We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”
Review of Marc Munchen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marc Munchen
Ranked #8 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

As noted by others, the street is a bit off putting but seemed quite safe to walk. The Marc Muenchen is especially well located if arriving by train. It's a bit of a walk to get to some sites in the eastern part of the old city, however, Augustiner Beer Garden, which we think is one of the nicest, is within walking distance as are the art museums. You can easily hop onto the tram & access the underground nearby.
This hotel was recently renovated so everything about the room was in shipshape condition. The breakfast was sumptuous and delicious, and the restaurant room is sunny and spacious. The wait staff was very friendly. The front desk staff was cordial and well organized.
We liked the feeling of security...anyone entering must walk immediately past the the front desk. We also enjoyed the water dispenser in the lobby. It was a welcome refreshing treat when returning from adventures. Good high speed wifi was complimentary. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adobe133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear guest,
We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our hotel marc**** very much! Thank you for your great review.
You are right, the central location of our house allows the guests to explore most of Munich’s sight and some great Beergardens by foot.
We renovated our hotel in 2011/2012 completely and reopened in August 2012. Thank you for your compliments on design and rooms, we are happy you like the outcome.
In Munich we have one of the best waters in Germany: freshly from the Alpes! We want all our guests to enjoy!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,062
    481
    60
    16
    8
See reviews for
205
779
110
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sydney australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great location so close to everything. Slightly grubby street but nothing too alarming. The hotel is excellent. Fantastic bathroom, so light and large. Great breakfast and excellent amenities. Free wifi and tea and coffee in the room Tina on the front desk was a treasure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moyaSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Moya from Australia,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our hotel marc****! Thank you for your feedback.
Our hotel was renovation in 2011/2012 and reopened in August 2012 only and we are happy you like the outcome and its design.
What a nice compliment for our dear colleague Tina to mention her by name! Thank you so much, I will show you review to the whole team!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again as we hope you will come back to Munich maybe even in the near future.

Best regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a beautiful, modern, comfortable hotel conveniently located just one block from the Hauptbahnhof train station in central Munich. The rooms are spacious, there is a nice lobby and small bar area, and the breakfasts are absolutely superb. The neighborhood is diverse. There are hostels across the street, and some gritty sorts about, but nothing out-of-the-ordinary in the vicinity of any inner-city train station. No one approached us or was ever threatening in any way. My wife and I never felt unsafe walking about, and it would be a shame not to stay here, as the neighborhood in no way outweighs the excellent nature of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Goodney,
Thank you very much for your kind rating “Great Hotel” - we love to read this! I am happy you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and felt everything was superb.
Special thanks to you for explaining the hotel’s vicinity: I often read about the “shabby looks” of the surroundings, but you put it just right: this is the same case with all big cities’ Main Train stations around the world. Plus, Munich is a very safe city, no worries to walk around alone late night.
We would be very happy to be able to welcome you soon again.

Best regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Very short walk from main train station, so there are lots of rundown hostels, etc in the neighborhood. Don't be put off by this. I was traveling alone and never felt unsafe. This hotel would have a 5 star rating in the US. It seems to have undergone a massive update as it did not resemble anything of some earlier reviews. Everything was sparkling new and very modern. I liked having air conditioning. The Reception is open 24 hours and I found them very attentive to every request. The breakfast was AMAZING (I really hate that over-used word, but it is what describes it!). I especially appreciated being able to leave my luggage there for the last day while I was out sight-seeing. The only down side to this place is the price.

Room Tip: It took me a moment to realize you must insert your door key into a holder near the door in order fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Conover,
Thank you very much for taking the time to put your review on TripAdvisor. I am very pleasantly surprised that our hotel would be 5 stars rating in the US! Thank you so much for this kind compliment, we very much appreciate it.
We are happy you enjoyed our large breakfast buffet and think it is AMAZING with capital letters =) Thank you very much for you kind word towards our staff, too.

Munich is an expensive city, but we certainly do hope you will consider staying with us again for future Munich trips.

Kind regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We are staying now at Marc Muenchen and unfortunately we're leaving tomorrow this amazing hotel. A modern hotel, beautifully designed, excellent breakfast, stylish rooms just like the pictures, perfect service, best location near city center. We give this hotel AAA score in all categories without any hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Ofer,
Thank you for your kind review! We are honored you feel that comfortable with us that you post you kind review already while still staying with us! Well, I see that you check-out on Saturday and I am sorry for having been reading your post only now and am not able to thank you on site.
We are happy you like the design of our new hotel marc****, which we renovated complete and re-opened in August 2012 only! Most important: you are satisfied with our service!

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards


Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here in Summer July 2014.

Location: The location is good - I could drag my luggage to/from the train station and walk to Marienplatz - so saved a lot of transportation monies. Was told by locals that the street was not a very safe place to hang out. We met a few "dubious" characters, but by and large we felt ok ... there are several other hotels in the area including a youth hostel.

Room: The whole hotel looked new, rooms are relatively spacious and clean. However the aircon broke down 2 nights out of the 3 nights, and for hot summer nights with room facing the street - it was not good. Wifi was patchy - good enough to surf, but challenging to do serious work.

Service: The counter service was ok, and the breakfast spread was good!

Verdict: good place to stay but pricey.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milokitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback.

The central location of our house allows our guests to reach the city center with pedestrian area and shopping mile as well as the main sights by foot. Being located at a major city’s Main Train Station has its pros as well as its cons of course. One of the cons could be having a few "dubious" characters around, though I believe this to be the case in all big cities around the center station. Please be assured Munich is a very safe city, one of the safest in Euopr, and I am surprised one should tell you otherwise. I hope you value the advantages more than the disadvantages of the central location of our hotel.
Thank you for your kind praise for your room and I am happy you like our design. However, I am sorry to hear you had problems with the air condition. I immediately double-checked with our front office team and they had no info of AC failures during the last weeks. So I do hope you called the reception immediately after detecting problems and we could help you quickly. We can check the air condition system for each room individually from the front desk, if there is a problem it is shown in our computer system. Most often there are minor issues to disturb the air conditioning, as for example an opened window etc.

We are happy you all in all had a good impression of our house and we do hope you will consider our hotel marc**** again for your next Munich trips.

Best regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We just stayed for one night prior to departing Munich, but would recommend the hotel. Breakfast was an A+ with anything you could imagine, including a large assortment of breads, pastries, cereals! cheeses! and other breakfast standards. The room was quite spacious and modern in design with a large bathroom. Note that the bathroom doors are frosted glass and not solid - fine for a couple but might otherwise be a bit awkward. The location is convenient, but as others have noted, the area surrounding the train station is not the best in Munich. Did not seem to be unsafe, just some dodgy characters here and there. I would not consider this a deterrent to staying here and would return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcmuenchen, Leiter Front Office at Marc Munchen, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear guests on the road,
Thank you very much for your great review! We are happy you recommend us for other travelers and would gladly stay again yourself.
We believe breakfast to be the most important meal of the day and therefore include it into all our room rates! Our buffet is offering a large variety in fresh and high quality products and we are happy you found everything which the heart desires.

Finally we do hope you will visit Munich and our hotel marc**** soon again and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back.

All the best and kind regards

Veronika Fruth and the hotel marc munich**** team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#7 of 382 in Munich
982 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#12 of 382 in Munich
531 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#11 of 382 in Munich
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#15 of 382 in Munich
1,985 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.4 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 382 in Munich
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marc Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marc Munchen

Property: Marc Munchen
Address: Senefelderstrasse 12, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Munich
#5 Business Hotel in Munich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#8 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marc Munchen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glad to see that you are interested in our boutique design hotel marc munich! After a substantial refurbishment with completion in mid-August 2012, we now offer 80 ultra-modern, superbly equipped double rooms. Discover our emotionally appealing rooms and refresh yourself under our big rain shower. Once you have visited our universally recommended breakfast buffet in our large bright breakfast room, thanks to our central location, you have easy access to all interesting places in and around Munich. Drinks and snacks (pizza , etc.) we offer at our hotel, but for dinner, we are happy to recommend according to the actual weather the most known beer garden in Munich nearby or any other recommendable restaurant around fitting the food direction of your choice. Our breakfast buffet included in the room rate. Arrive either by train (walk about 5 min.), by plane (subway around 45 minutes) or of course by car, which you can park in our small, slightly narrow underground garage for cheap or our courtyard . - ideal location in the very centre of Munich just opposite of the train station - Hotel 100 % fully air-conditioned (window can be opened) - Hotel 100 % Non smoking (no smoking rooms available) - free WLan and Lan connection in the room - the latest smart TV 's with free Sky program (german Cinema HD, Sport HD1 + HD2) - starting deluxe category with coffee/tea bar in the room - extra thick mattress topper and hygiene implications - Business PC to print the boarding pass etc. - a great nice crew and much more - We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MyHotelShop, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marc Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mark Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing