We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodations”
Review of Marc Munchen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marc Munchen
Ranked #9 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The hotel was an excellent surprise. We were relocated last minute to the Marc from a sister hotel that was doing renovation. Great for us. The location is close the main station and a short walk to most attractions and shopping. Even though the area looks rough, there are a lot of other hotels and tourist nearby.
The hotel staff were great and friendly. Hotel and rooms are clean and well kept, showing off as an elegant hotel.
The breakfast was included and was plentiful, the guys in the breakfast room kept it clean. With all food replenished, as well as the hot omelet bar. They were always trying to make sure you had everything they could get you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lgpanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Good day Lgpanther,

We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you have had wonderful experiences at our hotel marc munich****.

Our sister hotel, Europaeischer Hof***, get most of its rooms renovated right now and is therefor closed until the end of January 2014.
The hotel marc munich**** got a complete-renovation and refurbishment in 2012, re-opening was in August 2012. So this hotel is brand-new. We took great care in the design and facilities and are pleased that its elegance got your attention, thank you very much for your compliment.

We do not have a restaurant for dinner or lunch, but we do know how to serve our guests a good breakfast. Breakfast is said to be the most important meal of the day so we put great effort in providing a vast buffet with fresh and high quality products. We also prepare eggs and other hot dishes fresh right before the eyes of our guests.

For your next visit to Munich we hope you book our hotel marc**** directly or you try the newly renovated rooms in our sister hotel Europaeischer Hof***.
Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warmest Wishes,

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,662)
There are newer reviews for Marc Munchen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

861 - 867 of 1,662 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

As we were walking from the HB towards the hotel we passed a couple of streets full of questionable shops and dubious accomodations. This has to be expected for the main train station area of such a large and minority filled city where some of these businesses are located.
But upon reaching the hotel we found it to be an oasis of quiet and good taste. The very professional front desk staff was quick to check us in and kind enough to offer us all the advice we desired as newcomers.
The lobby is smartly decorated and it all feels very cosy. Our room was clearly not one of the best judging by the hotel photo gallery but high up on the last floor it was facing the backside of the building and that was a very silent area. The room itself had everything you might need and the bathroom too was decent.
The breakfast was by far the best we had on our 5 city trip. Lots of options and high quality products made for a perfect start of the day and best of all the breakfast was included in the price - something increasingly rare in Germany.
As the only downside i can recall the intrusive housekeeping that kept trying to bust in the room although we made our presence clear and while this seemed to be a frequent happening in different hotels here it was more aggresive. I guess they are not accustomed to guests returning to their rooms after breakfast and keeping them from fulfilling their duties.
Oh and one more thing we found surprising: when asked for a late(er) check-out they politely offered it to us for 11eur/hr for each hour after 1300. We had no idea the check-out is at 1100!
This hotel is surely on the list when we return to Munich for it has everything we like and a central location too.

Room Tip: still trying to find out myself...our room wasnt that good...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank danvega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Danvega,

We are happy your enjoyed your stay in our hotel marc munich****. Thank you very much for posting your review and taking time in sharing you impressions.

Our hotel is located at the Munich Center Train Station, perfect and convenient location for all public and (inter)national transportation as well as starting point for exploring Munich’s famous old town by foot - only 5 minutes to the pedestrian area. We have to admit that the direct vicinity of the Munich Center Station is unfortunately also a pole of attraction for poorer persons. But then this is only natural and I believe to be the very same in every metropolis. However there is never a problem of safety. Munich is one of the safest cities in Europe and as mentioned already you can leave this area behind in just a stone’s throw.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful impression of our front desk staff, we are happy you felt pleasantly helpfully treated. We also do appreciate your compliment on our breakfast very much. We know what it is like with breakfast in German hotels and we do pride ourselves in providing a vast buffet with fresh and quality products and in a high variety in hope to satisfy every possible taste.

We are sorry to read you had trouble with the housekeeping. Please be assured this is not our usual procedure. Of course the maid should have waited for you to leave the room to do her job. We want to apologize to you and also thank you for mentioning this inconvenience. We will talk to the foreman about this incident to be assured that it does not happen again with other guests.
We are truly happy that this incident did not deteriorate your general opinion of our house and that you had a good impression overall.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance at any time.
It would be our pleasure to have you back as our guests in the near future!

Warm regards,

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Marc Hotel. The pros: The hotel itself was very nice, our room was a good size and had a modern feel, the breakfast options were extensive, the staff was very friendly and helpful (changed our room so that we could check in early), the location is right across the street from the train station. Cons: The location was also partially a con, other than the train station, there wasn't much in the immediate area - one night we were awoken by some kind of fight (someone screaming cuss words) and the neighborhood had a shady feel (casinos, sex shops), but we never felt unsafe. The subway/train was super close or it was an easy walk to tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeTrotter1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear GlobeTrotter1025,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and your impressions of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our house.
Thank you for your compliment on our rooms and vast breakfast buffet as well as our staff. We are truly pleased you felt friendly treated and could head up to your room immediately after arriving early.

You are right the location of our hotel is a pro as well as a con, but I think the positive aspects clearly outweigh negative ones:
We are located right at the Munich Center Train station, which guarantees our guest the best connection for national and international trains as well as public transport within Munich.
Typical for main train stations in every major city are the poorer surroundings, that is unfortunately true.
But one can get in a 5 minute’s walk already to the pedestrian area, the city center which has a completely different look of course. There is also Munich’s historical center located.

Finally I am truly glad that you did not feel unsafe in the area and please be assured one does not need to, Munich is one of the safest cities in Europe.

We would be very happy to welcome you in our house again for your next Munich visit.

Kind regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed in the hotel for for 2 nights. Great hotel in Munich with friendly staff and great service. What is really exceptional is their breakfast buffet. Fantastic value for money. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobHKHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Rob,

Thank you so much for this great comment!

Although friendliness und good service is quite natural for our team we are proud that you are specifically mentioning it. Thank you, we will share your compliment with the staff, it will be motivation for us to maintain our high standards.

We feel it is very important to have a rich breakfast buffet with high quality products. We are truely happy to hear you enjoyed it.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Best regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in early October. We requested two Deluxe Double Bed Suites close to one another and our request was granted. Our rooms were right next door to one another.

Modern, spacious rooms with good air conditioning and large Bathrooms. Buffet breakfast, which was included in the package was delicious and fresh and they had a good selection. Waiting staff were very friendly and helpful.

Convenient location for Train Station (2 minute walk) and about a 10 minute walk to Marienplatz (Town Centre), however the surrounding area is slightly dodgy. Not the nicest side of Munich.

I thought the rooms decor was stunning and it was very clean.

We received free internet with the room, which was great, but the wifi was lagging in peak times. For those who don't speak German the only English TV Channels were News Stations.

Pleasant welcome to our German holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheriebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Good morning Cheriebee,

We are happy you had a lovely holiday in Germany / Munich and our hotel marc****.

Thank you for your nice review.
Your reference of our nice rooms with modern technical equipment and decor as well as cleanliness and our good quality breakfast buffet was very welcomed, thank you so much. At least equally important to us is the treatment of the guests by our staff. We are hence truly satisfied that you had a good impression of our team.

A pity the internet connection was not as good during your stay, we are sorry for the inconvenience.
Please note, we offer “sky” (Pay-TV) free of charge for our guests in the rooms as well as the lobby – just ask the front desk staff if you want to watch a sports game etc. in the lobby while having a drink at our bar. You can watch all sky-programs in German as well as in English.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed her in July and it was just perfect, 2 rooms, our adult children were just across the hall and both rooms were lovely. No noise, extremely clean and beautifully decorated, like brand new. The staff were lovely, friendly and very helpful and t0he breakfast buffet was just perfect and delicious. Do not be discouraged by the area as the hotel more than makes up for all of this. We had a wonderful time and it was only a short stroll to town walking along the train lines was best. The Train station was very close and convenient when we took a day trip to Neuschwanstein Castle and then walked again to town for dinner. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Munich.

Room Tip: Courtyard view room was lovely
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MamaGdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear MamaGdownunder,

We are delighted to read your shining review and your recommendation for other travelers.
Thank you so much for taking time on posting your impressions.

You are absolutely right, our hotel is like brand-new! We re-opened only in August 2012! The whole hotel was renovated and refurbished. Our rooms are delightful, comfortable and our housekeeping team is meticulous when it comes to cleaning standards. We are more than pleased you feel the very same.

We are all highly trained people in our hotel team with a great passion for what we do and it is our goal to provide the highest standard of service possible. Thank you for your compliment we are very happy you felt friendly and helpfully treated and enjoyed our vast breakfast buffet and your stay in Munich in general.

Munich itself has so much to see but she is a perfect home base for many sightseeing tours trough Bavaria and to Austria as well. Many guided tours are offered starting from Munich Center Station. Always worth a visit!

We wish you a Happy New Year and hope to welcome you and your family again some time!

Kind regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed to visit Christmas market and location is good for the old town. Just a short walk. Every member of staff we came across was helpful friendly and keen to please. The breakfast was on a different level to anything else we have experienced so far in Germany. Rommel was clean, modern and with showers that worked efficiently! All in all a very good experience. We will choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Ian M.,

many thanks for posting a review of our hotel marc Munich following your recent stay with us.
Your comment is a big pleasure for us to do our best and keep our customer enjoyed.

We are pleased to welcoming you again in our hotel.
We wish you and your wife merry Christmas and a happy new year.

Best regards
Hotel marc**** team munich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#6 of 385 in Munich
1,039 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#13 of 385 in Munich
562 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 385 in Munich
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 385 in Munich
2,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.4 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marc Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marc Munchen

Address: Senefelderstrasse 12, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Munich
#5 Business Hotel in Munich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#8 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £118 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marc Munchen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glad to see that you are interested in our boutique design hotel marc munich! After a substantial refurbishment with completion in mid-August 2012, we now offer 80 ultra-modern, superbly equipped double rooms. Discover our emotionally appealing rooms and refresh yourself under our big rain shower. Once you have visited our universally recommended breakfast buffet in our large bright breakfast room, thanks to our central location, you have easy access to all interesting places in and around Munich. Drinks and snacks (pizza , etc.) we offer at our hotel, but for dinner, we are happy to recommend according to the actual weather the most known beer garden in Munich nearby or any other recommendable restaurant around fitting the food direction of your choice. Our breakfast buffet included in the room rate. Arrive either by train (walk about 5 min.), by plane (subway around 45 minutes) or of course by car, which you can park in our small, slightly narrow underground garage for cheap or our courtyard . - ideal location in the very centre of Munich just opposite of the train station - Hotel 100 % fully air-conditioned (window can be opened) - Hotel 100 % Non smoking (no smoking rooms available) - free WLan and Lan connection in the room - the latest smart TV 's with free Sky program (german Cinema HD, Sport HD1 + HD2) - starting deluxe category with coffee/tea bar in the room - extra thick mattress topper and hygiene implications - Business PC to print the boarding pass etc. - a great nice crew and much more - We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marc Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mark Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing