We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in great location”
Review of Marc Munchen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marc Munchen
Ranked #9 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The hotel is in a great location from the Hauptbahnhof. Despite being in a central location, our stay wasn't disrupted once by noise. Check-in was straight forward and all staff speak English, which is a great help. All the staff were welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. The room (superior king) was spacious. Bathroom was amazing and the room was cleaned to a great standard every day.

Breakfast was fantastic. Again, the staff were lovely. The choices available for breakfast were unbelievable. In 4 days, we did try to sample the entire variety of pastries, bacon and pancakes, cereals, meats and cheeses. It's definitely the best breakfast we've had in a hotel.

We wouldn't hesitate to come back to the Marc as we had a great stay and it was so easy to travel around Munich from the hotel location. Thank you to the staff!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Nicola,
Your shining review is making us very proud, thank you so much. I do appreciate your special thanks to the staff very much and forwarded your review to the team to share!

Thank you for your praise on our breakfast buffet. We believe the breakfast to be the most important meal of the day and therefor include breakfast in all our room rates! We have a wide selection of fresh and high quality products as well as different hot and cold dishes and try to satisfy almost every taste of our guests. What a pleasure you took the time to really do enjoy the vast buffet every morning!

We are definitely looking forward to welcoming you very soon in our house again! Please be quickly back =)

All the best and warmest regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,661)
There are newer reviews for Marc Munchen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

851 - 857 of 1,661 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Good location near de main train station and 10 minutes walk from the center of Múnich. The service provided by staff is excellent, in particular Jean Claude. Clean rooms, very good Breakfast and attention to detail.
Will certainly go back¡¡¡

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 472Mercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Mercedes,

We are delighted with you shining review thank you so much.
I like you describing our staff as providing excellent service, this is very important to us.
And we are proud of our dear Jean-Claude!

We can’t await to have you back!

Warmest regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our first wedding anniversary and loved it. As the other reviewers have said, the breakfast was amazing, so much choice.

Our room was gorgeous with a big bathroom and lovely shower. Very quiet too.

I've given the location 5 out of 5 because the hotel is so central that you'd expect it to cost so much more. The area is not the smartest or best but we never felt unsafe or unable to walk at night. It was no different to an area near a station at home.

One note for the hotel, it would be useful to let guests know the large bottle of water in the room is complimentary... Well ours was but we didn't know so went to pay for it on checking out.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaireyBeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Clairey,
It was our pleasure taking care of you during your first wedding anniversary! We are so pleased you chose us and we are happy there was nothing amiss and you could enjoy our great breakfast buffet and nice room.
I am very glad that you did not let the former posting of the hotel’s vicinity discourage you and you see the advantage of it: the convenient central location.
Sorry for the charging of the water bottle, we normally do give a special bottle hanger for the complimentary water bottle. Please accept our apologies. When you come back to stay with us please tell the front desk, you will get a bottle of water for free!
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you very much for your review.

Warmest regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed here with my husband for 2 nights between Christmas and New Year 2013 and for the most part our stay was flawless. We booked relatively short notice but still got a decent rate which included breakfast (which was great!). Our room was modern, not huge, but plenty of space for 2 people for a weekend. Bathroom was also very modern and clean. Wifi at the hotel is free which is brilliant (one of my pet peeves is 4 and 5 star hotels that insist on charging ridiculous amounts for wifi). Staff were friendly and the room was kept clean and well serviced. The location of the hotel is very close to the main train station which has its advantages and disadvantages. From a transport perspective it's great as tonnes of s- and u-bahn trains are right . There are also lots of small shops in the area, including 2 Rossmann shops (like a Boots shop) where you can buy water etc should you wish. You can also walk directly to the main shopping street in a few minutes from the hotel and further to the town hall and Viktualienmarkt, so no need to use public transport at all really for these sights. We didn't go anywhere very touristy as we've been to Munich before a number of times but as mentioned above, there are loads of public transport options available close by. Downsides to the location are that the area is a little grotty (although not too bad at all) but this isn't unusual when you're close to a major train station. The area certainly didn't put me off at all and we always felt safe. Breakfast was great - huge buffet with everything you could wish for plus coffee, tea, juice, water and even sparkling wine ;-) I don't usually book breakfast with my room but the two were a package and the breakfast was worth it. And now onto my few niggles ;-) The temperature in the room was very high. We tried to turn off all heating but it didn't really cool the room down and we ended up leaving the window open most of the night (to be fair it was unusually warm in Munich for winter, probably 10 degrees during the day). The bathroom has lovely hand soap and hand lotion but instead of having shampoo and shower gel, it just has a multi purpose gel/shampoo on one of those dispensers stuck to the wall in the shower. I feel this lets the hotel down (a very little) as it just isn't in keeping with a 4 star hotel. It's a very small thing but separate bottles of shampoo and shower gel would just give a much better impression. Also there was no conditioner. And finally, I'm pretty sure there was someone on our floor in the hotel smoking. I wasn't sure whether you were allowed to smoke at the hotel or not (but surely not in 2013?!) but then you never know in Germany... We noticed this late at night so didn't mention it to any of the staff but it's something they should be mindful of as it could be very off putting for guests. But that's it - overall this is a great hotel, stay here when you're in Munich!! I'll definitely be back...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetpea_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Sweetpea_me,

Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel marc munich****.
We are pleased you chose us spontaneously and were positively surprised. It is always rewarding to read of the remarkable and friendly service staff provided to ensure a relaxing and wonderful stay.
I am happy you were able to enjoy our breakfast with lots of fresh quality products and cooking station for hot egg specialties, we feel it is a must-have and therefor almost always include it into the room rate.
Regarding the room I am pleased you liked it very much and praise the cleanliness. Thank you for your “niggles”, too, we always want to further improve ourselves and it is very important that guests inform us if they have any improvements suggestions. I forwarded your request for separate shampoo and shower gel and hair conditioner to the housekeeping manager.

Obviously there was a problem with the air condition, as surely the guests can adjust the temperature in their room by themselves if necessary. We are sorry and hope it was no to great inconvenience.
I am shocked about the smoking in the hotel. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel for years, even before the renovation! Please be assured when we notice anyone smoking in the rooms or public areas we will prevent this immediately! In this case it seems to me we did not notice – late at night this is difficult for us if no guest complains, but I am sure the housekeeping informed the front desk the next day and this guest was inculcated with our non-smoking policy.

We all are looking forward to welcoming you back and thank you again for your review.

Kind regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

First off I cannot stress enough how friendly and accommodating Jean Claude was on reception. We arrived from Paris via an overnight sleeper train at 7:30 in the morning expecting to just have to check our bags in and wait it out until check in. We needn't have worried we were given a room straight away by Jean Claude, offered coffee, breakfast and free drinks. All we wanted to do was get a couple of hours sleep before we started to explore the city and were not disappointed with the room.

Massive comfortable bed, nicely decorated, quiet and with a monsoon shower as well. Perfect. Breakfast was immense so much choice.

Munich itself was wonderful so much to see, great food (can recommend Zwickl), great beer and friendly people, we were sad to leave.

The hotel was perfectly located for the train station and was literally a 10 minute walk to the main square/city centre. I understand some people comments about the neighbourhood there are casinos and strip clubs fairly near by but this didn't bother us at all the area was completely safe. We walked back from town last night late after a meal out and felt very comfortable walking back so please don't let this put you off.

We are off to Venice now but are sad to be leaving Munich, we are already planning to return to Germany in the future for a longer break.

Thank you Jean Claude and all the staff for making us feel so welcome.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank neil2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Neil,

We are delighted by your lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to share your impressions.
Jean Claude sends you his greetings, he is very pleased by your kind praise and we, the team, are so proud of him! We all take this as an incentive.
If possible we always try to hand out the rooms upon guest arrival no matter how early, we are happy to have been able to fulfil your early check-in request. Munich has a lot to see and you can do so many thing by foot hence you should really reste before heading to sightseeing.

I like to thank you also for your nice and reasonable comment on the hotel’s surroundings: I am glad you see the hotel’s pros as is the convenient centrally location instead of the cons (well that would be the named casinos and strip clubs – but I am sure you have to face them in every big city at the center station..).

We hope you do enjoy Venice as much as you did Munich and we are looking forward to your return to Bavaria!

Kind regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We have stayed in many, many hotels in Munich since we moved back to the states several years ago. Since then we have been on the hunt for a Munich hotel which is centrally located, with modern amenities, free WiFi and friendly staff. We've come close on a few occasions, but I think we finally got it right with the Marc Hotel. The hotel is located a short 5 minute walk from the Hauptbahnhof and is located on a side street with several other hotels. The hotel has been recently renovated and it is quite modern and lovely. The staff greeted us warmly, were very friendly and even had our room ready despite our 11am arrival (which we very much appreciated). Our room was a decent size, modern, very clean and quite nicely appointed with a rather large bathroom and a fabulous rain shower. Our room was on the courtyard side so it was incredibly quiet. The building itself is very soundly built because we didn't hear a peep from anywhere. The bed was lovely and we slept solid (better than at home even) despite the jetlag. The breakfast buffet was extensive and even I was able to find plenty to eat despite my many food allergies. Oh yes, and the WiFi was included! It was wonderful to finally find a hotel in Munich dedicated to great customer service! Our search has ended and we'll be back at the Marc on our next trip to Munich!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TobaniSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Good day Tobani from Seattle!
Thank you very much for letting us be your favorite choice in Munich and for sharing your impressions of our hotel marc**** with TripAdvisor. We are much honored!
I am pleased we were able to get your room ready early and I am equally happy you could rest after the long flight in our brand-new beds: “Majestic Plus orthopaedic LFK - inner spring mattress for a perfect sleeping comfort” (FYI: re-opening after complete renovation in August 2012). Most of our rooms are facing the quiet courtyard and because of the centrally location of our house we made sure to get very good sound proof windows of course.
We provide a vast breakfast buffet for our guest and I am glad you were able to enjoy the food. Should you have any further requirements regarding your food allergies, just inform us let’s say 10 days prior arrival and we are happy to get the extras for you!

We are delighted to have found new regular guests in you and we are looking forward to your future stays!

Warm greetings

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The location is perfect, it's very close to the train station and it's perfectly safe, otherwise you wouldn't find several four star hotels on the same street. What makes Marc München different is its hotel staff - they are all very friendly and helpful and make you feel that you are their valuable guest. The breakfast was excellent - lot of options and you have a staff that's responsible of cooking fresh omelette to your order. Room is modern and my bathroom is huge. I would definitely stay here again when I visit Munich next time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thetankengine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your lovely review!
We very much agree with you: to have an unforgettable experience and to feel really welcome there is but the staff who can make the difference! Naturally we are pleased you felt very friendly and helpfully treated! Your lovely words will be shared with all the team, thank you again.
Great that you had the time to enjoy our freshly prepared egg specialties! We offer a vast breakfast buffet and it can take days to try each and everything =)

We can’t wait to welcoming you back! Kindest regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#7 of 385 in Munich
1,037 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#13 of 385 in Munich
558 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 385 in Munich
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 385 in Munich
2,014 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.4 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 385 in Munich
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marc Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marc Munchen

Address: Senefelderstrasse 12, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Munich
#5 Family Hotel in Munich
#6 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#8 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £119 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marc Munchen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glad to see that you are interested in our boutique design hotel marc munich! After a substantial refurbishment with completion in mid-August 2012, we now offer 80 ultra-modern, superbly equipped double rooms. Discover our emotionally appealing rooms and refresh yourself under our big rain shower. Once you have visited our universally recommended breakfast buffet in our large bright breakfast room, thanks to our central location, you have easy access to all interesting places in and around Munich. Drinks and snacks (pizza , etc.) we offer at our hotel, but for dinner, we are happy to recommend according to the actual weather the most known beer garden in Munich nearby or any other recommendable restaurant around fitting the food direction of your choice. Our breakfast buffet included in the room rate. Arrive either by train (walk about 5 min.), by plane (subway around 45 minutes) or of course by car, which you can park in our small, slightly narrow underground garage for cheap or our courtyard . - ideal location in the very centre of Munich just opposite of the train station - Hotel 100 % fully air-conditioned (window can be opened) - Hotel 100 % Non smoking (no smoking rooms available) - free WLan and Lan connection in the room - the latest smart TV 's with free Sky program (german Cinema HD, Sport HD1 + HD2) - starting deluxe category with coffee/tea bar in the room - extra thick mattress topper and hygiene implications - Business PC to print the boarding pass etc. - a great nice crew and much more - We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marc Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mark Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing