. The front desk is very helpful. Last but never the least I must mention the breakfast spread which is very tasty, fresh and comes with various options. I will recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhigngly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for spending your time for this comment. We are glad to hear, that you enjoyed your stay. A recommendation is the best honour for our work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I was in Derag just a few days back and spend there one night. The hotel although being relatively old-fashioned has a good central location and proximity to public transportation (underground). Personnel was friendly and helpful. Room as well as toilet was very clean.
There was only one disadvantage — construction works — which you can hear pretty loud from 8:00am-8:00pm
Overall can recommend for a short stay when you do not plan to spend much time in a room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamKiwalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for rating our hotel. We are happy to tell, that construction work is finished and there is no noise any longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel for 3 nights, while in the process of moving to Munich. The location near the Rosenheimerplatz transit connections and short walk to the Isar River were exactly what we needed. The efficient and helpful personnel behind the counter - who helped tremendously during our check in process and all through out our stay - deserve very high marks. No question was too small. And I had a lot! I would recommend this hotel just because of those two factors.

Also beneficial for us was the mini kitchen and plenty of space in the apartment style room that we stayed in, since we were traveling with a lot of luggage due to our move. As was stated in other reviews the decor is dated. The carpet in the hallway was tired. But that didn't bother me. The shower had strong pressure, the bed was comfortable, and I didn't hear any noise outside. All in all a very satisfactory stay.

Room Tip: If you need more space, reserve one of the apartment/hotel rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoffeeHound58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your nice comment. We are happy to hear, that we could be of some help. We hope, moving went well and you feel fine in your new surrounding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#53 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
0.2 mi away
Golden Leaf Hotel Altmuenchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#79 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Preysing
Hotel Preysing
#187 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinz
Hotel Prinz
#155 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum

Property: Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum
Address: Rablstr. 10, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum 3*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Derag Livinghotel am Deutschen Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derag Livinghotel Max Emanuel Hotel Munich
Derag Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing